We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it another try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Thruxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'd give it another try”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The menu was exciting; skate & caper butter, pork belly, fish & chips, smoked paprika & aubergine risotto, chicken & leek pie ... and more.

What we ate was good, but not great. Fish beautiful but batter soft, risotto fairly tasty but no flavour of paprika or aubergine etc. The most disappointing thing, after a long drive, was that at 1 pm one bank holiday Monday, much of the menus was sold out. You could tell someone had tried hard but it was all rather a disappointment.

Plus points were a lovely, very old pub, extremely easy to get to from a303, helpful staff who were patient with our frustrations and the feeling that somewhere, someone was patio ate about the menu even if it didn't really deliver. Chocolate fondant was a winner though and our kids enjoyed the garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el12kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks el12kg,

We value your feedback.

It was really crazy that day. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope you will give us another try soon and allow us to show you the service and quality we are known for.

Regards
Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    63
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
80
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked a room for myself and 8 year old son, so that we could go to the racing at thruxton.

Shortly after being shown the room, we found the toilet wasn't working, one of the locals from the bar kindly came up and adjusted so that it was functional for the night, and also provided another towel as we only had ONE.

After the toilet problem, i lifted the toilet seat to find it had not been cleaned for some time, i used the soap bar and toilet tissue to remove the urine and hair, and cleaned it as best i could.

After cleaning the toilet i decided to take a shower, but again it too had not been cleaned for some time, black mould around the shower base.

By 10 o'clock the noise from down stairs had not subsided and was unbearable, and i decided this accommodation was not fit for purpose, it had not been cleaned and waiting for the pub to close so that i could at least get my young son to sleep was completely unacceptable.

By around 10.30 we came back down stairs, returned the key and explained to the young lady i had cleaned the toilet as it was disgusting, and the noise was not acceptable not only to myself but trying to get an 8 year old to sleep.

The end result was that we drove the 86 miles home that night, and didn't return the following day for the racing.

Thought with the good reviews, we were looking forward to staying here, an expensive mistake.

Room Tip: if you need to stay somewhere clean and quiet, stick with hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Andy B,

Holding our hands up, not our greatest day during an extremely busy bank holiday weekend. Have since taken action to improve the problems you have addressed. Glad we were able to refund you and look forward to seeing you next year.

Regards
Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My daughter and her partner stayed at The White Horse Inn last week as her partner is a racing driver and needed to be close to the track for testing and they couldn't recommend it enough! The room was beautifully decorated, clean and light, with gorgeous views! They enjoyed an OJ by the fire before retiring to bed. Breakfast was deliscious and cooked to their preference and time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spangles64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Spangles64,

Thank you very much for the review. We are excited to hear that your daughter and her partner enjoyed their stay and we look forward to their return.

Have a lovely week.
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend as we were going to Thruxton Racing Circuit. Fantastic location, close to the track. Room was a good size, clean and very comfy. We had dinner on both nights which was delicious, reasonably priced and the house Red wine was great!! Very cosy, homely feel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TippIrllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had such an amazing time and we are excited to have you back in the near future (hopefully).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed for one night early March 2014. Room was lovely, lots of space, very clean and incredibly comfortable. Had a great nights sleep. Such a friendly team of staff made it so comfortable as a woman on my own. I highly recommend the belly pork from the bar menu, it was the best I have ever tasted. Breakfast of my choice the following morning and a sad farewell to a lovely gem. Wonderful stay in a beautiful character pub. Very impressed!

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 677Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Lisa,
Thank you very much for visiting our beautiful little Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the Pork belly was delicious. We look forward to having you around again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here at the end of January, kept meaning to write my comments but only just got around to it! We loved our visit, my brother has a Fishery at the end of the lane and he recommended it to us. The Owner was very friendly and personable he made us very welcome and we felt at home, we had dinner in the Restaurant which was delicious, all of our meals were prepared well and the Australian Chef was very welcoming also, she was even happy to keep the bar open a little bit longer for us!! (The Ale was kept well also)
The room was lovely and warm and comfortable. I would recommend this Pub to anyone who agrees that the typical Country Pub is a dying breed!! This has it all.
We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Popped in here with my friends in the way back from Cornwall and was delighted by this little inn. It had a very welcoming, homely feel and the staff were very friendly. Reasonably priced and the chef makes ice cream on site, even better than Cornish ice cream. Will be going back again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkandtwisty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thruxton
4.2 mi away
The Star & Garter
The Star & Garter
#2 of 8 in Andover
236 reviews
8.6 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
630 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Andover Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#7 of 8 in Andover
178 reviews
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn & Restaurant

Property: The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
Address: Mullens Pond, Thruxton, Andover SP11 8EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover > Thruxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thruxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished we offer a personal home from home retreat for business people, tourists and the local community. Each of our rooms are ensuite and are styled to reflect our desire to make your stay as comfortable and personal as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Horse Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn And Restaurant
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Thruxton
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant Thruxton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing