We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bocas del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

During our Panama roundtrip for 2 weeks we stayed in Bocas del Mar for 3 nights. And these 3 nights can be summarized in one word: excellent! As well as the (personal) service offered by the management couple and the Belgium owners. Both the room and bathroom were spacious, clean and very modern. The pool and sun beds were perfect. And the food and beverage during dinner were great, while we enjoyed the constant view on the Pacific. We also enjoyed the (well priced) boat trip: just the two of us with two staff members offering us fantastic views on crocodiles, whales and small beautiful islands.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Gerente at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your opinión and the very nice comments.
Hopefully we will see you back again, it was really a pleasure for us to have you as guests.
Greetings from the
Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    52
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
110
251
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed three nights at Bocas del Mar with our 1,5 years old boy. The hotel provided a baby travel cot and had a babychair at the restaurant. The garden is well maintained and even has a small playground for the kids, near the restaurant.
The bungalows look really nice, super clean, with a huge bed and great bath and shower. The view of the sea from our bungalow was marvelous! And the pool is big enough to actually swim, not too cold and with a less deep part for the kids. The chairs are really comfortable, especially with the views.
And then I still need to tell about the restaurant... The breakfast is included and filling; the lunch is a full meal or snack; the diner is fanatastic! After we've put our boy to sleep, we went for a quiet meal and loved every bite. The staff is really nice too.
Normally we stay in more basic hotels or cabanas, so these few nights felt as a real treat.
Hopefully we'll be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Gerente at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you a lot for your positive and nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as visitors. We gave your feedback to our stuff in general and as well a special thanks to our kitchen.

We hope to see you back, even better if it would be soon than one day.

Thank you again

The Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneida, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Tremendous in every way! Very cool picturesque setting. Do a lot, touring the National Park, Fishing or hang out on the property in peaceful serene luxury, either works. Bungalows are unique! Gorgeous privacy. The restaurant cuisine was superb. Neil and his Staff are "THE BEST". They make you feel as if you've known them for years. They think of every detail to make your stay special for you. I have traveled everywhere, all continents, in my life and Hotel Bocas del Mar is a TRUE FIVE STAR establishment that is a cut above! We can't wait to for a return trip!!! William Hardy

Room Tip: All rooms and locations are good. I don't think they have much difference except for families vs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

A friend and I just returned from a two-night stay at Bocas del Mar. Both of us had been experiencing stress in our lives, and we found this to be the perfect place to unwind. The rooms are serene and beautiful, as is the site, and the food and drinks are delicious and reasonably priced. Particular kudos go to Neil and his staff for their excellent, unobtrusive service. Our every need was anticipated and attended to with a smile. We fully enjoyed our short stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are very pleased to receive your kind review of our hotel and glad that you found the relaxation you needed. It was a delight to take care of you and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

What a great stay, room were great all with fantastic views large room million tv channels mini bar ,

Bathroom looks like it could be in a magazine, tub and a multiple head shower. Plenty of storage for clothes

I stayed only 3nights and was gone fishing during day at COME FISH PANAMA so I can't comment on any daily activities other than the beautiful

The food was fantastic, I come to panama to eat and catch fish so I can only comment on there seafood and it was great, we brought fish we caught there and they prepared it any way we wanted , including cutting it up for me to et sushi befor dinner, the seafood soup great. I am currently looking for something close in Panama City..
Full bar there but ia was too tired or dehydrated to drink but the tropical drinks I watched them make looked great
Besides the great rooms and fantastic food what makes it 5 star is the manager Neil he is like an orchestra director making sure everything works fine and is in tune. Washed our fishing clothes for us, and really went overboard to make sure our stay was perfect.. And he does that with each and every guest.
Thank you Neil for made our fishing trip of a life time even that much better

If you are traveling to boca chica highly recommend this hotel you won't be disappointed


Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Pete,

Thank you for your great review.

All the staff work hard together to give our guests the best experience possible. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.

We enjoy welcoming fishing guests, such as yourselves, as we are on the edge of some of the most famous fishing grounds; the morning boat pick-up at our own dock is very convenient.

There are also a good range of boat excursions, island trips and land-based activities nearby to explore this beautiful area for those who don’t go fishing.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

tucked away in Boca Chica Hotel Bocas del Mar offered modern accommodations, relaxing atmosphere was very inviting and friendly.. The meals superb.. we were able to schedule a boat tour along the mangroves Neil the manager and Adolfo took care of every detail of our boat ride a scenic tour complete with bird guide as there were various types of birds that live in the mangrove..our boat tour guide would stop along the way and provide us with drinks and a snack along the way with relaxing music. What can i say every detail of our stay at Bocas del Mar was complete. Thank you Adolfo, Neil, Jorge and Justin we had a wonderful time and hope to be back soon. This place ROCKS!!! They cater to your every need to make sure your stay is comfortable the view of the Caribbean was a plus with a bench where we sat and enjoyed our morning coffee.. thumbs up

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
All the team are very grateful for your gracious comments and positive review of our hotel. It means a lot to us to receive feedback in this way.

We hope you don’t mind us clarifying, for the benefit of future guests, that we overlook the Pacific Ocean, rather than the Caribbean.

Our relaxing mangrove ‘sundown’ tour is new for this year and has proved a big hit with guests, contrasting perfectly with the adventure of our morning ‘Discovery’ trip to the Gulf of Chiriqui Pacific islands.

Thanks again for the thumbs up!

Best wishes,
Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Chica, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

After leaving Boquete, we headed down to to Bocas del Mar. This is a new property and very well appointed. The room was very large (hard european style beds), & bathroom was very nice. We took the $70 per person boat ride to several islands which was the highlight of our stsy. A boxed lunch costs $12 pp extra and I feel it should be included. Food here is expensive. We headed over to the Seagull Cove Lodge one night for a very nice, intimate dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fixupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. We’re delighted you had such a good time & you enjoyed the excursion.

To reply to a couple of your comments:-

Our beds have the best orthopedic mattresses available to buy.

Taking into account the service we aim to provide throughout the hotel (average one staff member for every two guests), our desire to use fresh ingredients & our stunning waterfront location overlooking jungle islands, we are confident that our food menus are good value and that they have something for everyone’s budget. We have a varied a la carte menu, with salads, appetizers, pastas, meat dishes, fish of the day & home made desserts at different prices.

Menu items currently start at 5-6 USD and, even at the very highest end of our menu, for mouth-watering fresh special whole lobster dishes or best quality beef steaks, our top prices are typically only around 20 USD. And please don’t forget that all our guests receive a complimentary a la carte full American-style breakfast each morning, setting you up perfectly for the day’s adventures or the day’s relaxation!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
The Hotel Bocas del Mar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
Roxy Fishing Club and Hotel
#4 of 5 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing