We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with some shock value”
Review of Mona

Mona
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.20*
and up
Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mona - the Museum of Old and New Art - is Australia's largest privately owned museum. It showcases owner David Walsh's collection, which includes more than 2000 artworks, antiquities and ethnographic pieces. The collection ranges from Egyptian funerary objects to some of the world's most infamous and thought-provoking contemporary art. Since opening in January 2011 it has welcomed more than 1.4 Million visitors. The 3.5 Ha site, just north of Hobart, also includes the Ether Building Function Centre, Moorilla winery and vineyard, Cellar Door, Wine Bar and Barrel Room, Void Bar, The Source Restaurant, a 63-seat cinema, the Mona Library and gallery, as well as eight contemporary accommodation pavilions. Until 6 July, 2015, Biennale of Moving Images Hobart, 2015 - 18 new works by 20 of the world's best video artists under 40 years of age. Amarna (2015) by James Turrell (born 1946 in Los Angeles, USA)- Amarna is one of a series of more than 80 Skyspace installations Turrell has built in high altitude and geographically isolated locations. MONA's work is the largest Skyspace to date and Turrell's southern-most installation. See MONA website for sequence times. 12 -22 June, 2015, Dark Mofo Since Neolithic times, seasonal winter solstice rites have been held to face the darkness and bring back the light. Mona - the Museum of Old and New Art - in Tasmania's winter festival Dark Mofo celebrates both ancient and contemporary mythologies, birth and death, fire and laser light - with some good music, art and food thrown in. The usual Mona obsessions, with a darker twist, in and around Hobart each June. MONA FOMA A summer festival of eclectic proportions: the Museum of Old and New Art Festival of Music and Art in Tasmania, Australia, is curated by Brian Ritchie (Violent Femmes) and brings a beguiling mixed-bag of music and art to the island state. From post-punk to avant-garde orchestras, inflatables, installations and performance art, MOFO sprawls unconventionally across Hobart each January. Mona is open Wednesday - Monday (closed Tuesdays) and operates from 10am - 5pm in winter, and 10am - 6pm throughout summer. Mona is currently on the winter operating hour schedule.
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This was a great museum. Modern art museums can often host a variety of interesting and curious arts or displays that leave you pondering about what exactly you are taking in. Mona certainly does this!

Some of the displays were a little beyond me (I am a layman when it comes to art education) and others were fascinating. I think the best was the poo machine- it really was realistic.

Worth a stop for sure! But go with an open mind.. If you can't do that then perhaps don't go at all!

1  Thank SamBell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"modern art"
in 367 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 297 reviews
"david walsh"
in 224 reviews
"on display"
in 163 reviews
"wine bar"
in 202 reviews
"world class"
in 153 reviews
"whole experience"
in 114 reviews
"derwent river"
in 128 reviews
"an open mind"
in 129 reviews
"thought provoking"
in 56 reviews
"second visit"
in 51 reviews
"amazing building"
in 81 reviews
"visiting hobart"
in 82 reviews
"each piece"
in 60 reviews
"entry fee"
in 61 reviews
"exhibits"
in 1,001 reviews
"gallery"
in 743 reviews
Filter

1,360 - 1,364 of 5,726 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016

This is not to be missed on a trip to Hobart! It is great to get the boat from Hobart $20 return very reasonable . The entry is $20 or $25 but free for Tasmanians!! Lucky them. The architecture is fabulous and so striking and everything is so stylish. No labels on works but you have a great iphone device with info and comments about pieces.
Some of the art is confrontational and very way out but i expected it!
So many staff around.
Allow about 3 hours at least as the outside area is also interesting with the winery and a few exhibits as well as the gorgeous cafe with a view! The boat trip is smooth and even has a cafe for a quick drink or snack on board!
To sum up. . . we loved our visit to this unique and fascinating gallery!

2  Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This is not a standard Museum. If you are looking for Monet, Rubens, or even the standard bearers of the modern art scene, then this is not for you. If you like dark, sensory, and odd art this is your place. If you are a puritan, then enjoy the grounds, the restaurants, the band playing on stage, and the views while skipping the museum. There is something for everyone here including the kids. We enjoyed the eclectic and confronting art, as well as the wine tasting and beautiful grounds.

2  Thank ColoradoHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This is by far the worst museum I’ve ever been to. It’s not just bad, it’s terrible. MONA isn’t about the art – either old or new – it’s about shock value. From the hundred or so clay female genitalia that are displayed in multiple rooms, to the tv showing old people playing in a band, and including at least 75% of the art that I encountered there, it’s just bad.

I love modern art. We all know that it can often be kooky, sexual, strange, etc. We’ve all shaken our heads at some pieces that might have been particularly strange or perhaps just not our cup of tea. This isn’t that.

The pieces are displayed for maximum shock value and effect in dramatic lightening to make the art appear cooler and better than it actually is. In my opinion this is a museum for people who find regular museums tedious and/or lack any artistic taste.

They should have spent more money acquiring quality art, and less on their dramatic effects.

The only thing that might save MONA is the wine. When you get to the bottom of the stairs or get off the elevator at the starting point, there’s a bar. They also have quite a few comfortable looking chairs and couches to relax in while you’re drinking. If you feel the need to experience this horrible museum, do so after at least a couple of glasses of alcohol. That’s certainly the only way that anyone with half a brain could find this place enjoyable.

5  Thank Jules_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Heard so much about it, that it has put Tasmania on the map nationally and internationally, so visited it January this year. We went there by bus and came back by ferry (so were spared climbing the 99 steps twice!). Lived up to our expectations, and more! The outdoor metal sculptures were incredible, notably the Chapel, especially when you go inside and see the weird stained glass windows (xrays!) Inside what caught our attention was the Poo Factory, as we came at 2 pm, just In time for poo production --- definitely right on the nose, so to speak! Kids fled with disgust, adults stayed out of curiosity. The exhibits weren't labelled at all, but audio guides were provided for free, and tracked you down from section to section, so no problems trying to figure out what section you were in, and what you were looking at. I was so taken by the uniqueness of this structure that I made a return trip this month (October). Some exhibits were the same, but as with repeat performances, you always see something you missed before. As for the ferry we took, we didn't bother paying extra for the Posh Pit as the trip wasn't all that long anyway and we wanted to be outside enjoying the fresh air and view. So we joined the plebs and mounted the animal seats --- yes, great for the kids (and adults too!). Note that backpacks have to be checked in, and that you can always change the time for your return trip (just go to the reception and they'll see if they can accommodate you). A definite must for everyone!

1  Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mona also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing