We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING !!!!”
Review of Mona Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mona Pavilions
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“AMAZING !!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and i stayed in the 'Sidney' Villa - was just perfect !!!!! You really dont want to leave the villa as it has EVERYTHING you could possibly want for a perfect getaway !!! The staff were so lovely and so accomodating. Stay here and you will not want to leave !!!! Perfect in every way !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    30
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
149
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in Roy. All the pavillions have slightly quirky names. I have stayed in many great hotels and resorts but this one wins hands down. The room had everything you could possibly want and the standard of appointments and appliances was luxurious. A very modern finish and decor. You could happily stay here and not go out. It is a 20 minute drive from Hobart city but MONA runs a ferry shuttle every hour.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDMAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the Arthur pavilion for one night. The pavilion was perfect. Gorgeous room, facilities and view, peaceful and private with everything you could need. The only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed (we think due to a function) and the room service meals were disappointing. Other than that it was a perfect stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Great facilities. Great museum and gallery.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishwithane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our experience at Mona was one that will never be forgotten. The friendly staff at reception were so accommodating, assisting us with our earlier than scheduled arrival; nothing was too much trouble. The buggy ride down to our Esmond Pavilion was quite welcomed and we were blown away by the offerings of our accommodation.

The expertly stocked wine fridge, organic milk, delightful snacks, chocolates, tea and coffee were a great suprise. Toiletries were from the Aesop range. Furnishings were exceptional, linens sumptuous. The sound system was one that I am dying to replicate at home. Everything was operated by touch screens throughout the rooms, blinds, lighting, tv and music. Streaming our favourite tunes was a fantastic way to enjoy our stay. The view over the river we could sit, sipping delightful wine, watch forever, but couldn't wait to explore the museum offerings. Although the art work in the pavilion was a great start of what to expect

It was an amazing collection at the museum, that I didn't feel we could do justice over two days. Staying at the pavilions was the best way to take in this eclectic and fascinating vision from the owner.

Wine tasting was headed up by a knowledgeable and friendly woman, her suggestions were spot on. The wines we purchased were originally to be gifts, but I can't part with them just yet.

Dinner and breakfast was an experience in itself. Dinner was degustation style. Originally ordered the 7 course, but after 4, I had reached my fill. The dishes were cleaver creations not experienced elsewhere in our travels. The sommelier was one of the least pretentious, most knowledgable and approachable, he selected a wine so perfect to my tastes with only a few clues. Breakfast was a relaxing but still upmarket dinning. Fresh locally sourced produce was a delight.

Thank you every one at Mona, we will be back, plus bring our friends and family for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were fortunate enough to book the Sidney Pavillion for two nights which included a private tour of MONA on the Tuesday followed by a wine and beer tasting. We arrived at 12.30pm on the Monday and straight to The Source for lunch with friends. The food was fabulous and we were so pleasantly surprised at how reasonably priced it was and the generous size of the courses. Each mouthful was a delight! Our wine choice (a pinot noir) was a perfect match. Couldn't fault the service as it was attentive but not in your face. Breakfast was superb! The pavilion had the most incredibly stocked wine fridge and the normal fridge had the beers. The views across the river were so serene. The spa bath was a delight. Ordered room service and had the most yummy platters. You must read all the literature regarding the pavilions as it is written superbly with such humour. Many a giggle was had! The pool and sauna were perfect to re-engerise. The grounds themselves are a must to walk leisurely around enjoying the numerous very entertaining chooks. There is no need to venture out of the grounds. The only things I would have liked to have seen in the pavilions was the inclusion of toiletries such as cotton bud and cotton pads as I didn't bring any with me as they are always found in accommodation of this standard and a hair dryer you didn't have to hold down the button to make it work. Loved the signs to place on the door! Would we go back - you betcha!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomkarAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My partner and I experienced the best two-night stay at MONA imaginable. It comes at a price, but when celebrating a milestone or maximising your bucket list I really recommend it. It’s also advisable to have an open mind and if you can’t appreciate satire or irreverence then you best stick with a more regular museum.

Mr Walsh, you have created a boon for Hobart and your HR department is to be congratulated on staff selection. What a terrific group right across the establishment (with one slight exception in the gallery whose expression was akin to that of those leaving the simulated faeces making machine!). Adam (reception), Theresa (restaurant) and Matt (wine tasting) were stand-outs! What we’d recommend is –

Minimum two night stay in the MONA pavilions. We had Esmond – tastefully understated, comfortable and with the best sound system I’ve ever encountered. Top quality fittings, fresh milk, great coffee and plenty of local wines perfectly chilled and reasonably priced. (There are two bedroom pavilions that would be fun for two couples or groups). Didn't use the spa bath - with its very own TV.

Room service is available but don’t expect a club sandwich. It is fine cuisine largely featured in The Source degustation and slightly effected by the short cool trip from the restaurant. The best thing was that if it had have been the sandwich, we would have eaten whilst watching TV which you’d do at home. Instead, we sat at the dining table, selected some lovely in-house music and chatted and drank into the night. Oops.

Day two (and three) we enjoyed a beautiful classy breakfast at The Source – fresh and great variety. Try the corn fritters with chutney. Also a top view over the Derwent. All the bread and wicked pastries are baked on-site (you can see the Chefs tending to the bread in the outside oven). We often loathe going to a dining room for breakfast. Not this time!

We spent several hours in the museum and were very amused by the eclectic collection. Especially the installations. You really get to appreciate people’s creativity and don’t bother going if you wont use the mobile/headphone system. Whilst there’s probably too lengthy opposing interpretations the brief descriptions assist your viewing. My partner coincidentally used the mirrored lavatory that’s part of the exhibition (its located within the unisex bathrooms) and alighted quite bemused. Who’d have thought we could then buy a gift card featuring the loo!

The nine-course degustation was clever and delicious. We went all out and included the matching wines. Very interesting selection and the sommelier (young fellow standing in) was knowledgeable and unpretentious. Theresa was a delight! The quantities were just right so we could stroll (not stagger) back to the pavilion.

The last day we had an extended checkout, then left our bags at reception and treated ourselves to a late morning wine and beer tasting with Matt. Fun, tasty, interesting and a great view. Also a convenient and fun collection of gifts available for purchase. Love the variety of Moo brews and several of the Moorilla wines. (Cost of tastings is included in the accommodation).

We finished off our stay in the cute Wine Bar with a brew and the BEST pate (parfait) I’ve had in ages. A big jam jar perfect for sharing, with extra bread.

Congratulations and thanks to all who make up MONA!

Room Tip: Esmond is lovely - curious about the story of the ceiling art
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Fantastic. Really could not find anything wrong. great location, Our 'Charles' rooms fantastic, views awesome. And then there's the degustation dinner! My goodness me 7 courses and matching wines - up there with the best around ( I have had done others - so Yes!).

Then there is the Mona museum- ultra modern and much bigger then it looks - three levels down!. Oh you want more - there's a vineyard and brewery as well. Can't wait to go back . Not cheap but then we knew that and I can say its worth every bit of the asking price.

We will go back and try a different room and view next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popup420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berriedale
6.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
6.4 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
430 reviews
6.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
6.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mona Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mona Pavilions

Property: Mona Pavilions
Address: 655 Main Rd, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mona Pavilions 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONA Pavilions. The eight MONA pavilions overlook the Derwent River and feature artwork from the MONA collection. Four are named for architects who have influenced Australia's architectural landscape: Roy (Grounds), Robin (Boyd), Esmond (Dorney) and Walter (Burley Griffin). The original four pavilions: Arthur (Boyd), Brett (Whiteley), Charles (Blackman) and Sidney (Nolan), have been completely refurbished. All have access to the heated infinity lap pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mona - the gallery and all site facilities are closed on Tuesdays. The Pavilions are open with breakfast still served and in room food and beverage option available for house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mona Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Pavilions Hotel Berriedale
Mona Pavilions Berriedale, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing