We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Service and Wonderful Food!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sugi Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Telunas Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“PERFECT Service and Wonderful Food!”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Found out about Telunas after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and the place certainly lives up to its reputation!

Even though we were there with 2 other groups of tourists, the place is real tranquil and private. This means more crazy fun for us girls!

The food there is awesome (perhaps the fresh air did something to whet our appetite), from the Mexican food to the fresh seafood (3 of us polished off one whole sweet and sour fish) and not forgetting the very sinful banana crepes and black glutinous rice chocolate cake.

The service that they provide is awesome too. Everyone is always smiling and offering the best service that they can provide. Even though it’s raining cats and dogs one morning, we were very surprise to hear a knock on the door to find the poor staff bringing our morning brew to our room! Now that’s what I call dedication.

6m deck jump, 9m high jump, private seaside, fishing, sun-tanning on the deck, reading on hammocks, enjoying the night view from the sea deck while having your dinner and toasting marshmallows over the bonfire, who can say they find the place boring?

We already made a pact to visit the place annually to recharge ourselves. Well, maybe biannual. Thank you Telunas staffs for the wonderful experience! =D

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmomoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    90
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
211
123
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Firstly, I gotta confess, I fell in love with Telunas even before our visit. The reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites were so good, I read almost all, and just couldn't wait to experience it for myself.

The folks at Telunas sure lived up to their reputation right from the start - going the extra mile. Being only keen on the private chalets, we emailed them with dates of our own, but as those dates had no availability, they took their own initiative to list a couple of different dates for us to consider and also advised us on whether there would be more or less visitors visiting during the various dates so we would roughly know what to expect.

By the time my boyfriend and I arrived at Telunas, (finally seeing the place with my own eyes) and being greeted by the lovely staff and not forgetting the famous Welcome Drink, we were already won over and knew it was gonna be a fantastic vacation for us.

(On a side note, I fell in love once again, but this time over the Welcome Drink. I love the drink so much and was gushing over it to Sabhar (the staff attending to us) that on our last day, he specially arranged for us to have another round of it which we really appreciated his thoughtful gesture!)

During our stay there, besides my boyfriend and I, there were two other families there - one mother and her 4 yr-old daughter (who celebrated their birthdays there and had the special birthday cake), and the other was a family of 4 with two cute kids. So basically we had the whole area and beach to ourselves, and this was indeed a refreshing break away from our usual bustling city life.

Living up to its name once again, the rooms, toilets, dining area were really very clean and neat, and more remarkable, not a speck of dust on the unfinished wood surfaces. They spent a huge deal of time maintaining the place to provide visitors a comfortable living space.

Home-cooked Indonesian food was good, and we concluded that they perhaps specially cater the menu to various groups of visitors to suit their taste buds. And of course, the "legendary banana crepes" sure didn't disappoint, in fact my bf loved it so much he had 4 servings of that despite being already quite full from dinner! One thing we noticed, our appetites also increased by spending happy and comfortable days of doing nothing there. We truly felt pampered :)

The staff there were great and very helpful. Whatever we requested, and whenever we needed any help, they, especially lovely Sabhar, would respond to our needs promptly. He made us felt welcomed and by his efforts, we could tell he wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And he definitely suceeded! Thanks!

Our favourite part of the stay, was lying on the deck chairs star gazing at night. The brightness of the million stars in the night sky reflected on the surface of the sea, with the unobstructed view of the horizon, complimented by the surrounding's tranquility and occasional light sounds of the waves, it was just so amazing and peaceful, and more so experiencing this with your loved one.

If you're looking for a getaway from work, crowd and noise, and need some place to recharge and just to relax entirely, Telunas is definitely the place.

We really enjoyed our stay there tremendously, and would definitely revisit soon in a few month's time. Trust me, the place truly lived up to all its good reviews.

And to Telunas, thanks for the great experience there!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmet_fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Great trip!

Beautiful, peaceful island!

If you love to just take time to enjoy the nature, able to slow down your pace and enjoy simplicity.....this is the place to go!

Guides - wonderful. Always there to help you and make your stay a pleasant one.

Meals - delicious home cooked food! yummy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank caterpillarchameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I went to the resort during Chinese new year with my family (my husband, 2 kids, 3 yrs and other, 4 months, my parents and brothers)
First thing upon arrival, u got to climb up a few stairs (gap is big, just wooden pole only) which is scary if u go with young children. But the staff there will help along. Cold towels and welcome drinks are served when u are up the stairs to the deck. Nice thought, after 2.5 hours on the sea and sun.
We stay at the Multi-family for all of us. Noise do travel among the rooms, cos it's under common roof.
Food consist quite a fair bit of fry food, like fried chicken, prawns. Think it's ok if u are only staying a while. Food are slightly on the salty side, while cakes are sweeter than usual. But the chocolate cake is marvelous.
The beach are really clear in the afternoon. Morning and evening, beach is low tide and more cloudy. Not much ppl on beach, which is really a plus point. My big gal have fun with my parents at the beach and meal time.
Staffs are really helpful. My big gal was running a fever, where they provided children fever medicine upon request and help us to arrange to leave earlier than original planned.
Nights can be quite boring. u got to bring your own mini dvd player cos tv is only available during rainy days. There a few dvds in the room provided.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We recently went to Telunas for a family birthday with our three young children (aged 10, 3 and 3) and had a fabulous time and are already planning a return trip.

We left from Singapore to Sekupang on a hour's ferry trip and were met by our host Jhonny at the Sekupang international ferry terminal. He arranged our return tickets to Singapore and our local boat tickets to Telunas as soon as we arrived then led us to the local ferry terminal for another boat trip (about an hour and a half). One more short boat trip on the Telunas boat and we arrived at Telunas Resort to be greeted by all the staff working that day.

Introductions to each of the staff was followed by a refreshing cold towel and a welcome drink. Jhonny gave us a run down of what we can do during out stay and the meal times.

We were then served lunch made up of freshly prepared Indonesian cuisine before being taken to our private chalet which was more than enough to accomodate the five of us. Their is no air con but there were two ceiling fans and another fan and nothing more was needed. Each of the chalet rest above the sea and nice breeze comes in. Most importantly, there were no mosquitoes in sight (and none of us were bitten during our stay).

The first day was spent lounging on the beach and swimming in the sea and were we fortunate that as we went during the week, we pretty much had the island to ourselves (there was one other visitor but she left the next day).

Dinner was more freshly prepared Indonesian food, with a vegetarian option and fresh fruits and some of the best brownies (they were so good, we asked for the recipe).

The next day we went on a "cultural village tour" which cost SG$75 for the five of us. We took the boat to another island about ten minutes away to be greeted by Siti, the cook/chef, from the day before who was on her day off. She took us to her house and made some Indonesian sweets and tea for us and simply welcomed us into her family home. She did not get paid to do any of this but it is something that the staff are happy to do for those interested. We were then taken around the village and shown how the day to day lifestyles of the villagers.

Once we returned back to Telunas, Jhonny was very happy to spend time with us and in particular was happy to teach my eldest daughter to dive into the sea (one of the jumps was from 9 metres which he happily held her hand to give her the confidence to jump - soon she was jumping in on her own).

On our last night, it was my wife's birthday, and they set up a table on the jetty and we sat down and saw the sun set before being served some mexican food with banana crepes to finish. The staff had bought a birthday card and they all signed it before bringing out a birthday cake. Again, not of this was charged for but simply provided to us as part of the service.

Jhonny then organized a bonfire on the beach and the children each had some smores. A really lovely ending to a very enjoyable trip.

There is not much to do on the island except to enjoy the beach, sea, the food and the very friendly staff. However, this was one of more favourite trips away and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

OK, we were the only people there, but even if we weren't it would have been superb. Great location, great beach, great staff, great food. The accommodation is 'rustic', but our private chalet was lovely - really attractive. Not too much to do. Quite a few birds to see (watch out for the hornbill and kingfishers), but we mostly chilled with our books.

Downside - nothing that should put you off. The accommodation is quite open, so you would hear other guests if they were noisy (and they do book groups of older school children); you do also hear the generators which are in a hut on the beach. Take ear plugs and you would never know they were there. I say again, don't let this stop you going.

Other people have commented on the journey: look on it as part of the adventure. We had no problems at all with the public ferries.

Do go. It's really great.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Asia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This trip was beyond our expectations - like something out of a travel magazine. Beautiful location, nothing but ocean and islands as far as the eye can see. Relaxing atmosphere, great access to private beach, lots of neat activities, wonderful staff, great food, and you get to sleep over the ocean!!! Would highly recommend this resort! Be prepared for a boat ride out from the Batam terminal, it's about 1.5-2hrs but lets you see lots of beautiful things along the way...helps you unwind and gear up for your vacation!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_Asia_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugi Island
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Link Hotel
#8 of 11 in Batam Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
27.6 mi away
Eska Hotel Batam
Eska Hotel Batam
#5 of 11 in Batam Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
22.7 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
#1 of 2 in Waterfront City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1252.2 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
48.9 mi away
de Bintan Villa
de Bintan Villa
#6 of 23 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Property: Telunas Beach Resort
Address: Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing