We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in an unspoilt area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find in an unspoilt area”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Gulf of Chiriqui area at Boca Chica is lovely and unspoilt. We were pleased we stopped here on the way throught Panama, as it was decidedly uncommercialized compared to Costa Rica later on out vacaction. Bocas del Mar Hotel was great, an oasis of comfort and style overlooking the islands of the Gulf. Water all around, great weather, and the pool area is fabulous. Staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
116
271
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The guidebooks miss most of this stunning beautiful area around Boca Chica, on the edge of the Pacific not far from David and I think thats what makes it so special. Bocas del Mar Hotel was the perfect base to explore the area as it's quite easy to reach on the mainland, opposite all the islands. We planned on staying one night on our way from Volcan to Panama City but ended up staying 3 as it was just sooo relaxing. The swimming pool is fantastic and the bungalows big and well-equipped. We also took a trip from the dock in the gardens towards the outer islands to see the whales, which had been an ambition of mine for a long time, so we took the chance while it was the "season". Overall a very comfortable hotel, friendly staff and we'd like to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This newly opened Beach resort by a Belgian couple, has it all. Beautiful views, lay-out, gardens, most luxurious and tastefully decorated cabins, wonderful swimmingpool and gorgious foods.Service is outstanding!
Bocasdelmar is situated in a sort of natural bay, surrounded by several islands on Panamas pacific coast. From the main highway towards David you have to turn off
at BocaChica. It is a 350km drive from Panama city and about an hour from David.
Pick up service is available.
Its a very good spot to undertake whale watching from, or just a peddle through nature. We had excellent meals with top quality products.
We highly recommend this place and do wish the enthusiastic owners lots of luck. Panama can put another top quality beach resort on its list.

Room Tip: There is a peaceful atmosphere all around. the cabins with a private jacuzzi are of course very spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I found this hidden gem on the internet and all the bookings and confirmations went smoothly. The welcome was warm and friendly throughout. The hotel is modern and bright and lovely views of the water all over the place where you look. The bath is amazing to soak in and looks out onto the gardens and sea beyond and there are plenty of little corners to explore in the large grounds with the tropical plants that my husband likes.; we liked it because it was almost flat and easy to get around. The food was good value and very well presented as well.

This was our second time in Panama, and we enjoyed the this area round Boca Chica in Chiriqui province area the best of all we have seen ; the chartered boat out from the hotel’s own pier took us to see the whales; ok, so we got to see some even if it was still early in the season but the dolphins on the way back finished off the day magically; you can just call a “lancha” boat and they can give you a ride to the little beaches opposite on Boca Brava and round the different coves and islands; it’s a great place for messing about on water. The Boquete coffee plantation tour is a must do (I never realized Panama had such nice coffee) , and the hotel can arrange that; it’s just about an hour and half drive away in the mountains…or nearer home the monkey sanctuary was very cute to visit!

Room Tip: To be honest, all the rooms have great views and are newly built to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickySparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing