We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clay Cross, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick P
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Three of us stayed for a week to, mainly, attend a wedding in Budby.
This proved to be the perfect place for us all. Both bedrooms upstairs and both with own ensuite so we all had our own space.
It is attached to a small farm but completely private. Not in any village but you can walk to one or a very short drive to lovely villages like Ashover and a longer, but spectacular one to places like Bakewell, Castleton, etc.
Super roomy living space, kitchen well equipped, and host Andrew leaves the essentials for you on arrival plus some fresh muffins. Great Wifi too.
A bit tricky to find but, once there, the photos don't do it justice.
If you don't need to be in a village you won't be sorry with this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer F
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Found this cottage through Sykes rentals, booked for a week in late September. We were immediately impressed with the Old Blacksmiths. It's had a nice modern refurbishment and is warm and cosy. We felt was equipped with everything we needed (apart from perhaps some kitchen tongs!). The owner greeted us and left cakes, milk and tea bags on arrival which was a nice touch. As the descriptions says, both bedrooms have their own shower room en suite which we found very useful. The cottage is in a lovely quiet setting and looks out over fields. Made a good base for exploring the peaks and local sights such as Heights of Abraham, Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very peaceful and a lovely spacious property
Liked least: The lack of a proper grill tray
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Old Blacksmiths, we couldn't be happier you had a lovely holiday there. It is great to hear you were comfortable and had all you needed to hand there, plus those welcome gifts sound like a wonderful way to begin your holiday! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Sue1...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great luxury cottage, fantastic amenties, great host!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Blacksmiths Cottage and couldn't have been happier. The cottage is clean, modern, well equipped and in a beautiful location. Our host Andrew checked us in and was extremely helpful and whilst this is on a working smallholding, it was very quiet and peaceful and we were very much given our privacy. I couldnt recommend this place highly enough and its so central to everything but in the middle of the countryside we felt very at ease and peaceful. Definitely try the Devonshire Arms at Beeley, what a find! Great food great staff unbelievable compared to what else is around. And I would say the same about the Old Blacksmiths, and if we find ourselves coming back to Derbyshire, this is for sure one of the best places we have stayed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and amenities
Liked least: Bed, but we are used to a Superking and a firm mattress, bed was perfectly fine, just not to our taste
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
We are over the moon that you had a fabulous holiday at The Old Blacksmiths, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It certainly sounds like you had the best of both worlds with the location; being able to relax in the peace of the countryside whilst having everything you needed in easy reach sounds perfect! We will be sure to pass all of your lovely compliments along to the owner and hope that you return for another stay soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing