We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things about this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sugi Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Can't say enough good things about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

I traveled to Telunas during a three week Asia trip with three friends. Everything was simple--Aan and Ian met us at the international terminal and rode with us by boat all the way to Telunas (about 1.5 hours from Sekupang). These two staff were with us for our entire stay--we love them!

Weaving between all the other islands on our way to Sugi was really beautiful. We arrived to wet towels to freshen up along with the famous welcome drink--some mix of orange and pineapple probably and quite tasty. We were served lunch upon arrival and then shown to our rooms.

We spent three days there. You can be as active or lazy as you'd like. This place is truly secluded. It's the ONLY thing out there. We just hung out mostly--explored the beach, played some frisbee, took a ton of pictures, jumped off the dock (we spent about 90% of our time doing this), and pigged out at meal time. We did take the waterfall hike, which was pretty incredible. We got to see the way some of the locals live, and also ran across 10-12 monkeys jumping between the trees throughout our trip.

The only thing we had trouble with was sleeping without A/C. We're four spoiled American guys, so the nights were pretty warm if there wasn't a breeze. Thankfully, the staff gave us an extra fan upon request and this helped a lot.

We kept joking about wanting to take the cook home with us. She made omelettes to order each morning along with fresh fruit and other options. We're not picky eaters--as long as it's not curry--and we loved everything they served us. There was even one vegetarian there while we were, and they always prepared him a vegetarian option at no extra cost. Usually fruit is served as dessert after lunch, and dinner is followed by brownies, cake, or the famous banana crepes (they more than lived up to their billing! I was mad at myself for eating so much at dinner, because I could only handle 2 crepes and I wanted to eat 12.)

All in all, we really enjoyed our time at Telunas. We spent 2 1/2 more weeks hopping around Singapore, Vietnam, and Thailand, and we kept joking about wanting to go back to Telunas. Hope you get a chance to go!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notashamed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    87
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
202
119
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed at Telunas with 2 other friends. We were looking for a cheap getaway for rest and relaxation and I must say the short 3D2N stay at Telunas certainly invigorated us.

There is a serenity about the place that is hard to find anywhere else. Getting to the island was a bit exhausting, but we understand that the public ferry we took is not under Telunas' so they can't do much about it. When we got there, it felt a bit like we were on a small corner of the world, hidden from everyone else. It was that idyllic.

The staff were welcoming and very friendly. They provided a high standard of service - the kind that you usually only find in 5 star hotels and we were highly impressed by their meticulous attention to detail. They did everything they could to help us fully enjoy our stay and relax. For example, on the last night, we requested that they help us build a bonfire for us to roast some marshmallows - not only did they do that, they also lit up the kerosene lamps lining the beach and provided us with extra marshmallows and long sticks so that we wouldn't get too hot (we had the shorter satay sticks). We were also highly impressed that despite the fact that a huge group of 40-60 students were there for a leadership camp of some sort, the staff managed everything excellently and we didn't feel like it was crowded or noisy.

There were a number of activities to do there so you won't get too bored. The beach sports (save kayaking) are free and they provide the equipment. The 'facilities' like the volleyball and beach football courts are relatively well maintained. There are books and boardgames that you can borrow as well.

The food served was also well received by the 3 of us. We enjoyed all the meals and dishes fully. Especially the banana crêpes! :) Another point to note, my friend doesn't eat beef and we forgot to mention it, the first dinner the only meat available was beef (we were having tacos that night). We informed the staff of my friend's dietary restrictions and they immediately cooked a plate of chicken for him. The next dinner, they remembered and cooked a small bowl of curry chicken when the main dish was beef redang.

Our only grouse is the lack of internet (which is arguably a good thing) facilities, especially since the World Cup was on and we were trying to find out scores and such. But that's a really small matter that didn't affect our stay very much. We also suggest that Telunas offer some night time activities as the nights can get a bit boring.

We fully recommend Telunas to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, world class service and good food for a reasonable price. It was a fantastic experience and we're sure you'll have a ball of a time. :D

-seantzw

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seantzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Found out about Telunas after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and the place certainly lives up to its reputation!

Even though we were there with 2 other groups of tourists, the place is real tranquil and private. This means more crazy fun for us girls!

The food there is awesome (perhaps the fresh air did something to whet our appetite), from the Mexican food to the fresh seafood (3 of us polished off one whole sweet and sour fish) and not forgetting the very sinful banana crepes and black glutinous rice chocolate cake.

The service that they provide is awesome too. Everyone is always smiling and offering the best service that they can provide. Even though it’s raining cats and dogs one morning, we were very surprise to hear a knock on the door to find the poor staff bringing our morning brew to our room! Now that’s what I call dedication.

6m deck jump, 9m high jump, private seaside, fishing, sun-tanning on the deck, reading on hammocks, enjoying the night view from the sea deck while having your dinner and toasting marshmallows over the bonfire, who can say they find the place boring?

We already made a pact to visit the place annually to recharge ourselves. Well, maybe biannual. Thank you Telunas staffs for the wonderful experience! =D

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmomoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Firstly, I gotta confess, I fell in love with Telunas even before our visit. The reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites were so good, I read almost all, and just couldn't wait to experience it for myself.

The folks at Telunas sure lived up to their reputation right from the start - going the extra mile. Being only keen on the private chalets, we emailed them with dates of our own, but as those dates had no availability, they took their own initiative to list a couple of different dates for us to consider and also advised us on whether there would be more or less visitors visiting during the various dates so we would roughly know what to expect.

By the time my boyfriend and I arrived at Telunas, (finally seeing the place with my own eyes) and being greeted by the lovely staff and not forgetting the famous Welcome Drink, we were already won over and knew it was gonna be a fantastic vacation for us.

(On a side note, I fell in love once again, but this time over the Welcome Drink. I love the drink so much and was gushing over it to Sabhar (the staff attending to us) that on our last day, he specially arranged for us to have another round of it which we really appreciated his thoughtful gesture!)

During our stay there, besides my boyfriend and I, there were two other families there - one mother and her 4 yr-old daughter (who celebrated their birthdays there and had the special birthday cake), and the other was a family of 4 with two cute kids. So basically we had the whole area and beach to ourselves, and this was indeed a refreshing break away from our usual bustling city life.

Living up to its name once again, the rooms, toilets, dining area were really very clean and neat, and more remarkable, not a speck of dust on the unfinished wood surfaces. They spent a huge deal of time maintaining the place to provide visitors a comfortable living space.

Home-cooked Indonesian food was good, and we concluded that they perhaps specially cater the menu to various groups of visitors to suit their taste buds. And of course, the "legendary banana crepes" sure didn't disappoint, in fact my bf loved it so much he had 4 servings of that despite being already quite full from dinner! One thing we noticed, our appetites also increased by spending happy and comfortable days of doing nothing there. We truly felt pampered :)

The staff there were great and very helpful. Whatever we requested, and whenever we needed any help, they, especially lovely Sabhar, would respond to our needs promptly. He made us felt welcomed and by his efforts, we could tell he wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And he definitely suceeded! Thanks!

Our favourite part of the stay, was lying on the deck chairs star gazing at night. The brightness of the million stars in the night sky reflected on the surface of the sea, with the unobstructed view of the horizon, complimented by the surrounding's tranquility and occasional light sounds of the waves, it was just so amazing and peaceful, and more so experiencing this with your loved one.

If you're looking for a getaway from work, crowd and noise, and need some place to recharge and just to relax entirely, Telunas is definitely the place.

We really enjoyed our stay there tremendously, and would definitely revisit soon in a few month's time. Trust me, the place truly lived up to all its good reviews.

And to Telunas, thanks for the great experience there!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helmet_fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Great trip!

Beautiful, peaceful island!

If you love to just take time to enjoy the nature, able to slow down your pace and enjoy simplicity.....this is the place to go!

Guides - wonderful. Always there to help you and make your stay a pleasant one.

Meals - delicious home cooked food! yummy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank caterpillarchameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

I went to the resort during Chinese new year with my family (my husband, 2 kids, 3 yrs and other, 4 months, my parents and brothers)
First thing upon arrival, u got to climb up a few stairs (gap is big, just wooden pole only) which is scary if u go with young children. But the staff there will help along. Cold towels and welcome drinks are served when u are up the stairs to the deck. Nice thought, after 2.5 hours on the sea and sun.
We stay at the Multi-family for all of us. Noise do travel among the rooms, cos it's under common roof.
Food consist quite a fair bit of fry food, like fried chicken, prawns. Think it's ok if u are only staying a while. Food are slightly on the salty side, while cakes are sweeter than usual. But the chocolate cake is marvelous.
The beach are really clear in the afternoon. Morning and evening, beach is low tide and more cloudy. Not much ppl on beach, which is really a plus point. My big gal have fun with my parents at the beach and meal time.
Staffs are really helpful. My big gal was running a fever, where they provided children fever medicine upon request and help us to arrange to leave earlier than original planned.
Nights can be quite boring. u got to bring your own mini dvd player cos tv is only available during rainy days. There a few dvds in the room provided.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

We recently went to Telunas for a family birthday with our three young children (aged 10, 3 and 3) and had a fabulous time and are already planning a return trip.

We left from Singapore to Sekupang on a hour's ferry trip and were met by our host Jhonny at the Sekupang international ferry terminal. He arranged our return tickets to Singapore and our local boat tickets to Telunas as soon as we arrived then led us to the local ferry terminal for another boat trip (about an hour and a half). One more short boat trip on the Telunas boat and we arrived at Telunas Resort to be greeted by all the staff working that day.

Introductions to each of the staff was followed by a refreshing cold towel and a welcome drink. Jhonny gave us a run down of what we can do during out stay and the meal times.

We were then served lunch made up of freshly prepared Indonesian cuisine before being taken to our private chalet which was more than enough to accomodate the five of us. Their is no air con but there were two ceiling fans and another fan and nothing more was needed. Each of the chalet rest above the sea and nice breeze comes in. Most importantly, there were no mosquitoes in sight (and none of us were bitten during our stay).

The first day was spent lounging on the beach and swimming in the sea and were we fortunate that as we went during the week, we pretty much had the island to ourselves (there was one other visitor but she left the next day).

Dinner was more freshly prepared Indonesian food, with a vegetarian option and fresh fruits and some of the best brownies (they were so good, we asked for the recipe).

The next day we went on a "cultural village tour" which cost SG$75 for the five of us. We took the boat to another island about ten minutes away to be greeted by Siti, the cook/chef, from the day before who was on her day off. She took us to her house and made some Indonesian sweets and tea for us and simply welcomed us into her family home. She did not get paid to do any of this but it is something that the staff are happy to do for those interested. We were then taken around the village and shown how the day to day lifestyles of the villagers.

Once we returned back to Telunas, Jhonny was very happy to spend time with us and in particular was happy to teach my eldest daughter to dive into the sea (one of the jumps was from 9 metres which he happily held her hand to give her the confidence to jump - soon she was jumping in on her own).

On our last night, it was my wife's birthday, and they set up a table on the jetty and we sat down and saw the sun set before being served some mexican food with banana crepes to finish. The staff had bought a birthday card and they all signed it before bringing out a birthday cake. Again, not of this was charged for but simply provided to us as part of the service.

Jhonny then organized a bonfire on the beach and the children each had some smores. A really lovely ending to a very enjoyable trip.

There is not much to do on the island except to enjoy the beach, sea, the food and the very friendly staff. However, this was one of more favourite trips away and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugi Island
0.0 mi away
Eska Hotel Batam
Eska Hotel Batam
#4 of 11 in Batam Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Link Hotel
#8 of 11 in Batam Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
22.7 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
#1 of 2 in Waterfront City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

Property: Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Anggrek Luar no. 23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing