We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult trail but the experience was worth it!”

Cunca Wulang Waterfall
Ranked #8 of 39 things to do in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Difficult trail but the experience was worth it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I rented a car from hotel to reach the last post then hired local guides, named Papa James. He's very friendly. He charged me for guide fee and motorcycle from Post to Entrance. The adventure begins when you enter, do not expect a good trail. It was like climbed up and down and maybe took 45 minutes - 1 hour to reach the waterfall. I was so excited when I heard the sound of waterfall from distance.

Must to do in Cunca Wulang: Jump! then swim to the end of waterfall. Have some picnic after swimming, bring your own lunch and lots of drinks because hike will make you thirst. Wear appropriate footwear, it was a little bit slippery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Innes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    76
    33
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tough hike - difficult to see waterfall”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyed the hike down to the waterfall, through the village and jungle.

Once at the river, the access to the waterfall was difficult however as there was no real trail. You have to cross a river and climb on rocks which can be dangerous.

Nice waterfall however!

Hike back out all the way to the main road was all up hill and tiring, especially when hot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komodo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“jump and scream”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

fantastic, had a lot of fun. went there with Flores XP, amazing organization, great food, superb guide. made my day, the place is stunning, beautiful canyon, can jump from the edges into the river. the waterfall is a bit hidden inside the canyon, but if you can swim hard or climb a bit it's just amazing. suggested as a day trip, do it with Flores XP definitely

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Revizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic natural jump dive”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I went there in march; so late wet season but i was lucky and it only rained when we where back in the village.
what I did was I went there on my motor bike. I was doing a road trip around flores and just on my way back to labuan bajo i checked this gem out.
so first of all; you just ride 3.5 km from the main road; not 10 km as mentioned in the book; and then there is a 30 minute hike to the waterfalls; not difficult at all; but when wet might be very slippery.
so the waterfall itself is really cool but also the valley it has eroded in the volcanic rocks for over centuries. and dont worry; jump in; it is deeper than 4m when i checked in march!
then from the jumping point you have to swim to where the water falls. its a tough and super fun swim because a lot of water is coming out of a narrow valley and you have to swim against it.
i definitely recommend this but if you are not easy with bikes dont go with your own; hire one with a driver or go with a car.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SalehDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great outdoor fun”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I went to this waterfall in the dry and wet season. It's quite hard to get there because the road after the turnoff is very damaged. Then you trek for about 45 minutes and get rewarded with a breathtaking waterfall in the canyon from which you can actually jump into the water. Really recommend this for a day trip!

My advice:
- easier to get there in the dry season although not impossible during the rainy times
- avoid the "tourist information" before the second turn off where locals will just try to charge you entrance fees and sell you their guiding services (better to help kids make a bit of money once you're actually at the beginning to the trail)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank loratje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cunca Wulang Waterfall also viewed

Labuan Bajo, Flores
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to Cunca Wulang Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing