We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“We love this hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My son and I are fairly seasoned travellers and we can't speak highly enough of Dolserau Hall, its location, staff, facilities, and food. Our visit in February was our second visit to the hotel and it felt like returning to old friends. If you're looking for a quiet location that's close to the coast, the mountains, excellent walks, biking, and if you're happy to drive a bit of a distance castles, then this is a great place to make your base.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    22
    12
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
85
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My wife & I have just returned from the Dolserau Hall Hotel. The break was well deserved and was hugely complimented by the hotel itself.
1. The hotel is in a quiet wooded area . Fantastic views from all aspects.Great walks nearby with ample secure parking.
2.The staff are welcoming & very efficient without being intrusive.
3. The owners are also very helpful and very good hosts.
4.The meals are a highlight. Fantastic menus both at breakfast & dinner. The complimentary afternoon tea is Ritz like with all the cakes etc clearly being home-made.
The 3 Chefs who are employed at the hotel are a massive asset.
5.Our room was very spacious & comfortable with great views. The complimentary sherry in the room + the Molton Brown products was a nice touch.
In conclusion I suggest the Chief Execs from the main stream hotel chains take time to visit this hotel to see how excellent customer service is really done!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheifysmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We booked this hotel after reading all the reviews and because we were looking for somewhere to come where we could relax and enjoy our 4 night break. After reading some of the negative reviews we had a few concerns but decided to come with an open mind as most of the reviews were highly possitive and the hotels website showed all the rooms and we could see no picture where we wouldn't like to stay!.
We arrived early evening and were very pleased with the initial look of the hotel, the building, the surounding area were exactly what we were looking for. It has an air of tranquility. We were met at our car and greeted by a member of staff as we had been given a complementary upgraded room (nice treat, 31 the coach house) and were shown to our room after booking in. We both felt this was a nice touch and were both very pleased with the room, which over looked the gardens and the hills, a beautiful view to wake to each morning! The room was large, clean, and comfortably furnished with a lounge area as well as bedroom area. The bathroom was very large too. The TV reception was fine, perhaps could do with an upgrade but there was a note stating that they are in the process of doing this. However, this did not affect our stay as we did not go away to sit and watch TV!
The next morning at breakfast we were shown to our table. Breakfast was until 10am. The selection of fruits, pastries and cooked food available is delightful, especially the fruit! A huge variety of fresh, exotic fruit was an added bonus. All the staff were polite and cheerful. Breakfast was enjoyable each day.
We were planning on travelling around sightseeing Wales during our trip so it was nice to find that the owners left out weather details in the reception.
It was on our 3rd day that we thought we would return early to the hotel and try out the complementary afternoon tea. This was something that I had never experienced in a hotel before, and i have to say what a lovely, pleasant suprise it was. Sitting in the lounge next to the fireplace, freshly baked cakes and creamed scones and just taking in a moment to enjoy the feeling in the hotel and relax with a pot of tea! More hotels should do this! we were a little disappointed that we arrived back just after 5pm the next night to find it gone, but it was a last minute thought.
That evening we dressed for dinner in the hotel. People have made comment on the reviews that they didnt like the idea of a dress code, but all that is asked is that you dont wear trainers and i don't think it is too much to ask that people make a bit more effort than they would when they were at home. We had drinks in the bar, served with canapes and our order was taken prior to be taken through to the diningroom for our meal. I have no negative comments about the meal, a nice choice of menu and it was beautifully cooked. The cheese board was very good with a nice variety. Many people were going up for seconds! The staff service was excellent, attentive without hovering and we were the last people in the room at the end of the evening and at no time did we feel that were were being hurried out, we were also the last in the bar! We enjoyed the meal so much that we ended up staying in the hotel for evening meal the next day too.
We briefly met Tim, the owner and he was pleasant and chatty, and spent his time making sure that everyone was being looked after. The other guests were of all ages, we saw a young couple in their 20's (I am 34, my partner 45) so i didnt feel that everyone were older than us.
I believe that before you come to this hotel, you need to think about what it is that you want from a hotel. This is not the hotel to come to if you want to sit at the bar into the early hours. It is true that it sticks to the times given for breakfast and meals, but i dont feel 10am breakfast is too early or by 8.30pm for ordering the evening meal. This is a peaceful, quiet, relaxing environment, well run with all the extra touches that make it truely special.
I personally dont understand the negative reviews for this hotel, and am very suprised by them. It really was a relaxing time for us and the hotel was simply lovely. A hotel for people who enjoy and appreciate the finer things in life! I Would certainly return and recommend.

Michelle & Jonathan - Lancs & Warrington

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings, pretty hard to fault really. We booked day before and from the moment we arrived till the moment we left the staff and owners were warm, and welcoming.

Few posts mention the dinner commitment and late bar, neither of which bothered us, if you don't want dinner don't have it (we did and it was lovely), if you want a late drink there's a buzzer to call the bar staff if there not there, was never a problem for us.

One comment describes Tim (one of the owners) as 'Basil Faulty' like which we thought was grossly unfair. We didn't speak to him but him and his wife went out of their way to make sure all the guests were happy.

This hotel is all about peace and relaxation, which they do very well, we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJE1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The service in this hotel was second to none staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The classic room we had was a beautiful large room, clean with loverly crisp white sheets, a very relaxing atmosphere. The location was good for us. The food was excellent with an outstanding menu and service. We will be back. Thank you for the sherry.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We were delighted with Dolserau Hall. Beautiful surroundings and unfailing efficiency and pleasantness from all the staff. We stayed in a Principle Room which was really lovely with a superb bathroom. The food was excellent too. One of the nicest features was the complementary tea and cakes served in the afternoon - just one way in which the owners make their guests feel special. We hope to be frequent visitors!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_0f_Leisure74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just arrived back from a two night stay with Tim and Susan and we have already booked to go back for New Year. My boyfriend arranged the trip at short notice and we were lucky to have bagged the last room, which was a classic, the least expensive option available. Our room was large with fantastic views from both the bedroom and bathroom, and had a TV, two comfy chairs, wardrobes, and tea and coffee with fresh milk every day. The bed was large and really comfortable and there was plenty of room to relax. We have upgraded for our return trip, although the room we stayed in this time was perfectly adequate.

The hotel is traditional in its style and very homely. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee almost immediately whilst we waited for our room (we were early). Tim the owner came and introduced himself to us and made us feel welcome- someone compared him to Basil Fawlty which is ridiculous as he is friendly and goes out of his way to make you feel at ease.

There is a large bar area with couches and chairs and a lovely fire where you can have drinks or snacks during the day. At 3pm there are complimentary teas and coffees and a dresser is laid with cakes, biscuits, cream jam etc. Everything is home made and unbelievably good. Very naughty but very nice, and a really nice surprise for us as we were not expecting it! In the evening the waitresses or owners will come over to take your drinks orders and serve you at the tables before taking you through to the restaurant for dinner when you are ready. There is a good wine list with lots of different prices depending on what you are looking to spend.

There are four choices for each course and having eaten at a local restaurant on the second night I would highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel as the food is excellent, the atmosphere is nice, and it is quite romantic with candle lit tables. It was light when we sat down and the views outside are amazing, as are most of the views from any window in the hotel. The breakfast is also excellent with a wide variety of fruit, yoghurts, cakes, pastries, and a cooked breakfast if you want it. The hotel employs three chefs and this shows in the quality of the food.

There are lots of little touches in the hotel that make it an amazing experience, like Moulton Brown toiletries, Lindt chocolates on our table at breakfast on Easter Sunday, a wide variety of magazines in the bar (all current editions), a DVD library in case of bad weather, and lots of books to borrow. We really enjoy weekends away and this was probably one the best we've had. Tim and Susan obviously hugely enjoy what they do and it makes for a relaxing and really enjoyable stay with them. Lots of the other guests are repeat customers and there is a very friendly atmosphere at the hotel. We met some lovely people from Manchester who told us all about NYE. It sounded so good that we have booked and will no doubt be having a few drinks with them when we return.

Lastly, a stroke of genius if you are an animal lover like me! You can borrow their dog to take for a walk. We had days out planned this time but the next time we stay I will definitely be taking them up on the offer.

If you are thinking of coming here then book as you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
2.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
24.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
24.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
302 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
24.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Property: Dolserau Hall Hotel
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall
Dolserau Hall Hotel Brithdir, Dolgellau, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing