We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Foxes :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night break Here, We were greeted by extremely friendly staff, and shown to our room 'Cyfrwy'. Pure luxury, very modern decor, with a rustic stone fireplace, the bed was large and comfortable, sadly we did have some noise from the busy room outside, but no enough to disturb our sleep. The bathroom was on the small side, and sadly no bath, but the rain-shower more than made up for it. The restaurant food is delicious, we both would highly recommend the beef & ale pie, although the other dishes were very tasty too. We will definately be back x

Room Tip: We had 'Cyfrwy' room, and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl-Leona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went with my wife on a mini break, we were hoping it was easy to find and it was (I've no sense of direction so that was a relief). We stayed in the Cau room, one of 6 available and it was lovely-a good size with a large very comfortable bed. Nice and clean with a good sized bathroom incorporating a rain shower.
The overall decor and feel of the place is very smart, clean and relaxed.
We ate dinner the first night and breakfast the following morning - both were lovely, with good sized portions cooked just as requested. Compliments to the chef!
The staff were great and very helpful, answering any questions about local sights and things to do, very attentive but unobtrusive.
We would highly recommend the Cross Foxes as a place to stay and use as a base for exploring the area; lovely place and great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in one of the suites for a romantic weekend. The room we had was excellent with good facilities. The bathroom was superb with a double shower and bath. The hotel is well situated for visiting Snowdonia National Park and other tourist attractions. The food was good quality and reasonably priced and the bar had a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicNacH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here on 7/12/13 and it was brilliant! ! The staff had decorated the room beautifully and the food was fab. They had even got us a lovely card from all of the staff. They made our day extra special and for that we thank you. Highly recommended.
Lyndsey Gater

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank LCG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here a few months ago and arrived very late after a number of delays. I found the place all dark and quiet as check-in closes at 22:00 hours, which I hadn't realised. However was greeted very warmly by the one member of staff who had stayed up for our arrival and I was surprised immensely as his first question was not "Where the hell have you been" which would have been wholly justified, but rather, "Can I get you a drink", despite that fact it was now near 1 am and everyone else was long gone. Fantastic service, wished I remembered the guys name. Our room was spotlessly clean and fantastic, very modern. Breakfast was 5* and pub food excellent also. Would love to come back and no doubt will do one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lev1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed for our second wedding anniversary on a 2 night break through a KGB deal. We decided to upgrade to one of the suites right at the top of the hotel and we were not disappointed by the room. Its large and spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. We slept like logs !! The bathroom had an amazing shower and bath too, with lots of piping hot water.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was delicious. There were quite a few local people eating there that weren't staying so you can see it has a good reputation.

The only disappointment we had was that when we arrived on the Monday night we were advised that there would be not electric from 9am - 5pm the following day, so if we wanted a cooked breakfast we would have to be up early (which neither of us wanted) or just have cold cereal etc.
Also we had just planned to stay in the suite on the Tuesday, (one of the reasons we upgraded) relaxing, reading and watching tv, having lunch & a few drinks in the afternoon in the bar by the fire which we were unable to do. Unfortunately the weather was atrocious on Tuesday and we soon got fed up trying to amuse ourselves outside elsewhere. This wasn't what we actually had planned for our wedding anniversary !! The electric came back on around 3.30pm. We totally appreciate that it was not the owners fault but it would have been nice to have been told before we arrived, or even given a complimentary drink.
The cooked breakfast on the Wednesday morning was lovely and although we did not have the scrambled egg and salmon, we noticed it on someone else's table and it looked divine !!
We would stay again as the whole ambiance of the place is lovely and the food excellent. If we had paid full price though, I think with the power cut I would have been disappointed, but we had a good deal with the KGB voucher so I respect that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Lovely room in a refurbished building. A bit of a rabbit warren but we got a nice welcome.

The food was not as nice as we'd hoped and the service was poor when we sat in the bar. To be fair, the owner did come and talk to us and listen to our comments, so that's a positive.

Breakfast was excellent.

All in all a nice stay just slightly let down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rampikino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.6 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
502 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range: £97 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing