We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for both nature lovers as just-interested-One's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Certificate of Excellence
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for both nature lovers as just-interested-One's”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

À top place to stay. Excellent lodges (Free), very friendly people, excellen food in à beautifull restaurant, But specially à wonderfull surrounding with beautifull views.
Lots of (special) birds.
THE lodges are built around the lagoon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    47
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
104
224
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A wonderful place to stay if you like to enjoy nature. Service and kindness were excellent. So were the guided tours. Our lodge was perfectly clean and comfortable. We saw so many beautful animals here, both during the guided tours and when we went for a walk ourselves. This really felt like being in the middle of nature. One of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All lodges seem to be perfect and have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We loved it! You'll have to drive up there and cross the river...to be rewarded with a friendly welcome at a fantastic family run place. Rooms and food are good but that's not why you're here. Let the surrounding nature operate it's magic. Watch the birds, the leaves, the flowers, the trees, meet the caiman and the humming birds .... (watch out for mosquitos) get your eyes full of wonder and enjoy the place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kikibrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had planned to go to Tortuguero but came here instead on the advice of a friend and I'm so glad that we did! We arrived in the afternoon and Vicki greeted us with some fresh juice. We went out on the canoes & my husband fell out of his! It was a surprise but we found out that they're a bit unstable. After the excitement, we hung out with Vicki & Pablo while watching the birds. We went on all of the tours and I felt like we really learned a lot! This is a family run business and it is obvious that they love their jobs. You get to know the flora, fauna, and family while you're visiting! It was a real joy to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A great place to spend some days. Very friendly welcome, great staff with incredible knowledge of animals and plants all around. We enjoyed a jungle-tour as well as a boat trip to the Nicaraguan border. We saw plenty of animals and strange plants like "walking trees". Very great place for children too. The cabins are nice, and the nights in front of them with view at the lagoon full of caimans were incredible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrthi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It's an adventure in itself reaching Maquenque - but boy is it worth the effort! Our drive here took us down a bumpy road past miles and miles of pineapple and manioc fields. Just as we convinced ourselves that we'd arrived at the lodge, we discovered that there's an additional river crossing: we were half-punted, half-motored across the river by the silent but efficient Jason. A 200 m walk through immaculately groomed gardens brought us to our Shangri-La, where we were given an extremely warm welcome and fresh coconut water by Carlos. This experience has set our future criteria for choosing ecolodges - if you really want to get close to nature don't go anywhere unless it involves taking a small plane, a boat, a long journey down an unmade road or preferably two out of these three to get there.

As we walked through the beautifully constructed lodge building to the restaurant area it became apparent that we had arrived in paradise. A flock of orange-chinned parakeets and a technicolour assortment of other birds were tucking gleefully into bananas on the bird feeders right outside the restaurant; wood storks perched precariously in the trees beyond and purple gallinules were nesting on the lagoon edge. Although surrounded by old-growth rainforest, Maquenque sits on a lagoon so it's open to the skies and you'll see a lot of wildlife here, even if, like us, you're not wildlife-watching experts.

Maquenque is run by a close-knit family who really care about their guests. Vicky and Carlos do a double act on reception, the bar and serving meals. Vicky's husband Pablo and friend Jose-Luis are knowledgable and helpful guides. By the time we left we felt as though we'd made four new friends. The lodge has impeccable eco-credentials and gorgeous accommodation. Each bungalow has a generous bedroom with huge double bed, a smartly tiled bathroom and a private balcony overlooking the lagoon. We never quite got the hang of the solar-powered showers but we just changed our routine, showering later in the day to ensure that a cool shower was a post-hike joy rather than an early-morning shock. Food is plentiful, super-fresh, lovingly prepared and gorgeously presented.

We saw >60 species in three not-very-intensive days here. Scarlet macaws kept their distance, flying high above the forest, but we saw many other species of bird at close quarters. Kingfishers abound and the gardens are planted to attract hummingbirds. We regularly spotted coati and agoutis, saw a caiman in the lagoon, turtles on the river and an oriole snake in the forest. We heard the red-eyed tree-frogs but never quite managed to spot one. Perhaps next time...

The lodge offers a good range of activities and has more self-guided trails than we had time to explore. You can go canoeing on the river or the lagoon or take a boat trip up to the Nicaraguan border. Pablo and Jose-Luis offer a number of nature walks; we did the early-morning bird-walk around the gardens followed by a nature walk in the forest. The icing on the cake was planting an almond tree in the grounds - food for future generations of macaws and a very good excuse to go back in a few years to check up on its progress.

We can't praise Vicky, Pablo and Carlos highly enough for the wonderful service and unique atmosphere that they've created at Maquenque. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimperleyEarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Amazing place and cabins are well kept and clean. Location right amongst the rainforest and wildlife outstanding. Outstanding for birdwatching and there were caimans slipping into the water right across the water from the cabins. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable and genuinely concerned you are seeing and doing everything you want. Food was excellent as was the whole experience. Is a little off the usual tourist route and all the better for it. Highly recommended and it's part owned by local people. Out of seven stops in Costa Rica the Maquenque Eco-Lodge is top of the list and we stayed in some very nice places!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Tapada
18.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
623 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
158 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#25 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
Laguna del Lagarto Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Tapada
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pedacito de Cielo
Pedacito de Cielo
#1 of 4 in San Carlos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquenque Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquenque Eco-Lodge

Property: Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Address: 3kms del la escuela de Boca Tapada | San Carlos, Boca Tapada 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Boca Tapada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boca Tapada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maquenque Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maquenque Eco-lodge is a new 60 hectare reserve located just north of Boca Tapada, San Carlos and offers easy access to the newly created Maquenque National Wildlife Refuge, of 60.000 hectares in size. A local family, Canoa Aventura Tour Operator and a Swiss family are creating this jungle lodge to maintain and conserve wildlife habitat, while providing visitors with high quality accommodations and service in a unique framework ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Maquenque Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquenque Eco-Lodge Costa Rica/Boca Tapada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing