We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review - Didn't Stay Overnight”
Review of Casa Selini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Selini
Ranked #12 of 26 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review - Didn't Stay Overnight”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ended up at this place for dinner while wandering the main street of Labuan Bajo. We were surprised by the prices as they were quite affordable for a restaurant geared towards tourists. My friend and I shared the Greek salad, and then we each had a souvlaki. I loved the chicken souvlaki! It was fresh and juicy, and I would order it again in a heart beat. The restaurant is open air but has fans, and the owner checked in with us to make sure we were enjoying our meal. All-in-all, I’d highly recommend this place for anyone needing a break from Indonesian cuisine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
3
28
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We didn't stay here but came for our lunch. The owner is a friendly Greek lady with Indonesian staff. They have a small shop with four tables. It isn't exactly a place to sit and enjoy the view, but perfect for a quick stop or takeaway. The food was fresh from the local market and just amazing. A nice break from Nasi Goreng!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moharraq Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here on 2 occasions. Before and after a dive trip to Komodo Islands.
This is a small basic guesthouse with a few rooms. We had the booking and our room was ready on arrival.
We left our extra luggage while away without any fuss.
The owner is a friendly Greek lady with Greek/Indonesian staff.
Good food....We will stay again.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms facing the street are better, but there might not be a choice at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahnaz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Labuan Bajo. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The accommodation is basically rooms inside a house, so there are only a few and they fill up quickly. The water cut out a couple of times, but this was quickly attended to.

The owner took a while to warm up to us, but was very helpful with local information once she did.

Even if you don't stay here, I would highly recommend stopping by the restaurant for the yummy Greek food! Everything we tried was really good! The fresh pita bread is excellent.

Overall, probably one of the best value for money places in Labuan Bajo if you want to be along the main road near the restaurants and walking distance from the tour boats.

Room Tip: Be aware that it is literally right beside a mosque, so this can be a bit loud, but is pretty typica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurayjosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This little place on Labuanbajo's main street is really better than many other guesthouses/hotels.I only stayed there for one night.There had been a problem/misunderstanding with my booking and my room was given away but the owner gave me another room which was apparently used by her or her staff and i had to share a door(!) and the bathroom with another-occupied-room.But it was ok for me as i was only staying for one night.And i got to pay very little money also.The place is actually the owner's proper house,it is very tastefully decorated inside and much safer than other places on the main street of the town.The greek restaurant in the premises is also very atmospheric for Labuanbajo's standards.The food is also good although i can't say it's the best in town.The owner is also quite helpful with onward bookings.Overall a nice and affordable oasis in Labuanbajo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHITEcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in casa Selini from the 27 Dec 2013 to Jan 6th 2014. A great guest house!! Simple but tasteful and very clean rooms. Very caring and friendly staff. The owner who comes from Greece but lives in Indonesia for the last 25 years is a marvel!! The queen of Flores as everybody calls her! She deserves congratulations for her trementous effort on the matter of garbage collection and recycling not only in Flores but to all the islands around. She brings trash bins to remote villages and tries really hard to educate the young children and also the adults unlike others even natives who do nothing to protect the wonderful nature of their islands. She can provide any info on the area and organise the best excursions. Last but not least the restaurant of casa Selini with superb fresh home cooked food made by her!!! My stay in casa Selini was a splendor!!! Thank you so much!!! Keep up the good work!! See you soon!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Pantelis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The good: the staff messed up our reservation so there was no room available when we got there. The owner offered us a small room without windows but AC for free the first night of the two booked (we later found out that the breakfast wasn't included in that offer). Good location, nice furniture.

The Bad: The water seems to turn on and off. I found myself naked with soap all over when the water disappeared. Hot water is on some times. The plug fried my iPhone charger, internet is intermittent. Room, small, looking out at a wall. The Masjid is right next door and still 4am and 4.20 the Morning prayer is blasted out to the town from giant speakers that seem to be placed on other side of the wall. (To be fair I don't think it is possible to not wake up in any hotel in this town)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LavenderLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.1 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
57 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#16 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#12 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Selini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Selini

Property: Casa Selini
Address: Jl Soekarno Hatta 7, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Selini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Selini Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing