We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nites with our teenage daughter and my husband's brother and his wife had a second room. As everyone else says, the rooms are amazing. Our room had 2 queen beds and also had a small couch that could pull out into an extra twin bed if needed. The other room that we saw was the same set-up except it had one king bed and a small seating area with 2 chairs instead of the pull out couch. Loved that we could retreat to the room when things got too hot and we could depend on the air conditioned space to cool us down.

We spent every day by the pool. It was beautiful and cool and refreshing. The chaise lounges poolside are of very high caliber and quite comfortable. The restaurant was very good and we enjoyed the excellent service that we received there. Also, we commend the chef/staff as we had many a great meal there. An additional thanks to the chef for preparing the red snapper that hubby caught one day. It was nice to see that served up for dinner that same night.

We took a short 5 minute boat ride over to Hotel Boca Brava and had lunch one day just for a change of pace. While I enjoyed our lunch and the service was friendly, the hotel appears to be at a much different price point than Hotel Bocas del Mar. I think they must cater to backpackers and those desiring a much more affordable accommodation. I'll take Hotel Bocas, thank you very much.

We also walked over to Seagullcove Lodge and met some really nice people over there, including the owner who is originally from the states. We had a great lunch and had a look around the place. We had looked at staying there originally but our teenage daughter picked Hotel Bocas because of the beautiful pool. I think hubby and I may have enjoyed a night or two at Seagullcove as it seemed very private and had only 5 or 6 casitas. In the end, however, Hotel Bocas was the right fit for us and we appreciated it's high end boutique hotel ambiance. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms that are closer to the pool and restaurant although they are building a new pool...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bocas del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

"" OUTSTANDING in Every Way "" What a Wonderful Resort to Visit !! You can See from the Pictures how Beautiful The Resort and Surrounding Areas are..Very Friendly and Helpful Staff,Management Team,and Owners..The Owners,Husband and Wife,Are Excellent Hosts,and Should Be Proud of the Fantastic Hotel-Resort they have Created..Take Boat sightseeing Tours,Whale Watching,and Snorkeling in Turquoise Waters,White sand Beaches with Fresh Coconuts..Also Great Fishing..We are Planning a Return Trip.. Can't Wait !! Jim Reiley

Room Tip: All Rooms are Great,but Lower # are Closer to,Bar,Restaurant,Pool,Boat Dock
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

During our Panama roundtrip for 2 weeks we stayed in Bocas del Mar for 3 nights. And these 3 nights can be summarized in one word: excellent! As well as the (personal) service offered by the management couple and the Belgium owners. Both the room and bathroom were spacious, clean and very modern. The pool and sun beds were perfect. And the food and beverage during dinner were great, while we enjoyed the constant view on the Pacific. We also enjoyed the (well priced) boat trip: just the two of us with two staff members offering us fantastic views on crocodiles, whales and small beautiful islands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Gerente at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for your opinión and the very nice comments.
Hopefully we will see you back again, it was really a pleasure for us to have you as guests.
Greetings from the
Hotel Bocas del Mar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed three nights at Bocas del Mar with our 1,5 years old boy. The hotel provided a baby travel cot and had a babychair at the restaurant. The garden is well maintained and even has a small playground for the kids, near the restaurant.
The bungalows look really nice, super clean, with a huge bed and great bath and shower. The view of the sea from our bungalow was marvelous! And the pool is big enough to actually swim, not too cold and with a less deep part for the kids. The chairs are really comfortable, especially with the views.
And then I still need to tell about the restaurant... The breakfast is included and filling; the lunch is a full meal or snack; the diner is fanatastic! After we've put our boy to sleep, we went for a quiet meal and loved every bite. The staff is really nice too.
Normally we stay in more basic hotels or cabanas, so these few nights felt as a real treat.
Hopefully we'll be back one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Gerente at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you a lot for your positive and nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as visitors. We gave your feedback to our stuff in general and as well a special thanks to our kitchen.

We hope to see you back, even better if it would be soon than one day.

Thank you again

The Bocas del Mar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Tremendous in every way! Very cool picturesque setting. Do a lot, touring the National Park, Fishing or hang out on the property in peaceful serene luxury, either works. Bungalows are unique! Gorgeous privacy. The restaurant cuisine was superb. Neil and his Staff are "THE BEST". They make you feel as if you've known them for years. They think of every detail to make your stay special for you. I have traveled everywhere, all continents, in my life and Hotel Bocas del Mar is a TRUE FIVE STAR establishment that is a cut above! We can't wait to for a return trip!!! William Hardy

Room Tip: All rooms and locations are good. I don't think they have much difference except for families vs...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A friend and I just returned from a two-night stay at Bocas del Mar. Both of us had been experiencing stress in our lives, and we found this to be the perfect place to unwind. The rooms are serene and beautiful, as is the site, and the food and drinks are delicious and reasonably priced. Particular kudos go to Neil and his staff for their excellent, unobtrusive service. Our every need was anticipated and attended to with a smile. We fully enjoyed our short stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We are very pleased to receive your kind review of our hotel and glad that you found the relaxation you needed. It was a delight to take care of you and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a great stay, room were great all with fantastic views large room million tv channels mini bar ,

Bathroom looks like it could be in a magazine, tub and a multiple head shower. Plenty of storage for clothes

I stayed only 3nights and was gone fishing during day at COME FISH PANAMA so I can't comment on any daily activities other than the beautiful

The food was fantastic, I come to panama to eat and catch fish so I can only comment on there seafood and it was great, we brought fish we caught there and they prepared it any way we wanted , including cutting it up for me to et sushi befor dinner, the seafood soup great. I am currently looking for something close in Panama City..
Full bar there but ia was too tired or dehydrated to drink but the tropical drinks I watched them make looked great
Besides the great rooms and fantastic food what makes it 5 star is the manager Neil he is like an orchestra director making sure everything works fine and is in tune. Washed our fishing clothes for us, and really went overboard to make sure our stay was perfect.. And he does that with each and every guest.
Thank you Neil for made our fishing trip of a life time even that much better

If you are traveling to boca chica highly recommend this hotel you won't be disappointed


Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your great review.

All the staff work hard together to give our guests the best experience possible. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.

We enjoy welcoming fishing guests, such as yourselves, as we are on the edge of some of the most famous fishing grounds; the morning boat pick-up at our own dock is very convenient.

There are also a good range of boat excursions, island trips and land-based activities nearby to explore this beautiful area for those who don’t go fishing.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
The Hotel Bocas del Mar team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
202 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Resort at Isla Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Club
Roxy Fishing Club
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
42 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
21.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range: £110 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing