We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Clay Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely inside and excellent food and service will definitely be going back again. Would recommend to anyone already told my son who says that he and his wife will be trying it too .

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    65
    13
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Special menu choices , great service too...”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This restaurant provides something just that bit different from the usual 'Indian' menu.
We chose the specialities. Highlights were the mo mo dumpling starters. The Kulfi type dessert and a warm rice pudding completed the relaxing and we'll served meal.
An excellent evening with no quibbles . Definitely recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank besssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“1st time”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was recommended by a friend. Tried it today for the sunday buffet and it was excellent. Good choice of starters and the mains were lovely. Everything was cooked to perfection and fresh. The place is spotlessly clean and the staff are warm and friendly. Will we be back? Most definately xxx

Helpful?
2 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The food and service here is just second to none. The food is lovely and fresh and all the flavours are just devine. The staff are lovely and very attentive. We recently had my mums 60th birthday here and there are some tricky customers in our family to please. Not one complaint everyone was highly delighted and can't wait to visit again.
Paula - Clay Cross

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, very good food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went on a Sunday when it is a standard 'all you can eat' buffet style.
The food was Hot and tasty unlike some of these buffet style events. There was a varied selection of Indian and Nepalese dishes and all were hot and kept filled up.
The menu wasn't extensive...they seem to have gone for quality over quantity of dishes available, which is a big plus point.
Service was good without being 'in your face'.
Overall a nice evening meal, and for two people with a couple of beers £30 was a very good price, we will next go midweek to sample their proper menu and sample the restaurant's proper atmosphere...today there were people stuffing food into their faces which wasn't too pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starmandave1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Clay Cross, Chesterfield
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Kathmandu Gurkha Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing