We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly clean, friendly bar and waitressing staff but disappointing breakfast / packed lunch and chaotic admin.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotlessly clean, friendly bar and waitressing staff but disappointing breakfast / packed lunch and chaotic admin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay which was on the whole enjoyable. The surrounding area and great weather meant we could enjoy the family cycle trails and walk up Snowdon. The hotel is beautifully clean and our family room was lovely. We were disappointed by a mix up with the room rate and were glad we had the original booking email plus a problem with a tab. Both issues were quickly resolved however. Breakfast seemed to be coordinated by a sole , lovely and helpful waiter but he was over stretched and both breakfasts we received were overcooked and luke warm. The packed lunches were disappointed and expensive for what we received. Bread choices were ignored, the cakes were four stale scones and drinks came in glass bottles which seemed odd as presumably the lunches are aimed at the outdoor type . Breakfast starts at 0800 and nothing was available before then so on the morning we needed to leave earlier to head towards Snowdon it was a DIY affair. Overall an enjoyable break but expensive for the food we received and marred by the slightly chaotic uncertainty around bar bills and room rates.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastleHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    50
    32
    5
    13
See reviews for
49
141
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for two nights for our honeymoon. The hotel and room was very nice. The room we stayed in was Idris, It was very clean and spacious. All of the staff were very friendly and nice. Nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. With big portions. The only down side was the time you had to wait for the food

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful day .. Lunch outdoors . Food terrible. Over priced wine. Bread stale.. Come on change the management . How can you make a bad sandwich .. Soggy chips and it was not busy. Only one other couple. They also complained about their burgers..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the two night 'walkers break' and the room was lovely and clean and all the staff were very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much troube for them. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was excellent and the sweets were to die for!! We stayed in the Cau room where the traffic was noisy from early morning. All in an all a brillant stay in beautiful countryside and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and felt that it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Would request a hotel nearer the back of the hotel if possible due to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am only commenting on the restaurant, I have no idea what the hotel rooms or service is like. We had lunch here, I had the Welsh beefburger, my wife had the Hawaiian burger. The buns were very tough and chewy, the burger itself was OK, the fries were soggy and greasy - I've had better from McDonalds.
There's a very nice view from the balcony dining area, and the restaurant itself is very modern, clean and attractive, but that wouldn't be enough to entice me back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallerton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived at Cross Foxes on a beautiful sunny evening, the hotel and restaurant looks very attractive from the outside and is set in a beautiful area surrounded by mountains. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who checked us in at the bar area. We were asked if were staying in for our evening meal, if weren't we and we were going out we would have to be back by 11.00pm which we thought seemed quite early!! We were booked in for 1 night and shown to our room 'Aaron' which was on the first floor. Fist impressions of the room were good, very clean and tidy and welcoming. Lovely bathroom with nice touches, and we were given fresh shortbread and milk to make a cup of tea. Unfortunately as the temperatures outside had been in late 20's the room was absolutely roasting hot, so we opened the small window to get some air in
which helped a little bit, but unfortunately where this room is situated it is extremely noisy from traffic on the A470 and a busy junction at A487 that leads onto the road. This traffic noise continued through the early hours, and felt that the wagons were heading towards the window it was that loud!! The room is also above the kitchen where you can hear staff and food prep taking place, along with food smells coming through the window (which we had to keep open due to the unbearable heat in the room).

Around 6am is sounded like the bins were being collected from the hotel, alongside the morning traffic obviously was a nuisance. As you can imagine we did not have a good night sleep at all, and I can usually sleep through anything so must have bad for me. Along with birds and sheep making noises early too (this is no fault of the hotel, that is just nature) We thought can there be anything else that is going to make any noise!!!!

The breakfast was served up to 10.30 which is a great time and didn't feel too rushed to get up and out. The staff were really friendly in the restaurant, and the restaurant itself was lovely bright and airy. We had a good choice from the menu, with fruit, cereals and a range of cooked food. We opted for the full welsh breakfast, when it came it was a great size all cooked fresh and presented well on lovely dishes. I would say it is one of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever eaten. I couldn't even finish it I was that full (and I always clear my plate) and kept me nice an full for most of the day.

We didn't eat in the restaurant at night so couldn't comment on the food from the menu, but seemed like a nice choice of food available.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Cross Foxes, it was just a real shame about the noise from the traffic during our stay as this really did ruin it for us. The hotel is 4 miles outside of Dolgellau but this isn't a problem as the drive is beautiful and very straightforward from Cross Foxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank born2shop1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for our mini moon. We were shown to our room, which was very spacious and felt very luxurious and the bathroom had an amazing power shower. We ate here on the first evening. We shared Garlic mushrooms to start, i ate the black beast burger and sticky toffee pudding and my wife had fish and chips, followed by strawberry roulade. Both were delicious. The restaurant is small, but the food and service was fantastic. Conveniently located to several main routes and walks, however the town is a 10 minute drive so it is isolated. But despite being on a main road, there was no traffic noise and the rooms are extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: You can select the room you would like on-line, with differing prices and features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lattedrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Property: Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing