We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing views and fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Golo Hilltop before a trip to Rinca and Komodo islands and then again before we commenced on a trip across Flores.

The two Dutch owners (Judith and Ingrid) were incredibly helpful in emails prior to our arrival and it’s apparent that they run a very efficient ship! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous (in fact the pictures on their website don’t do it justice I feel). We stayed in one of the rooms at the top which had the most incredible views over the Bay – I swear I would never get bored of that view! The hotel is about 15 minute walk away from the centre of Labuanbajo but I preferred being that little bit out of town for the peace, quiet and amazing views.

There is a lovely pool area and you can tell that the owners have put a lot of care and attention into the decor of the whole hotel. There is a small restaurant which again looks out over the bay. The menu is only small (we tended to eat in an evening just down the road in Paradise) but did have lunch when we arrived there and the food was of a very good standard. The breakfast menu is also small but again very tasty.

We also booked our trip across Flores through Judith and Ingrid and our guide and driver were both excellent.

Overall, Golo Hilltop is a fantastic place to stay in Labuanbajo and I also wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Judith and Ingrid for any requirements for touring Flores.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    174
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
93
272
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Magnificient view from the upstairs bungalow. Nice swimmingpool. Owners and staff are very friendly and give good tips to explore Labuan Bajo, Flores etc ...
Walking distance (15-20 minutes) from the centre with several good restaurants, warungs, night market.
Perfect for us!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcenKarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a well overdue testimony and review. I satyed in this hotel back in 2012. After reviewing a couple of hotels, we finally decided to stay here. And we never regret it. Although it is located almost in a remote place, but the view is spectacular! Back in 2012, the road was under construction, so there were so many gravels. And it was also dark at night. No lights or whatsoever. But that doesn't matter.

The room was spacious and the bathroom was cleaned. There was not many breakfast choice, but it was good. The pool was also in a good condition. The water was clean. You will want to plunge in every time.

The other good thing is, just 5 minutes from the hotel there was this bar, Paradise Bar & Restaurant. They also have stunning view directly to the sea. If the sky was clear, you will see a breathtaking sunset view that you will never forget for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahameru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This review is well overdue by a year and apologies are forthcoming. We stayed in February 2013.

Amazing view, basic rooms and simple breakfast in the morning, but you don't mind when you have such a sumptious view. There is a swimming pool which has been recently installed, it's lovely (albeit baking in the sun). There is a lovely bar just down the road where you should definitely catch a sunset (Paradise Bar). Altogether, a great 2-3 days stopping station or Komodo Island etc. We had chosen this place over the new 4 star hotels which were offering amazing deals and we didn't regret it one bit!

As a sidenote, we left a cuddly mascot in the bedroom. It's been travelling with us for a few years and whilst it might seem silly, we were devastated when we realised we had left it in the room. The Dutch ladies who run the Golo went well out of their way to reunite us. They sent someone to the airport with it but couldn't get through immigration (as we had just gone through). It was then after we had emailed, they sent it in a box to our new hotel and would't accept any more money for it. A small token, but a very welcome one and indicative of the great service of this place. THANKS!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmusebouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Golo Hilltop is a simple but nice B&B run by two Dutch ladies. The rooms are quite spacious and also clean: nothing really fancy, but all the basics are there: AC, a small fridge, hot water, etc. However, the views you get from your room's veranda are what make this hotel truly shine: we could never get bored of watching the magnificent tropical bay of Lubuan Bajo. It gets even better when you look at it from the nice new pool they got built last year. Be sure to get a taste of the chicken nuggets they serve too: we thought them great!
We also got our 2 day Komodo boat tour booked via Golo Hilltop in advance, which went quite smooth because the we got quick replies to our e-mails, The tour itself was a really great experience. Our guide, Jos(eph), was also a really nice guy, as was the crew of our boat.
All in all we highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again should we return to Flores and we would surely book trekkings via the guesthouse as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeDee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a very nice and relaxed stay in this hotel. The views from this location are amazing, the kindness of staff and owner (Ingrid) was more then perfect. The bungalow was simple, contains everything you need, and very clean. You have AC, fan and musquitto nets in the room. The terrace is also a pleasant spot to relax and watch the sunset and sunrise.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascale-Claudina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was plenty. The view is wonderful and the wifi is also good. The room was also clean but very BASIC ie it makes a college dorm room,Motel 6 and Red Roof inn look luxurious. There were also plenty of Mosquitos and not a bug spray or coil anywhere. The restaurant menu is also very limited. Eggs or 1 pancake for breakfast and sandwiches and Indonesian basics for lunch or dinner. In Labuan Bajo you need to prioritize your requirements. Pick Golo for wifi and Luwansa for a nice room and good bed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank voyager52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
3.2 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#9 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#8 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing