We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class Accomodation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from the front
Creels at the harbour Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Cottage from the front
Creels at the harbour
Kitchen
Family Bathroom with shower over bath
Livingroom
Upstair Bedrooom 1
Upstair Bedrooom 2
En-Suite toilet and shower room
Master Bedroom
Rear enclosed garden
Harbour
Beach
Diving chart for close by shipwrecks
The Davron Hotel  / Restaurant
Local Spar shop (only 50 yards away)
The Masons Arms Hotel / Restaurant
The Forbes Arms Pub
View from the west rocks
Local Butcher / Post Office 
Just around corner
Arial view of town
Harbour
Harbour
North Sea
Golfers on local 9 hole course
Harbour on a rough day
Town from the east end
Fraserburgh Award Winning Beach
Fraserburgh Award Winning Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rosehearty, Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KevinnAud...
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“First Class Accomodation!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Creel Cottage and West Rocks Cottage for a family get together, we arrived ahead of the rest of our party and found the cottage very easily. We were informed that a lovely lady called Angela would hand us the keys and show us how to work the heating etc, Angela only lives a few yards away and soon had us in the cottage and everything shown to us. The cottage is immaculate in every way and contains every conceivable item (A previous visitor mentioned there was no pizza cutter, after playing the game of trying to find what wasn't supplied we also found there was no pizza cutter well there is now lol!)

Kenny the owner has literally thought of every conceivable thing you could need for your stay even down to dishwasher tablets and cooking oil! The beds are unbelievably comfortable and the central heating works so well we didn't need it on for more than an hour or so every day. There are plenty of board games and dvd's to keep both adults and children entertained if there is nothing on the telly.

We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone staying in the Fraserburgh or surrounding areas. The residents of Rosehearty are very welcoming as were the locals we met in the Davron Hotel who went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Hi Kevin,
many thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Creel Cottage, Rosehearty.
Please keep us in mind if you return in the future
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTS878
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot, great Scottish coastal experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I grew up in Scotland but have lived in Australia for the last 20 years. I now have 3 young children and wanted to take them back to Scotland for an authentic Scottish stay for a week. We stayed at The Creel Cottage and loved it from the minute we got there to the minute we departed.

Firstly a mistake on my part, I got my days wrong, (booking too many things over a 4 week trip) I rocked up a day early!! I called Kenny and explained my predicament, he made a few calls and had everything sorted out within a few hours, absolutely amazing that he and the 2 ladies that look after the cottage for him went well above and beyond the call of duty. But I wouldn't recommend it, my wife was furious!! which was fair enough.

The cottage itself was immaculately clean which is very important. It had everything you need and was very quiet and extremely relaxing. I went for a morning run along the coast each morning. The kids loved the play park 2 mins up the road, the flying fox is great fun. The local harbour is very interesting and the local shop (30 metres) has everything you need.

Highly recommend a visit if you are looking for something authentic.

Also drive along the coast to Pennan, it's absolutely stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Hi Tony, many thanks for the kind review.
I'm glad you had a great time up in Rosehearty, North East Scotland.
Please keep us in mind should you want to return in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, stunning scenery.”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Creel Cottage exceeded our expectations, clean, modern, very homely and locals very welcoming. Great base for all the surrounding, picturesque villages. Good communication with the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for the kind review.
Please keep us in mind for the future
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Hi Christine, many thanks for your really kind review. This means a lot to us.
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim P
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It really was like going home, the cottage was beautiful, vey clean & tidy. All the people involved were so helpful & friendly, we couldn't wish for a better holiday. Many thanks. Jim Pooley

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hi Jim,
many thanks for the kind review and the 5 star rating.
I'm glad you had a nice holiday and perhaps you will keep us in mind if you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, pity about attention to details.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a very beautiful renovation to an old cottage. Unfortunately the owner would appear to have tried to "cut corners" when equipping it as a vacation rental. Having stayed in many similar vacation cottages around the United Kingdom, I was very disappointed with this accommodation. It would have been nice to have some milk in the fridge and tea and coffee in containers when we arrived - a few welcoming touches would have eased the disappointment.
Towels were in short supply and, when provided, were extremely threadbare. No bath mats at first either and the supply of toilet paper was inadequate. There were no drying towels or dishcloths in the kitchen. The bedding is of an inferior quality. Although this cottage boasted two upstairs bedrooms, neither had been cleaned. The kitchen is modern and well remodeled - such a shame that the equipment does not meet the same standards. I was amazed at a vast collection of beer mugs but not a cup and saucer in sight !!! A few pottery style casserole dishes, sharp knives, small plastic bowls and tablecloths would make a difference. Also, a manual on the stove and washing machine would be helpful.
I have to say, however, that the young lady who was in charge of the key and who came over to help us get the Wifi going, the hot water running and the heating unit attended to could not have been more helpful - thankyou Angela !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Two bathrooms.
Liked least: Threadbare towels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I would like to thank you for your 4 star rating and glad you liked our beautiful renovated old Cottage.
While I take on board some of your comments, I would like to reply to some of them.
No corners were cut when equipping the house as we visit the house regularly and like to feel home from home.
There is always Tea, Coffee and sugar left in the storage jars in the kitchen cupboard but we do not leave milk as not everyone drinks tea and coffee and certainly not everyone takes milk.
One toilet roll is left in each bathroom at the start of each let I feel a good start for the self catering visitors.
All our towels were new at the beginning of the holiday season although not extremely thick they are certainly adequate
All bedding was from a large chain store and fairly new.
All tea towels are left in the heating cupboard with oven gloves.
The dishcloths, dishwashing liquid, hand cleaner and dishwasher tabs are left for each let under the sink.
We do not leave tea cups and saucers as we find that they are easily broken and as we welcome families, we find that a large quantity of mugs and more robust plates and dishes are more functional.
Four Pyrex glass casserole dishes are in the house and are very versatile for the oven or the microwave.
The knives are of high quality (kitchen devil) and are sharpened three or four times every year.
A new plastic table cloth is left for each let as well.
There is a plastic wallet in the kitchen cupboard with all the instructions for the white goods.
Angela who looks after the house for us is very helpful and a great asset to us letting the house, I am glad she was able to help you with the Wifi and heating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed in creel cottage, came up to see my family from Fraserburgh. Cottage was first class would highly recommend. Ideal as a base for travelling around. Impressed with everything in the cottage nothing needed at all brought loads of stuff with us no need all there. Thanks you for. Lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Hi Paul and Karen, many thanks for the kind review. I'm glad you had a lovely stay, and hope you will keep us in mind for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing