We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls, MN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile



We had such an excellent stay, it was hard to leave!
From the booking process on, we were treated very well and this resort went above our expectations. We really felt like welcomed guests and were very happy with stay.
We could not image what to expect at the end of our long, bumpy drive on the not so perfect Panamanian roads. But we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful location and by what we found in this resort.
This is a newer place, with a comfortable, private feeling layout. Once all the plants and trees grow a bit more, it will be quite lush! But as it is, the gardens & grounds are already very pretty.
The cleverly designed bungalows all face the water & have lovely views. Inside the they are clean, spacious & well appointed. The windows are tinted and seem to help keep the rooms more private & cooler. The AC is great on hot afternoons but we enjoyed sleeping at night with the windows open (all screened) with the ceiling fan on. For those that like to sleep late, there are floor to ceiling black-out curtains. Our room had a television, a mini bar, a huge closet, a tub & a shower, a sitting area, a writing desk as well as an out-door patio with table & chairs. The king sized bed was amazingly comfortable as were the pillows and we slept very well.
Breakfast was included with the price of our room and was always delicious & plentiful. Coffee, tea, toast with jam, fruit juice and eggs cooked to order. In fact, this restaurant was one of the best we experienced on our entire month long stay in Panama! There was a good variety to choose from and food & staff were always excellent, especially Diana & Carlos.
There is a young Spanish couple Lara & Alberto managing & care-taking in the owners absence and they were always very attentive & super helpful. They came around at meal times to mingle and to make sure that all was going well with everyone's stay.
We did go on the sunset, bird watching, evening boat ride (which was wow beautiful) as well as the discovery snorkeling tour which was also very nice. The boat divers are very knowledgable & accommodating.
There are spa services available and I had an in room mani-pedi which wasn't my favorite, but I hear her massages are excellent and will definitely try one next time.
The pools were great, always clean & refreshing. A perfect area to relax to take sun or to sit under one of the huge umbrellas to read a good book or have a nap.
They are making a mini golf back behind the parking lot, which is kinda funny, but hey, we're game, next time we'll do that too.

We highly recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Hotel Bocas Del Mar staff for making our stay so perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Gattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Wow!! Such a nice review! Many thanks for all your pleasant words, and for taking the time to review all aspects of the hotel.

The restaurant is a great experience and it’s at the heart of our hotel, so we always try to bring the best products, staff and smiles to your table. We are really happy to read that it was one of the best dining experiences during your holidays in Panama.

The sunset trip is a refreshing, calm and romantic time through the mangroves. Perfect to relax, see the wild birds and enjoy a drink while the sky turns red and orange.

Our staff; everyone tries hard each day to give our guests the best service, opening our hearts and showing some of the famous Panamanian friendliness

Muchas gracias from all our team!!

Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
274
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had the wonderful good fortune of staying at the Bocas Del Mar in April of 2014. Wow. Beautiful and unspoiled setting. Get here while it is still unspoiled and uncrowded. Getting here was, um, what we call in our family "an Adventure". We stopped at the entrance thinking that we had been taken. it looked like a failed and abandoned construction site. We turned in anyway. The 'road' into the resort is under construction, very very steep, single lane and gravel except for two strips of concrete intended and needed for traction, and to keep the gravel in place. Let me describe it this way, I would be unable to walk up or down either of the concrete paths, they are simply too steep. But OMG worth all the fear and trepidation I may have had on the drive in. We were only there for 48 hours of heaven. We had two lovely rooms. Beds were hard as hard gets. I LOVE hard beds, the DH HATES hard beds. So one of us slept great. Rooms have floor to ceiling windows that are mirrored outside so one cannot see in during the day. Kind of freaky taking a shower like this, but really no one can see in, but you do want to pull the curtains in the evening. We never wanted to leave. We did not have time to partake of the spa services, but we did take a fantastic boat ride to snorkel and and to have a picnic on 2 different beaches. 2 of our party have major sea sickness issues but the water here is really calm in the morning and there was, mercifully, no sea sickness. Staff was gracious, nice, kind, polite, and the closest we got to Panamanians. The resort is isolated. There is a tiny town of Boca Chica. I think there were two establishments there, bar/hotel, but I wasn't really paying attention. There were several large yachts moored in the bay.
The food was exquisite. Breakfast was a huge plate of fresh fruit cut up, toast, juice and coffee and that was delivered before we ordered. Dinners were outstanding, food and service. We had a "typical" Panamanian dish of beef with onions and sweet peppers. When I was told this dish is often also eaten for breakfast the next day, I could have had this for breakfast. It was soo good. My DS said the Belgian Waffle was the best dessert he has every had anywhere. This from a child who was on 6 continents before age 11.
Would I go back? Yes, in a heartbeat.
The view is pristine, breathtaking, relaxing and soul filling. We sat at the pool and read alot of books. We just did not have time to take the kayaks out for a spin in the bay. Would have been fantastic.
The weather is HOT and HUMID. But NO BUGS! this is from ME, the bug magnet.
Not handicap accessible or friendly. Steps everywhere and not expected or 'marked'. Sidewalks that are beautifully paved and have small stones artistically placed in the surface maybe great for physically able. This is Panama, it is not ADA or even thinking about it. The staff may be child friendly but the facilities are not. There is a very nice playground for children, not gated. There is a wonderful pool with a shallow depth area which falls off directly into the deep 5 foot, not gated. if you bring small children, you will be watching them like a hawk the entire time. The grounds overlook the bay and has very steep drop off to the sea. There is no beach! However there are fabulous beaches you can have all to yourself if you take a boat ride to the many islands outside the bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaM549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback! All our team are very happy to hear that you had a good stay.

Our little piece of paradise is still unspoiled and it offers the chance to have the most peaceful and relaxing vacation while enjoying some of the best views of the Gulf of Chiriqui. The Discovery trip in our boat is always fun and exciting and we are glad that you enjoyed visiting the islands.

The restaurant & verandah is a nice venue to enjoy the views while you are having breakfast and a beautiful place for the sunset while having an aperitif, cocktail or dinner. Chef is always willing to offer a good variety of fresh products, vegetables and tropical fruits, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to review it.

We are working hard on the main entrance at the moment. We will be offering a more accessible road to our hotel so we are currently finishing repairing it and it will be ready very soon! .

Gracias.

See you soon!!

The Hotel Bocas del Mar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stunning location and hotel. The first impression when driving thru the entrance is average due to the rocky pathway and due to the on going construction. However, as we settle in, the construction is not bothersome at all and not visible. The location is on the edge of boca chica and the birds and waves are the only sounds that fill the day.
We stayed in the best suite and the amenities were perfect. TV with thousands of channels, large bathroom with rain shower and view on the sea. The suite has a semi private swimming pool - amazing view. And all recently constructed.

The restaurant offers on ok menu. service very friendly.

Hotel offers a boat tour for 4h - going to 2 islands with snorkelling and bathing - pretty worth it.

Room Tip: Select suite 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budapest4Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other TripAdvisor users.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Premier suite, the views & our new upper infinity swimming pool.

For the information of future guests, we are currently enhancing the hotel entrance driveway, which is a short term project. As you mentioned this does not effect guests in any way.

Kind Regards from all our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Everything was great...no complaints.
The weather was perfect, the food is great, the pool was amazing, room was warm and open, the bathroom was luxurious.
The wait staff at the restaurant is so nice and friendly.
Drinks need to be bigger...then again drinks are never big enough.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rent a car Go on the boat trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayzthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review!!

It was a pleasure having you to stay at Bocas del Mar. Everyone works hard to please every guest and met their expectations. We will work on those bigger drinks, although you'll then need to come back to see them!! We send you warm greetings and it was really nice having you here.

Best Wishes and see you soon!

Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After researching all of Panama to find the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary, we found it here! I can't imagine there is a prettier hotel anywhere in the country and the service was fantastic. We stayed in the most private room on the property, deluxe water edge bungalow 12. It was completely private and a distance from the main building with a view to die for. It is well furnished and includes a nice patio table and spectacular vista view of the surrounding water from the point. We could hear howler monkees on the island across the water and watch boats pass.
The resort had a nice mix of couples, families and fisherman who rotated in and out throughout our 5 day stay. Everyone got together in the second infinity pool above our unit to review their day. Everyone was doing different things and all had happiness in common. There were guests from all over the world but more from the US than other places we stayed and the resort staff all speaks English well which was a great change for us from the other areas we had visited.
We spent half our time inshore fishing and half taking trips to the beautiful white sand beaches on the islands. The resort made all the arrangements for us with water taxis and local fisherman.
We had a car and it was really easy to access the resort from David, about an hour. From the Pan American Highway about 20 mins. Boca Chica is a cute tiny town with a small grocery for supplies. We also took an hour drive one afternoon to the beach at Las Lajas, which is a huge beach with surfing size waves.
The restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced, we ate all of our meals there. Every day had special and different side dishes. I had great local lobster twice. The wait staff were all incredible and took special care of us. They made our anniversary celebration one we will never forget.
I highly recommend Bocas Del Mar. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed and the best room we have ever had.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite 12 is the most private room on the property if you are seeking romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
The whole team would like to thank you for your review and positive comments, which are much appreciated.

We’re glad you found the mix of guests interesting and that you enjoyed our marvelous new upper infinity pool. We were also very pleased to share your anniversary with you. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Hotel Bocas del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and wouldn't change a thing! The location is beautiful, the bungalows are immaculate and gorgeous and the food is great. The managers Lara and Alberto are FABULOUS! They are so friendly, know each guest, and do whatever they can to to help you enjoy your stay whether it's arranging excursions or just letting you relax in peace. We also really enjoyed speaking with Carlos and Diana (sp?) in the restaurant, learning more about the area and the country. There are only 16 bungalows so the pools/restaurant were never crowded and we got to know several of the other guests.

We took 3 excursions: sunset mangrove cruise, discovery tour and a trip to Isla Secas...all were great. We especially liked the trips to postcard perfect beaches with great snorkeling and very few other people. We also kayaked to a nearby island and saw howler monkeys in the trees.

We flew into David and then drove back to Panama City; both were relatively easy options (once we found the unmarked domestic airport in Panama City!).

Hotel Bocas del Mar is a perfect place to explore the beauty of the Panamania coast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the higher the number, the higher the view, though also the longer the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Janelle,

Hello from Panama and our little Paradise!!

Thank you for your 5-star review. It was a pleasure having you and your husband at Bocas del Mar Hotel and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful and unique surroundings of the Gulf of Chiriquí. We all send you a huge hello!!

Best Wishes,

Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a terrific stay in Bocas Del Mar. The location is truly unique, the staff and management are really helpful and friendly, the food is excellent and the rooms and setting are absolutely wonderful! In spite of an earlier review, the airconditioning functioned perfectly. We stayed in lodge 17, and although it is located on the hill, it's quite worth the hike. We had an amazing view over the bay, a beautiful infinity-pool and a personal hot-tub at our disposal.
We took the sunset cruise which was absolutely a tremendous little trip, with lots of exotic birds in a breathtaking and romantic setting.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreeperemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBocasdelMar, Manager at Hotel Bocas del Mar, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are all glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, our staff and our unique evening sunset trip!!

It was a pleasure to had you in our little piece of Paradise and tranquility. Many thanks, and see you soon!!

Kind Regards,

Hotel Bocas del Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
3.3 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
21.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Mar

Property: Hotel Bocas del Mar
Address: | Gulf of Chiriqui, Boca Chica, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bocas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bocas Del Mar, in Boca Chica, is a boutique hotel with modern, luxury features. In a privileged oceanside location on the mainland, it is perfectly positioned for a completely relaxing vacation. We were TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award Winners in 2016 for the Top Hotel for Service in Panama. Our focus is on quality customer service and attention to detail. We have 20 large contemporary-style guest bungalows that are set in tropical gardens right alongside the glistening blue water of the Gulf of Chiriqui. Open your drapes each morning and the Pacific Ocean is there to greet you! Choose from several room types; from our spacious king or queen bed bungalows through to the exceptional Premier Suite. There's a gourmet restaurant & bar on site and we have not one but TWO stunning infinity-style pools to bathe in. There is also a small beach, except at high tide, and we have our own dock to head to more local beaches via water taxi or excursion boat - we are opposite the beautiful islands of the Gulf of Chiriqui and have a full ocean and land trip program. Plus a massage studio (advance reservation required). Just 5 minutes by car or watertaxi from Boca Chica village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bocas Del Mar Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing