We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Waltham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly establishment”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights with friend arrived late on Friday and had a great meal in the bar.
Faggots and mushy peas, lamb chops;all well served, generous portions and nice tasting. Staff very helpful. The rooms were lovely, a bit of nois from the road but not a problem.
Would return if back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorcery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    55
    33
    5
    13
See reviews for
53
147
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Can't comment about the accommodation, but we called in on Monday night for a snack. It was a little disappointing that we couldn't have a simple sandwich or suchlike, but having plumped for a burger and chips ...... oh my goodness!!! Absolutely fabulous!! Incredibly good food, nicely presented and a VERY generous portion. We really only fancied a snack, but we managed to clear our plates anyway - it was too good to leave anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent two nights here recently and it's a great place, modern, comfortable and clean. The room was really comfortable and very nicely done up. The only issue really is that it is situated on a cross roads and we could hear the traffic throughout the night and I am not a light sleeper but I didn't feel as rested as I would have liked.

The food was good and the staff were friendly.

Great selection of food at breakfast, and we ate there both evenings. Food was lovely.

We paid £120 per night and to be honest I think it was overpriced given the location, but that's my personal opinion.

Room Tip: I am not sure if they have a room away from the road, but you could ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelyabsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A group of 11 of us walked to The Cross Foxes for lunch on the Saturday of the Bank holiday weekend. It was midday and the pub wasn't busy, we ordered a mixture of baguettes filled with hot roast meats. After 10 minutes we were told one of the two meats was no longer available an 10 minutes later still we were told that the other choice had also run out. We changed our orders and waited. Some baguettes arrived with meat others without and 2 baguettes eventually arrived after several prompts containing what looked like cut up pieces of pork chops!

Those who were not given roast meat filled baguette suggested that the management might provide a refund for the difference but none was forthcoming until it was requested at the bar as we left.

No apology was offered and no one asked us at any point if we were satisfied, which we were not. There didn't appear to be a manager in charge of the very young inexperienced staff. We wondered how they managed for the rest of the weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed over at the Cross Foxes over the bank holiday weekend for one night. We received quite a warm welcome and was led to our room. The room "arran" was nicely decorated with a nice bathroom. Perhaps a little small (had to take side steps around the bed). There was also a lot of traffic noise as it is on a main road, even with the window shut. But this wasn't a problem as it was just one night.

The evening meal I would say was a little bit pricey but was to a good standard. I had the salmon and my partner had beef brisket. The chocolate pots for desert were lovely too. However, there was no music and chairs are wooden with no cushioning so theres a bit of canteen / cafe theme than a restuarant.

They serve breakfast from 08:00 until 10:30 this was a bit disappointing. We were in the restaurant for 10am the juice drinks were not replenished, neither was all the yoghurts or croissants etc. All the dirty dishes were left from previous guests. Wasn't too impressed with the hot breakfasts either, I asked for scrambled eggs and sausage with brown toast. We waited about half an hour to get thick white toast and one sausage with extremely runny eggs.

I think Cross Foxes market their rooms as a 5 star, which is not deserved. I think a poor 4 star or a high 3 is more appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 881Zoolander881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the beginning of August.
We arrived just after 930pm on Friday night and the staff were very welcoming, offering us food despite the kitchen officially being closed. Our room was perfect, decorated in a modern style, with a fabulous contemporary bathroom.
Breakfast was cooked fresh, to order and was perfect for as a precursor to climbing Cadair.
Saturday night is clearly a busy night but we ate in the bar after 830pm and the food was good with prompt service.

We will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wonderful meal, called in for a birthday treat, not too expensive service could have been a bit better, but over all a very good meal well presented. Will definitely call in again. Cannot comment on the hotel as we did not stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylooWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
9.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
376 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
284 reviews
4.6 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Property: Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing