We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Horse Inn & Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$223
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Star & Garter(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Manor Hotel(Cholderton)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor(Stockbridge)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhouse Motel(Cholderton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
140
69
16
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
69
16
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwhite horsepiesandwichprawnssteaklovely mealby chancesunday lunchbar menuthe portion sizea great stayhead cheffamily mealexcellent foodfull pricecooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved this place, next to the A303, very convenient for travellers and visitors to Thruxton.. It has a large sun trap garden with flowers & cherry trees, lots of parking. The Inn itself is thatched and very old with characterful & comfortable interior. The bedrooms are cottage sized with everything in keeping and all that you need. All the staff were perfect and we felt thoroughly relaxed during our stay. The Chef comes out & talks to customers during meals which was a real nice touch. Thank you all - we thoroughly recommend you, your beers and your ice cream, and we will be staying with you again when we are up that way!

Room Tip: Enjoy staying in an English Inn & meeting the locals. This is a Thatched Inn. with customers. It's a great friendly place to stay with good grub. Don't complain if there is some noise before 11pm - remember, it is an Inn! We slept very soundly in our 2 rooms. .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent two nights at the White Horse Inn, got a lovely welcome from the owner when we arrived, very hot and tired. The room was clean and cool, just what we needed. The bathroom was clean with lots of towels and shower gel, shampoo etc. The restaurant isn't open on Sunday, but on Monday night we had a real treat, the food was wonderful. The staff are very helpful and attentive. Our breakfast was served in the restaurant which backs onto the garden, the full English was cooked to perfection, with toast cereals and juice etc.
Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were attending a wedding and needed a place to stay found this pub on the internet. When we arrived we had a lovely greeting from the owner and was shown to our room which was pleasant and clean. We had a meal on our first night which was lovely. Found the staff very helpful in fact the owner helped us to pick up our car which we had left at the wedding the night before. Would visit again. Thought we would hear the noise from the pub as per previous review but we had no problems heard very little from the pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a fabulous meal, I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something which is extra special but not over priced.

I had the dressed crab for starters, hanger steak for my main and we opted to share a selection of desserts, which was amazing and more restaurants should offer this option, the chocolate fondant was the best I have ever had, the staff where so friendly and well informed, when I asked for my hanger steak to be cooked medium they advised that this cut of steak should only be cooked medium rare so I went with their suggestion and it melted in your mouth.

The chef is obviously passionate about food and although the restaurant was full she still found the time to check that everyone was enjoying their meal.

This place gets a 10 out of 10 from me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch. Very convenient from A303. Squid starter good with nice aioli and rocket.. Two of us had beer battered fish and chips and this went down well. Unfortunately, my lemon sole was very dry, chips good and MORE rocket! Service slowish; we had obviously finished main course but in the end had to asked for pudding menu. One of the waitresses tried to take our wine glasses away when there was still some wine in the bottle. The table was not cleared between mains and pudding, with ketchup and vinegar and coffee cups left on the table. We had to wait a long time for the bill and my husband, who is usually very generous, didn't leave a tip, which tells the story.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cricketmad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Manager at The White Horse Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi cricketmad52,

We thank you for your review. It does help us improve our level of service. We would like to apologise that the service you received was not great, but we do hope that you will give us another try soon.

Regards
Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews