We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT STAY”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of PENYBRYN

Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove Garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove
Garden room
Hallway
View of whole cottage to the east
Upstairs bathroom with roll-top bath
Alcove beside the inglenook
Double bedroom
King bedroom
All-weather garden furniture
Cwm Hafod Oer in winter
Penybryn in winter
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Garden room and garden in summer
Kitchen / Diner
Garden room in winter
Barbecue area with a mountain backdrop
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Garden in summer
Garden from the side
Penybryn in winter, view to mountains
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Penybryn from main road
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_v_barber...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I have to say our short stay at this lovely spacious cottage was beautiful lovely stunning location ,so quiet and peaceful ,the furnishings are top class we could not fault it one bit , The host were very polite and helpful ,and i will certainly return in the future,10 out of 10
Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A small piece of heaven”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from another fantastic stay at Penybryn, our fourth stay here. It is the most delightful little cottage which is clean and well furnished. I really cannot fault it. Highly recommended!! We'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities. It is perfect!
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this beautiful little cottage!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pugs1970
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having just returned from a week with my partner and 4yr old daughter at this magical cottage tucked away in the picturesque rolling welsh countryside, all I can say is.....why on earth did I only book a week :( sad faces all round, We absolutely fell in love with this cottage, from the mile long twisty drive up through the moss covered 'enchanted forest' (4 yr old remember) to the whole welsh, stags, tartan, wood & stone theme that runs throughout the whole place, you really feel that you are out in the wilderness here, once your settled in you'll be hard stretched to leave the place during your all-too-short stay. The owners live next door, although we only saw them twice, once when arriving and once when departing and they were incredibly friendly and welcoming and clearly take a lot of pride in the upkeep of they're old home, and it shows, this is not a thrown together holiday cottage made to make money at the cost of quality and value for money, this is a labour of love for the owners and as they actually used to live in it a few years ago the contents and quality of the fittings, furniture etc show great taste and a liking for quality rather than 'it'll do' which makes it feel so homely. And then there's the views.....every window from every room, breathtaking..
The bedrooms are all amazingly comfortable and not a sleepless night was had by anyone, not even during a storm (I actually slept better here than at home!)
The only mild complaints I had was the tiny TV, you could argue that there are much better things to look at at in this area but when you have a youngster with you you are in the cottage from fairly early on in the evening so settling down to a movie in front of the cozy log fire means you'll be on the same couch as for all intents and purposes it is a computer monitor so it's fairly hard to watch from across the room, that being said, it is a very mild complaint and in no way spoiled any part of the amazing stay at this amazing place. The internet is about half meg and works 80% of the time so if you have a kid that sees the word 'wifi available' and is thinking of bringing an online gaming console it wont work but it's fine for emailing/ whatsapp/ facebook etc, and as for mobiles, well we had 02 and Vodaphone and never had signal, didn't bother us in the slightest though, it's never good in most parts of the Welsh countryside so we're more than used to it.
We cannot recommend this cottage enough and we will definitely be rebooking in the very near future, my 4 yr old daughter summed it up perfectly within the first hour of stepping foot in to the cottage..."Mummy...Daddy....can we stay here for lots of years?"
I wish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that I discovered this place
Liked least: The small TV and intermittent internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnasi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New year stay..!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Well as this is our 3rd visit to this fantastic cottage, once for Xmas week, a random trip in the middle of January and now for new year..., I can't help feeling rather much at home..
Where do I start.. The peace and quite, the breathtaking views, the fabulous warm and cosy fireplace.. The beautiful conservatory which looks out to one of the best views I've ever seen whilst eating my dinner.. The list is endless.. This cottage is clean and comfy and my children 3 & 8 have hours of fun building there train tracks on the conservatory floor. The kitchen is well equipped, everything a cook could need.. As I write this review I'm lying on the extremely comfy king size bed.(should really be getting up) The owners are lovely, and dare I say it but so is their cat.. My son is in love.. !! We have been very lucky to stay in some lovely cottages in the past, but this by far is my absolute favourite..! Cannot wait to book again for next year..! Thanks for the memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful, quiet, well-presented and did I say beautiful? We've just come back from 6 days at Gwerfyl and Mark's lovely cottage, and it was great. It was our first family holiday in about 7 years, and it was well and truly worth the wait. The cottage is lovely, beautifully appointed, but not twee or boutique-y (if that even is a word) so that you don't want to touch anything. The massive beautifully presented garden was great for the kids to run around and play in, with lovely views of the hills and mountains, with sheep and cows in the neighbouring fields for my animal-mad 7 year old to gush over. Plus the odd bunny rabbit and loads of different birds to watch for.

For all its perceived remoteness though, its only 10 minutes from Dolgellau, with its shops, pubs, restaurants etc, and just half an hour away from Barmouth with its gorgeous beach (and fish and chips). Coed Y Brenin is just up the road for a good hack about on your MTB. My little lad (and this rather older lad who is writing this) loved the Talyllyn railway, again, about half an hour away.

All in all, to paraphrase the Comic Book Guy, "Best. Holiday. Ever." Do yourselves a favour and book a week or two here. You will not be disappointed. Oh, and the free range eggs are brilliant on a bacon and egg butty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had a dishwasher!
Liked least: I couldn't take the dishwasher home with me!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdonaghey
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful and private setting. The owners are next door and you pass by their place going in/out of the property but they don't interfere in your stay although they are friendly and welcoming. My husband and I rented and invited a friend along. The accommodations were very comfortable although my husband found the queen bed to be too firm for his liking. Two things to note: Wi-fi access depends on the weather apparently and there were days when we had no wi-fi and no phone (not necessarily a bad thing, but FYI) and there is no dryer so you need to hang out your laundry (weather permitting) or use the indoor drying rack. We loved it and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: views and the sunroom
Liked least: queen mattress - although my friend loved hers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxiewaxi...
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is absolutely perfect, spacious, comfortable, well equipped and clean. The location is also perfect, Dolgellau is nearby and has everything you would need, the views and walks from the cottage are superb. The owners are friendly and kind but unobtrusive.
We hope to come back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing