We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actually OK........but just not quite the same since the takeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
birmingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Actually OK........but just not quite the same since the takeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Before you read my comments, I'd like to say this hotel is generally quite good and I might be a little unfair in giving it only 3 marks. However, having loved it under the previous ownership, we found that some of the many little touches we liked have disappeared. We found that it's been taken over by HF Holidays (a non-profit co-operative) and gives the impression of now being mainly geared to catering for organised groups and societies. Our room was very clean and spacious, and we had a very comfortable bed. However, we just felt that we expected more for the price. Evening meal was reasonably good, but again we thought perhaps a tad pricey.
Breakfast was very good indeed.........but only it's only served until 9am! In fact it's the only hotel we've encountered in this price range which doesn't serve until 10am. On the plus side, the setting is fabulous, the car park is vast, and the staff are friendly. At a cheaper price it would be great, but it's the value-for-money thing which stopped us from giving it a higher rating. Also; just so's you know.....it seems that bookings are non-refundable if you need to cancel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank countryman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    21
    12
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
85
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked a stay at the Hall to treat our relatives from South Africa as we had stayed there on previous occasions before it was taken over by H.F. We had two rooms, both of which were large, airy and most comfortable with Moulton Brown bath products, a decanter of sherry and large flat screen television. We had booked dinner and with it came afternoon tea - on previous visits this had consisted of home made cakes and scones - this time it was a pot of tea with a plastic packet of biscuits. I felt that the standard of the meals had deteriorated - my eggs benedict at breakfast was disappointing and the toast was soggy - although there was the remembered wonderful assortment of fruit. The dinner was only average with a more limited choice menu. I make comment on the food as the hotel does not come cheap and on previous visits we had been delighted with everything - sadly on this occasion we were a little disappointed. However the staff were friendly and obliging and the hotel is in a most picturesque location with easy access to the delights of the Welsh countryside and coast.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a beautiful big room with a big comfy bed, armchairs and a fantastic view across the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WirralNemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

For the in-laws 60th Wedding Anniversary we decided to take them away for a long weekend. We booked into Dolserau Hall and what a weekend we had. The food and accomadation was fantastic and because we'd explained we wanted it to be special for Pauls mum and dad they really treated them like royalty. The chef even made them a special anniversary cake and brought it to the table.

If you really wantpeace quiet tranquility in the beautiful welsh countryside where you can do as little or as much as you want this is the place to go. The walking is excellent and there is loads to see and visit nearby should you wish to do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

It was a pity that H.F.(admin) and some of the staff at Dolserau Hall didn`t match Lou (the manageress`s) powerhouse approach. My general advice to group organisers and for visitors with even the most basic off menu dietary preferences would be to expect frustrations and to check, check and check again.
The food was very imaginative but if you are expecting a hearty nosh after a day in the hills you may be disappointed.
On a positive note the hotel was in a great spot –though you need a car to fully appreciate the area -it’s quite a way from town if you fancy an evening stroll.
There was a lot that was right about Dolserau but for me, it was not a seamless experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Urbane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Dolserau and it was as lovely as ever. We stay in the Camomile Lawn (room no 6)which has a lovely view and plenty of room. The bed is fantastic and 2 comfy chairs with footstools make it a place you want to stay in rather than go out! Dressing gowns and slippers, complimentary sherry,Molton Brown products all add to the comfort of your stay. The lounge in the hotel is large, cosy and welcoming. The breakfasts are superb and really set you up for the day. We paid for dinner on booking and with that comes tea and cakes in the aftenoon. A delicious sample of home made cakes but don't have too many as the delicious dinners are to follow. All the staff are brilliant and cannot do enough for you. Thanks to Lou especially - she is perfect. Even made me a drink of warm pure orange juice with honey as I was suffering very badly with a cold and sore throat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_H_13186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed there on business. I got upgraded to a really big room as there were only a few guests staying. The room was lovely, nice touches from the staff all round (sherry in the room, Molton Brown goodies to use is you want to etc...) Food was good and breakfast was lovely. The staff tried their best to help and it was a really relaxing evening. The location is also grand!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 83Frenchy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton Morrell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our son had his wedding reception here & we were absolutely delighted with every aspect of our experience at this hotel. The location is amazing. There are beautiful views on all sides. The rooms are very comfortable & the hotel is homely whilst accommodating all of our guests. We enjoyed a delicious meal with family & friends the night before the wedding. The reception went without a hitch & again the food was good. We felt that the help we received from 'Lou' their wedding planner was over & above what she needed to do & we were & are extremely grateful to her. We feel that the smooth running of the whole occasion was due to her.

We would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel for a wedding, an important occasion or just a holiday. The staff are very friendly & make the experience a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
2.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
20.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
24.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
24.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
15.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Property: Dolserau Hall Hotel
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall
Dolserau Hall Hotel Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing