We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roxy Fishing Club(Boca Chica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Mia Island Resort(Isla Boca Brava)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Isla Palenque(Boca Chica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pacific Bay Resort(Punta Bejuco)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
504
59
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
59
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersboat tournational parkpanama cityfishdel marwhale watchingthe wait staffthe hotel offerswonderful hotelpacific coastrooms are largerestaurant staffyoga retreatoutdoor restaurantevery guestrent a kayak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Everything was great...no complaints.
The weather was perfect, the food is great, the pool was amazing, room was warm and open, the bathroom was luxurious.
The wait staff at the restaurant is so nice and friendly.
Drinks need to be bigger...then again drinks are never big enough.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rent a car Go on the boat trip
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayzthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your 5-star review!!

It was a pleasure having you to stay at Bocas del Mar. Everyone works hard to please every guest and met their expectations. We will work on those bigger drinks, although you'll then need to come back to see them!! We send you warm greetings and it was really nice having you here.

Best Wishes and see you soon!

Hotel Bocas del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After researching all of Panama to find the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary, we found it here! I can't imagine there is a prettier hotel anywhere in the country and the service was fantastic. We stayed in the most private room on the property, deluxe water edge bungalow 12. It was completely private and a distance from the main building with a view to die for. It is well furnished and includes a nice patio table and spectacular vista view of the surrounding water from the point. We could hear howler monkees on the island across the water and watch boats pass.
The resort had a nice mix of couples, families and fisherman who rotated in and out throughout our 5 day stay. Everyone got together in the second infinity pool above our unit to review their day. Everyone was doing different things and all had happiness in common. There were guests from all over the world but more from the US than other places we stayed and the resort staff all speaks English well which was a great change for us from the other areas we had visited.
We spent half our time inshore fishing and half taking trips to the beautiful white sand beaches on the islands. The resort made all the arrangements for us with water taxis and local fisherman.
We had a car and it was really easy to access the resort from David, about an hour. From the Pan American Highway about 20 mins. Boca Chica is a cute tiny town with a small grocery for supplies. We also took an hour drive one afternoon to the beach at Las Lajas, which is a huge beach with surfing size waves.
The restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced, we ate all of our meals there. Every day had special and different side dishes. I had great local lobster twice. The wait staff were all incredible and took special care of us. They made our anniversary celebration one we will never forget.
I highly recommend Bocas Del Mar. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed and the best room we have ever had.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite 12 is the most private room on the property if you are seeking romance.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

The whole team would like to thank you for your review and positive comments, which are much appreciated.

We’re glad you found the mix of guests interesting and that you enjoyed our marvelous new upper infinity pool. We were also very pleased to share your anniversary with you. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Hotel Bocas del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and wouldn't change a thing! The location is beautiful, the bungalows are immaculate and gorgeous and the food is great. The managers Lara and Alberto are FABULOUS! They are so friendly, know each guest, and do whatever they can to to help you enjoy your stay whether it's arranging excursions or just letting you relax in peace. We also really enjoyed speaking with Carlos and Diana (sp?) in the restaurant, learning more about the area and the country. There are only 16 bungalows so the pools/restaurant were never crowded and we got to know several of the other guests.

We took 3 excursions: sunset mangrove cruise, discovery tour and a trip to Isla Secas...all were great. We especially liked the trips to postcard perfect beaches with great snorkeling and very few other people. We also kayaked to a nearby island and saw howler monkeys in the trees.

We flew into David and then drove back to Panama City; both were relatively easy options (once we found the unmarked domestic airport in Panama City!).

Hotel Bocas del Mar is a perfect place to explore the beauty of the Panamania coast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the higher the number, the higher the view, though also the longer the walk. We were in #5 and it was great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Janelle,

Hello from Panama and our little Paradise!!

Thank you for your 5-star review. It was a pleasure having you and your husband at Bocas del Mar Hotel and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful and unique surroundings of the Gulf of Chiriquí. We all send you a huge hello!!

Best Wishes,

Hotel Bocas del Mar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a terrific stay in Bocas Del Mar. The location is truly unique, the staff and management are really helpful and friendly, the food is excellent and the rooms and setting are absolutely wonderful! In spite of an earlier review, the airconditioning functioned perfectly. We stayed in lodge 17, and although it is located on the hill, it's quite worth the hike. We had an amazing view over the bay, a beautiful infinity-pool and a personal hot-tub at our disposal.
We took the sunset cruise which was absolutely a tremendous little trip, with lots of exotic birds in a breathtaking and romantic setting.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreeperemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are all glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, our staff and our unique evening sunset trip!!

It was a pleasure to had you in our little piece of Paradise and tranquility. Many thanks, and see you soon!!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Bocas del Mar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Forget the rest stay at the best in Boca Chica Panama. Rooms wonderful, food excellent and the staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Room 16 is at the top end of the property but is well worth the walk up the hill.

Room Tip: Room #16 has a great ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We enjoyed having you to stay and hope you can repeat this time next year!?

Best wishes

The Hotel Bocas del Mar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews