We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Dined with friends evening meal, staff excellent and friendly, food cooked perfectly - would have just liked a little more choice as we are all vegetarians and only 1 vegetarian choice of goats cheese.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have made a few week long trips up to Dolgellau and stayed at various hotels nearby.
I had high hopes for the Cross Foxes after looking at the Website and I must say I wasnt disappointed.

I arrived on a Monday afternoon after a long & wet day up Cadair Idris and felt almost embarassed to go marching in with my muddy boots and wet waterproofs.

I was staying in Aran room, which was perfect for my needs. Plenty of room, nice comfy double bed and a lovely hot shower.

I ate in the bar every evening and the only challenge was to decide what to have from the menu.
Managed to work my way down a good part of the mains & desserts list in 4 eves!
(Also a good selection of local beers.)

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the Wifi signal was perfect everywhere, which was handy as I had no mobile signal at all (GiffGaff network).

I would highly recommend the Cross Foxes and will be booking again for my next trip to the Mach Loop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sean79-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stopped off here and ate in the bar on the way home from a holiday in Snowdonia. Saw it on the way in and thought 'finally - a decent looking gastropub' so stopped on the way home for lunch. Staff very friendly and helpful, food is ordered at the bar when sitting in the bar area so you need to get organised. Our 3.5 year old demolished his pizza and one of our group had a lovely lamb burger. No complaints about the food, it was fine! If you want a nice lunch and are prepared to pay for it then this is the place for you - perhaps book into the restaurant first if you are fussy about service. If you want cheap eats then perhaps try one of the dodgy welsh pubs on the road into Wales..... But this is a good, friendly place with nice food perfect for breaking up a big journey into or out of Wales!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank HappyCamperKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came here for my birthday, we stayed for 2 nights as I used to have some family in the area.
And this place is gorgeous, the food was fantastic and the room beautiful.
As to be expected the area is stunning also.

Will defiantly return to here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit here. We stayed in the suite Idris, it's an absolutely gorgeous room. Love everything about the Cross Foxes. The rooms, the bar/restaurant. The food is delicious. The creamy garlic mushrooms and the ribs are to die for!
The staff work so hard and are a credit to the place. They are extremely friendly and a pleasure to speak to. They really take an interest in your stay, making sure everything is first class and full of recommendations of places to visit.

If you get a chance to stay - do it! You will not be disappointed!

We have booked our stay for next time and will be visiting at least once a year!

Thank you Cross Foxes for another memorable trip

Elaine and Steve

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie270608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stopped here on the way home from Aberystwyth. For a Thursday they had a table availabe for 5 of us, but we were not told about the wait we were about to endure. Ordered and paid for drinks at the bar, then sat at our table. After ordering, and the friendly waitress coming over to apologize for the wait (something that seemed she had to do often) we waited an hour and a half for our mains, and very dissapointing. I had the sausage and mash, and the sausages were very tasty, but to wait so long for instant gravy that came with it, and undercooked cold veg was taking the mick. Southern fried chicken was ok, but so thick in batter alot was also left on the plate. Burgers were ok, but everything overpriced. Massive improvements need to be done by managment if they need local trade to get through the winter season.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank gmj124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay which was on the whole enjoyable. The surrounding area and great weather meant we could enjoy the family cycle trails and walk up Snowdon. The hotel is beautifully clean and our family room was lovely. We were disappointed by a mix up with the room rate and were glad we had the original booking email plus a problem with a tab. Both issues were quickly resolved however. Breakfast seemed to be coordinated by a sole , lovely and helpful waiter but he was over stretched and both breakfasts we received were overcooked and luke warm. The packed lunches were disappointed and expensive for what we received. Bread choices were ignored, the cakes were four stale scones and drinks came in glass bottles which seemed odd as presumably the lunches are aimed at the outdoor type . Breakfast starts at 0800 and nothing was available before then so on the morning we needed to leave earlier to head towards Snowdon it was a DIY affair. Overall an enjoyable break but expensive for the food we received and marred by the slightly chaotic uncertainty around bar bills and room rates.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastleHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
2.5 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
319 reviews
9.9 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
192 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
4.6 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing