We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Isla Palenque(Boca Chica)
US$2,035
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roxy Fishing Club(Boca Chica)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Mia Island Resort(Isla Boca Brava)
US$153
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites(David)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residencial Cervantes(David)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcala(David)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ciudad de David(David)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
505
59
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
59
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersboat tournational parkpanama cityfishdel marwhale watchingthe wait staffthe hotel offerswonderful hotelpacific coastrooms are largerestaurant staffyoga retreatoutdoor restaurantevery guestrent a kayak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at Bocas Del Mar for four nights over Thanksgiving 2012. The hotel is absolutely lovely with comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, a nice pool and very decent restaurant. The setting on the water provides great views and is very relaxing. What really impressed us, though, is the quality of service from all the management, staff in the hotel and restaurant. Everyone was equally helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay even more pleasant. The hotel also arranged for a nice boating expedition in the islands in the area, where we saw whales, went snorkeling, swimming and just enjoyed being out on the water. We would certainly come again, and will recommend the hotel to our friends and family. Best place we have stayed in a long time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

It was a pleasure to have you to stay over Thanksgiving and, on behalf of all Bocas del Mar, we thank you for your enthusiastic review. It was great that you were able to take advantage of our range of excursions that allowed you to discover the variety of natural beauty on the doorstep of the hotel.

We hope very much to see you & your family again.

With best wishes,

Bocas del Mar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Even better than the property itself is the amazing staff! We were greeted in the parking lot by Neil, who is so kind and accommodating. Everyone here goes out of their way to make sure that you are happy and feel at home. If you need anything, they take care of it!
It is a small property with modern bungalows, and beautiful landscaping. Breakfast is included, and it is really nice. Oh and the food, it's fantastic!!! It's 5 star dining! Even though this is a small resort , the prices are reasonable. The best place we have seen our ten day trip to panama!

Room Tip: Make sure you come in the daylight, the hotel can be a little hard to find.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

We are very honored to receive your comments. Everyone at the hotel works as hard as they can to respond to our clients’ needs. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant as well. We have passed your comments on to the servers and kitchen team.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a small bungalow style hotel run by a Belgium family and their Panamanian staff. Each room is overlooking the beautiful and well kept gardens and the bay. The rooms are spotless, very spacious (including a walk-in-closet..Ladies..), comfortable and very nicely decorated. Bathroom is very comfortable with seperate bath (overlooking the garden) and shower. Each room has a seperate sitting area outside. You can also relax by the nice pool.
They have a restaurant and bar. In the morning they serve a lovely breakfast. My boyfriend is a vegetarian and he really enjoyed the dinners too. Very good!
All the staff, including the Panamanians are very friendly and helpful and all speak very good English. We liked that they took the time to have a chat with us from time to time.
Tip: do the island boat tour.
If you are in the neighbourhood of Boca Chica, take this hotel, it's super!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your kind review.

It’s seems that you certainly enjoyed our guest rooms and the extra space afforded by the walk-in closet. The hotel was designed by the Belgian owners to reflect what they most enjoyed on vacation and we’re glad the hotel’s Panamanian hospitality with hints of Europe was to your taste. If you are in the neighborhood again, we’d be delighted to see you.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Traveling through Bocas Chica, we stumbled upon this gorgeous hotel. Views over the bay to die for, fabulous pool, and our room was just lovely.
The staff were really helpful, and amazing food and service.
What an incredible find, this is a peaceful piece of paradise.
John & Dee
Longboard Inn

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longboard_Nuns_Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Gerente at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear John & Dee,

We're delighted to receive your review and we thank you for your kind words. We're pleased that you found us on your journey through Boca Chica and that we met your expectations.

As you are hoteliers, we know you will be rigourous reviewers of where you stay on vacation, and that makes us even more proud to receive your great comments.

Kind regards from all the Bocas del Mar team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I spent a few nights at Bocas del Mar Hotel at the beginning of October. As soon as we arrived, we knew we had found a very special place and rather than moving on to the Westin, we extended our stay at the Bocas del Mar. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. There is lots of drawer space. We stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites overlooking the bay and it was well worth it. The service was outstanding and everybody spoke English. The food was excellent, too. We were there during whale season and Neil, the GM, set us up with a boat charter. Although it was the tail end of the season,we saw lots of them. Then we stopped at a little island where the people have a tame Cayman and feed it for entertainment. Finally we went to a large white sand beach and kicked back for a while. Great day! The pool area is beautiful and there are lots of lounge chairs. Double swings are strategically placed throughout the property so you can watch the sunset, or just sit down and stare into space. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Spring for the jacuzzi suites.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for review.

The whole team is extremely appreciative of your comments and very happy you had a pleasant stay with us here on the edge of the Pacific Ocean. We’re glad you found our rooms so comfortable - they were specially designed to provide a lot of storage space for guests with the added extra of a walk-in closet.

We’re also pleased to read you enjoyed the activities we offer. Our beach-hopping excursion is the perfect way to discover the Gulf of Chiriqui Marine National Park in all its unspoiled beauty!

Thank you once again for choosing Bocas del Mar Hotel and we do hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards, the Bocas del Mar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews