We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent facilities like home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz F
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities like home from home”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay, but sadly not as dog friendly as we thought. We didnt know that the door to the garden was upstairs & our dogs found it really difficult to go up the stairs especially as they are open tread.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home, every little thing thought of.
Liked least: no back door on the ground floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry the dogs had difficulty with the stairs. There is also access to the gardens via the gate next to the cottage which is much easier for dogs, sorry you didn't spot this we will put up a sign so the access is made clearer. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amminaties very good and comfortable furnishings. Furnished to a high spec and a fabulous extra large bed. Lovely to sit in an evening and be able to watch a decent sized TV in comfort.
Nice little seating area on both sides of the building. Very safe and secure for your animal to roam. Situated in a nice village with shop and pub and decent chippy all within walking distance. On the whole an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull1...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a wonderful mini holiday here, myself, husband and our dog were made vey welcome
The cottage is very comfortable and has everything you need
So peaceful and quiet
There are some lovely walks, couldn't do all of them unfortunately due to time :(
Great location too
Recommend Bowleaze Cove for the dog, he had a great time there too
All in all lovely holiday,, both Karen and Mark (the owners) were very helpful and very welcoming . Definitely go back - thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss_Doyl...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay, well equipped, modern, clean cottage with large bedroom ( comfy bed & good shower ) dog was as welcome as us - bowls, treats, towels, blankets & toys . It's such a good base for exploring West Dorset.
Village shop not far, The Fox & Hounds just up the road & walks on your doorstep. 15 - 20mins & you're on the coast.
Really enjoyed our stay, would recommend this fab cottage :0)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy dog friendly cottage perfect for two”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Recently built, well equipped, modern décor and fittings, very cosy.

A welcoming little one bed cottage (very large bedroom in the roof with a lovely en suite shower room, and beautifully decorated).

Dogs are clearly as welcome as the humans as everything from towels, toys and treats were supplied!

Parking on the drive was good as the lane is fairly narrow. The village has a handy convenience store, and the location is good for visiting many surrounding areas.

There is a small outside area, but I didn't leave my dog unattended as I am sure he would have found a gap in the fence to escape from!

Overall a very nice place to stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie B
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just spent a long weekend at the old coachouse with our dog Mr Dudley. What a beautiful holiday cottage. Beautifully decorated, comfortable and cosy, huge bed and everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We had the pleasure of meeting Karen and mark during our stay and congratulated them on a job well done. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaYo...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a beautiful village!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at The Old Coach House from Sunday 21st December to Sunday 28th (over the Christmas period) and we absolutely LOVED it!

The owners have thought of absolutely everything, from your everyday essentials to dog beds and biscuits. They even decorated the cottage for us with a beautiful tree and cute little trimmings as it was Christmas! It really did feel very festive and cosy – especially with the log fire burning!

We had to contact Hannah the Housekeeper on one occasion as we had a bit of an issue working the shower – she was an absolute diamond and helped us out straight away!

The only thing that I think may need to be addressed is the Bin / Log Store…. it is used by two separate cottages but is located in the back garden of The Old Coach House. Unfortunately, during our stay someone from the other cottage had been to the Bin / Log store and left the gate open, which resulted in our dog getting out and disappearing for best part of an evening! Finally after hour’s trapesing around Maiden Newton shouting his name we found him alive and well (if a little shaken); however this could have been a completely different story! With this in mind, it might be worth adding a further note to the sign on the Bin / Log Store requesting that the gate is ‘kept closed after use’ to prevent this happening in the future.

Apart from this little mishap we had an absolutely wonderful time and would definitely return again and have already recommended to friends :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay over Christmas. Sorry about the dog escaping but glad you found him okay, we will be addressing this problem immediately by providing a secure fence between the garden and bin storage area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing