We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good vibe, but not clean”
Review of Bagus Bagus Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bagus Bagus Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

As this is one of the few hotels in Labuan Bajo where they take reservations a couple of days in advance (in most other places you have to show up/call in the morning after check-out time to see if any rooms are available...), we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

Our first night's stay we arrived rather late from a Komodo boat trip, and were really pleased they hadn't taken other guests (as accomodation in high season is rather scarce) in our absence. We've stayed in 2 different rooms (a standard fan room, and their fancier A/C room), and both were rather big and had an authentic charm. All rooms have an adjacent terrace with a nice view where you get your breakfast served in the morning. Unfortunately, even though in the evening we asked to have our breakfast at a specific time, both times we've had to go to the kitchen in the morning to remind them, as the time had not been properly communicated.

Another downside: the 2nd, fancier room we stayed in, was really quite dirty: their dog had taken a pee in the room, dust was accumulating on every horizontal surface, the ashtray had not been emptied....really not worth the extra 100 000 Rp!

There's a really nice bar/restaurant next to the hotel, Paradise Bar, popular among tourists, but if you want a good night's sleep, you better bring earplugs as the party can go on for quite a while.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Not a lot of budget options available here so we settled for Bagus Bagus after checking out the reviews on TripAdvisor. It is a little way out of town, we walked the first night took about 20mins one way, following nights we had a motorbike. The guesthouse is owned by Stefan who was a really interesting guy, doing wonderful work for his local community in environmental education. The rooms were fine, could have done with a bit of extra cleaning in the corners and unfortunately the water wouldn’t drain properly in our bathroom which meant the floor kept flooding. All in all it was an ok stay and we wish him great success in his environmental projects.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri_Jahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed that for one night with families in December 2012, the room was clean and beautiful for a budget hotel. The view is beautiful, the owner is helpfull and i dont understand why people think its overrated. The price was quite cheap for the room and the service. They also have public kitchen that can be used by all guest which is ok. its just not really a hotel for old people due to the hotel landscape. They also need to install more lighting.

Room Tip: stay in their newest room if im not wrong they call it honeymoon room. best view :) if u are not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnelia5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I had good email communication with the owner before the trip and booked in advance. The rooms themselves were ok and the view from the patio was lovely since the hotel sits on a hilltop. The one major caveat about the room itself is the bathroom. The wall in the bathroom does not go all the way to the ceiling, so you can hear EVERYTHING that happens in the room immediately adjacent. I really didn't like this since it felt like someone was showering in your room, and also because of the noise factor. However, I was ok with the room for the price. It was the service that left much to be desired. When we arrived tired and hungry, the person who gave us our key didn't seem to be able to help us & didn't speak very good English. From what we could tell, there was no water or food available, so we had to ditch our stuff and go all the way to town to track some down, which is down the hill. We were pleasantly surprised the next morning to have a lovely breakfast delivered to our room of banana pancakes and fresh coffee on the balcony. We felt this redeemed the place service-wise. A week later after a dive trip, we returned to the same hotel for our second one night booking in an AC room. However, when we got there they said there wasn't an AC room available. We were eventually told to wait. About 20 minutes later two longterm guests returned, moved some of their stuff out of their AC room for us, the hotel employee changed the sheets and did a quick clean up. While I appreciated that they made this effort to accommodate us, we had actually already booked for this so it should have been ready, and it made me feel very uncomfortable and awkward to be taking someone else's room, waiting there while they removed their stuff, and more so because they left 99% of their stuff in the room. That shouldn't happen at a hotel. Unfortunately, this means I wouldn't stay there again - I would have otherwise given it three stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdventureFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Unfortunately this accommodation was just ok, if not a little on the poor side. The biggest trouble was that the toilet didn't flush and we had to fill 3 bottles of water to flush the toilet. With 2 people in the room, it got a little smelly, especially because the bathroom door didn't close. That also let loads of mosquitoes in the room, because the bathroom is outside. There was no mosquito net over the bed either. I will say that the air conditioner work very well and it kept us cool at night and the view was great. Unfortunately the bar/restaurant next door was closed, which is where we planned to hang out for most of the trip and so we had to walk into town for food.That was fine, but very dark and there were a lot of cars on the road. There were taxis, but they tried to charge us ridiculous prices most of the time, so we just saved our money and walked.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

When we arrived, we were left waiting for half an hour while our taxi driver (a friend of the owner) tried to sell us a tour at a ridiculous rate. When we were shown our room, we were told that there was a problem with the water, but it would be fixed after an hour. We stayed for two nights and the whole time we were there the water did not wrk properly. The toilet did not flush and the plumbing smelt horrendous. There was only a trickle of water in the shower, and the bathroom door did not shut. This allowed lots of mosquitoes into the room, as the bathroom is outside. There was no mosquito net in our room. On the plus side, the bed was comfortale and the a/c worked very well. Breakfast was nice, and the staff was friendly. The view from our room was great, but the bar next door was closed for repair. This was one of the reasons we booked to stay here, and nobody told us it would not be open. This meant if you wanted a drink or some food, you had to walk into town. They did let us sit on the bar's terrace at sunset each day, which was nice.

Overall I'd say this place was okay; if the bar was open and the water was running it would be very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeoulSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Located right next to Paradise Bar, this is a little off the beaten track in Labuan Bajo about 10 minutes uphill out of town. Stayed here 1 night after a liveaboard boat trip before flying out. Good enough location (walking downhill into town at least!) but does have its quirks. Staff was pretty laid back on check-in (not clear *where* to check-in, no towels in rooms, confusion on whether the had the rooms we reserved) but were good on breakfast the next day and helpful in arranging a bemo to the airport. Rooms were large but mosquito filled (mozzie coils to the rescue!), the bed was comfortable, and the fan worked. Also the room had nice windows and a table and chairs outside for breakfast. Bathroom was interesting - open to the sky and no toilet seat!

Not a bad place at all, especially for the low cost and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Depending on time of year be prepared with bug coils or spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_Mtn_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Parrot
Blue Parrot
#1 of 32 in Labuan Bajo
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plataran Komodo Resort
Plataran Komodo Resort
#5 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#13 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Bagus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Bagus Hotel

Address: Jalan Binoco | next to Paradise Restaurant, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bagus Bagus Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing