We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay!!!”
The stone barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge
Conservatory
Rear of barn
Master Bedroom
En Suite bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main bathroom/shower
Ground floor wc with shower
Dining area /stairs
Garden at rear of barn
House from drive-lots of parking!
Rear house, solar roof
Kitchen
Play room with ping pong/ table football/freezer
View from bedroom
View from conservatory
Kitchen
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
puxlady
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the barn for a week over the May half term school holiday, 2 families of 4, 4 adults and 4 children (aged 14, 10, 10 and 7). The barn was absolutely wonderful , very clean and full of everything we could have wanted! A real home away from home.

The games room was a bonus especially for the boys who took great pleasure in organising our table tennis tournaments!

Close to some fantastic local pubs, only a short trip from the coast and we had some great days out in Weymouth, Dorchester, Lulworth, Charmouth, West Bay and many more.

Would highly recommend a stay here and would love to return soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melita27
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Excellent Trip”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a really wonderful trip staying at Lynchett Chase Barn. The accommodation was excellent, we particularly enjoyed the games room playing table tennis was a great bonus. The barn was lovely and clean and had everything that we needed to make for a really comfortable stay. We stayed in February and particularly enjoyed the woodburning stove. Gaynor was always really helpful with any questions or enquiries that we had regarding the accommodation or local amenities and met us on arrival to show us around the house and offer advice.

We would really recommend staying at Lynchett Chase Barn and hope to return next year.

Rosie Kerrison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodburning stove and games room was the highlight for us.
Liked least: Could have had a few more drinking glasses but not a real problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGir...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday location for small children”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Perfect location to let the children have their freedom and allow the adults to relax.
The gates at the front mean the whole property is enclosed and secure.
The open plan format of the property is perfect to allow some people to be cooking and other to be reading/ watching TV and you still feel everyone is together.
The bedrooms are fantastic.
The bath in the master is wonderful.
Garden is huge and brilliant for kids running around/ wearing themselves out!
Lots of things to do in local area. Lots of local farms to buy eggs and produce from. One of the farmers invite us to watch the cows be milked which my son (and husband) loved! Beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of property
Liked least: Directions to property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosiGlow
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodion with everything we needed”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week at Lynchett Chase Barn during the July heatwave! The accommodation was perfect for six adults and three under-fives. There were sufficient bathrooms for us and all the facilities we could possibly want - the kitchen was extremely well equipped, and a second fridge/freezer in the games room was a welcome addition. The lovely weather meant we were able to take advantage of the gas bbq and enjoy our evening meals in the secure garden. In the evenings the adults had great fun playing table tennis tournaments in the games room! The Barn was ideally situated so that we were able to easily visit many of Dorset's beautiful beaches and countryside. Apart from the lovely beaches, one of the best attractions we visited was the Abbotsbury Swannery where the children can join in the feeding of the swans at midday, and its Sub-tropical gardens, which were a shady respite from the heat! We also visited the Fleet Air Arm Museum which was within a reasonable distance of Maiden Newton. This was certainly a memorable holiday and we would definitely consider returning to this lovely Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had all the facilities we needed
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro2014
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful sojourn in stunning accommodation located in a heavenly corner of England”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Lynchett Chase Barn and would highly recommend it as a perfect retreat for families and couples alike. Beautiful setting in rural Dorset in very comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Maiden Newton and the surrounding areas have masses to offer with wonderful places to eat, drink and enjoy cream teas - just as well that there are lots of beautiful walks to work it all off! It is also within reach of Dorset's beautiful coast for bracing cliff top and beach strolls.

Fabulous countryside, wonderful Barn. If you want to sample the real England, then this is a great place to try.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_fro...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks at the Lynchett Chase Barn. The Barn was beautiful, spacious and perfect for our family of five plus grandma and grandpa. Our three kids, nine years old and younger, were especially happy with the large yard, the patio and sunroom and the playroom/shed in the back. The kitchen is well appointed and we appreciated the extra refrigerator in the shed. The village of Maiden Newton was lovely and it is centrally located for many activities and adventures. I highly recommend the Barn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the Barn, and its location near lots of things to see and do.
Liked least: The rooster that lives next door with no sense of time.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern amenties set in such a characteristic barn
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing