We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Had to stay in the area for a night and had often passed the Cross a Foxes but it had been closed up. Well it's now very much open! Beautifully renovated, spacious and a pleasure to be in. It's got lovely rooms, large dining area (with really comfy chairs!) and a very large, spacious deck area. Had an excellent evening meal served by very polite and attentive staff. The only down side was the traffic noise but it's on a junction so I guess there's not a lot that can be done there? I liked the little touch of having a jug of fresh milk brought up to the room too for the tea and coffee facilities; very thoughtful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank CLG1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Came across this by chance. Enjoyed an excellent meal on the terrace - good quality & ample portion size. It wasn't particularly cheap, but then they've obviously invested heavily on the building (and it shows!).
Full marks for good loos too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We did the 'chill and pamper' package. Room was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't do enough for us! Everything was planned around what we wanted to do. Food amazing - ate far too much! Very chilled out stay. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here. I was amazed at how out of the way it was (a positive!). Great food, staff were really accommodating and friendly. As a gay couple I was expecting some awkward moments, but there were none!

Well worth the stay. Great location, clean and modern rooms, nice toiletries etc and a very relaxing bar area and dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnnyCasin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Staying in Barmouth, we trawled the streets looking for a good restaurant (narrowed down further by the fact that most of them are closed Sunday and Monday) we decided to consult trip advisor and venture out of town in search of good food in lovely surroundings and we chose perfectly!

The restaurant has a lovely ambience, contemporary with a traditional feel. The menu was varied even for fussy vegetarians and the standard of food was amazing. We stayed at our table all evening and sampled 3 courses. We were so comfortable and enjoyed the food so much, we didn,t want to leave!

The restaurant would actually tempt me to take the 120 mile drive from home to take advantage of one of the overnight deals advertised.

Highly recommended. Especially if you are staying in Barmouth and struggle like we did!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaOL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we stopped here 18th may as a family of seven for drinks and lunch, luckily all well behaved dogs are welcome on a lead so we had a meal on the terrace, with our family pet. fantastic location but the cheapest meal started from £9.99, a steak with chips and salad garnish was £19.99 !!!. so as you can expect not the cheapest of meals, sunday lunch was very tasty but you had 1 scoop of mash and the veg was mangetout, pureed carrot and red cabbage which my children do eat, but some children don't, you are better to stop at the little chef if you have fussy eaters.sunday lunch starts at £11.99,drinks were expensive but i would suggest if you have little ones to sit by the stream and take your own drinks , hosts did NOT speak and were very anti social,, i think they are all about profit !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at the Cross Foxes on a North South A470 journey. Very comfortable room. Staff were attentive and nothing was too much. Ate lamb chops. Very respectable helping. Lamb cooked medium rare and very tasty. Excellent breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Dafydd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
492 reviews
5.6 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range: £87 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing