We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Perch and Pike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Perch and Pike
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Stoke
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed over night in this lovely village pub with our 2 dogs and were very impressed all round. Our room was spotless with some homely touches [very comfortable bed too...important] though a bit hot as the window was small.
The restaurant menu is extensive and reflects the owner's Cypriot heritage; really good to see cous cous as an accompaniment. Our small nieces also ate with us and the kitchen was able to prepare child size portions of whatever was on the main menu..the girls were very pleased to eat the same food as the adults rather than the usual fish finger style option. Good banter with friendly locals and an excellent atmosphere of a Saturday night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guacam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in this B&B with my sister at the start of a walking weekend. We received a friendly welcome from the owner. Our room was comfortable, stylish, clean and had lovely details such as the espresso machine, and the exquisitely smelling toiletries (we have since gone on to buy some they were that nice!).
We had an evening meal, and the food was just superb. It's not cheap, but worth it. Breakfast the next day was similarly delicious - fresh strawberries and yogurt, and a beautifully presented fry-up; you can taste that the food is quality, decent sausages, on-the-vine tomatoes etc. A perfect start to the walking weekend, and I would highly recommend this pub B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A friend and I spent the night after a day walking the thames path . The rooms were nicely appointed and the welcome was great. Enjoyed the evening meal and breakfast next morning set us up well for the day. It's on the ridgeway too so they understand about tired legs and people arriving later than planned.

Room Tip: Ignore my rating on the fitness centre -this is dodgy finger work and there isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A great little pub, a great warm welcome and very nice place to spend the day in the sun. Only stayed for drinks but would definitely stay for food, if the need arose. Therefore only 4 stars to be fair.
It's dog friendly too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a delight to at last after a long says walk on the Ridgeway to have the welcome, cosiness, comfort and delicious food of the Perch and Pike. It felt like home and the 3 landlords delightful. The little touches were prefect - the hand made lotions in the bathroom for example. We felt fully replenished and rested for the next days walking and we could not have even imagined such lovely stay. The bar had a lovely atmosphere with diners and many regulars from the village reflecting the popularity of the Perch and Pike.

Room Tip: Stay here if walking the Ridgeway as it was one fo our highlights of the whole Ridgeway experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was one of our stops on our Thames Path walk. Very welcoming host and the food was a pleasant surprise after some previous pubs we had stayed. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The village is very pretty and quiet. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely restaurant and pub. The food was very good as was the the service, not cheap but worth the extra. Bordering on gastro pub but with down to earth food and good ale. Recommended, lovely pub with garden etc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blatters2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Stoke
1.7 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
352 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
246 reviews
5.3 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
617 reviews
6.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perch and Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perch and Pike

Property: Perch and Pike
Address: Perch & Pike The Street | South Stoke, South Stoke RG8 0JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > South Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Stoke
Hotel Class:3 star — Perch and Pike 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perch and Pike is a stylish English country pub situated in the picturesque village of South Stoke, Oxfordshire.This flintstone inn and converted barn is home to a cosy traditional bar complete with log fires, offering a range of local ales, quality lagers and a varied and interesting wine list. Our chefs use only the finest seasonal produce, locally sourced where possible, to create the perfect dining experience, whether you want to eat in the relaxed atmosphere of the bar, in our pretty barn restaurant or al fresco on our terrace or in our garden.We want your stay with us to be something very special too, so we've created four beautfully styled ensuite bedrooms complete with all the little luxuries we think you deserve for a well earned break or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Perch and Pike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing