We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break in North Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Reviewed 16 March 2014

From the moment we walked in we were both made to feel really welcome by Lou and her staff,
nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel at home and feel relaxed,
our afternoon tea, with hot chocolate for us, was wonderful, sitting by the window overlooking a great view of the hills,fields and trees, reading a good collection of magazines.

We booked in for dinner in the evening and the 3 courses were sublime,the lamb was tender,the beef succulent, great chef, delicious food in lovely surroundings. You have to try the Williams pear sorbet as a starter !

Our double room was clean and quite spacious, quiet and a good nights sleep was had.

The traditional welsh breakfast in the morning was absolutely scrumptious.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip&Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for a weekend break - very relaxing. Very large room, large bed, plenty of storage, two tv's and tea and coffee making. Best part of the stay is the food. Both breakfast and dinner are just fabulous - don't ever get rid of the chef!! You just need to know that the hotel is isolated, so not much to do if you don't walk. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but room 5 is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 960JuneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After several previous stays we were concerned as the hotel had been sold to HF Holidays having been in private ownership. The personal attention could well have disappeared being now run by a large organisation. However, we were immediately reassured by finding the previous manager still in charge. Whilst odd facilities like complimentary afternoon tea had become a chargeable item all other valued aspects were still there. Dolserau Hall has an extremely hard-working and friendly staff only too keen to make guests welcome. The standard of food and service is excellent and bedrooms have everything that one could expect. Because many bookings are now aimed at activity groups individual visitors may find available dates restricted. In spite of this the hotel is still an excellent choice. Just hope that the leaky cafetiere has been replaced!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here as part of a group. We have been to a number of HF places and they are all good value. This was exceptional. A warm, friendly and welcoming house. Great staff. Clean rooms. And like other reviewers I can't praise the food too highly. Well cooked and presented and with an excellent choice. Breakfast would put many bigger hotels to shame. Three different fruit salads; a big cooked breakfast; and a cold selection as well. For the money it is amazing value. The walking nearby is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been regular visitors to Dolserau Hall for almost 15 years. Having seen recent feedback on tripadvisor we were a little apprehensive about returning to Dolserau.
We had booked a three night break in room 1 and had asked for breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. All of the food was superb both in terms of quality and choice. Afternoon tea included a very yummy selection of homamade scones, cakes and biscuits. There was an exceptional selection of vegetarian food. John Charnley cerainly knows how to put a menu together!
Breakfast is generally served until 9.00 am but guests can have a later breakfast if they wish to do so.
We had no problem making the booking. We telephoned Dolserau direct. Mags took a note of our requirements and telephoned us back later that day to confirm the booking.
HF holidays have made some changes - every business has to make changes in order to survive However the standard at Dolserau remains exceptionally high.
Lou, John and the rest of the team adopt an attitude of "you tell us what you want and if it's humanly possible, we will provide it!" . Rest assured they certainly deliver the goods. Our advice to fellow guests is please be specific about what you require. They aren't mind readers!
A big thank you to Lou, John and the team for excellent hospitality, wonderful food and great value for money. You not only met our expectations, you exceeded them!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolserauaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for a week with a walking group and Dolserau Hall had all that we needed for a great stay.
The breakfasts were very good with an enormous selection of fruit, fresh figs, sweet blackberries as well as all the fresh and prepared fruit you could ever expect to be offered. Cooked breakfasts were also very good, with meaty bacon without too much fat. For the lunch stop we had a sandwich prepared to our choice and plenty of other titbits to add to our break. Our room had a bath and walk in shower, and a hot bath after a long walk was always very welcome. Evening meals were three courses (ordered in the morning) and never failed to please us, various lamb dishes were always a favourite.
Staff were attentive and always obliging. I'm sure the manager (Louise?) could sort out any booking problems directly as I understand the hotel takes normal guests as well as those coming via HF Holidays. A local walk towards Barmouth is well worth the effort and not too hilly! One small point - there was no sherry in the room - apparently this has now been discontinued - but then, I never did like sherry particularly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ImhoSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Having been to Dolserau on a couple of previous occasions we tried to book for October 2013.
The hotel is now owned by HF Holidays whose phone was engaged when I tried (6 times). So we tried the hotel direct because we wanted to confirm a room with walk-in shower, which could not be done on any of the booking web sites.
The hotel said that HF had marked all rooms as booked on the hotels system so that booking had to be made through HF, who they would arrange to call us.
HF did call but they did not know what facilities each room had and we gave up trying to book when HF said "we do not run this as a hotel" .. "it is really for our group bookings".

Room Tip: HF Holidays central booking can't tell what facilities rooms have.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PeterJohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at Dolserau Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I have shared your feedback with our Reservations Manager to provide training to our staff and ensure that information is and can be provided about what facilities are available to customers wishing to stay at Dolserau Hall. We do hope that we can welcome you both later this year.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
3.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
22.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,525 reviews
23.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
17.7 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall
Dolserau Hall Hotel Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing