We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely managers and staff, exquisite grounds, very comfortable romantic cottage accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seagull Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, lovely managers and staff, exquisite grounds, very comfortable romantic cottage accommodation.”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at Seagullcove Lodge while exploring Boca Chica.
A little difficult to find...but well worth it! (Take the Horconcitos turnoff from the PanAmerican Highway-we blew right by the first time!)
The lodge was very beautiful...lovely private cottage accommodation with beautiful views from each. Located on a steep hillside overlooking ocean and private dock below. (Note: easy to walk down in the heat--a little tougher to walk back up, so stop and rest on the level areas!)
Excellent meals prepared for you at onsite restaurant, along with friendly little bar onsite.
Excellent fishing (boats will pick you up from dock below)...cook will prepare your catch for you as well which is wonderful! Lovely dinner ambience with candlelight and views from open air dining room.
When not fishing or lounging, take a drive over to the howler monkey refuge...great experience.
Beautiful sunsets and even better sunrise! Gorgeous flowers on grounds-very well looked after.
Nice small pool to cool off with a cold Balboa or Panamanian rum!
Would highly recommend staying at Seagullcove Lodge.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. Rooms have AC, and small porch to sit out on in the warm e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesjourney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Seagull cove, Boca chica April 2012 4 nights
Unless you want damage to your car it is best to hire a 4 WD to get to this place as it is at the end of a 1 KM drive made of large sharp rocks(no proper road). Once you make it through you are treated to fine views from the dining room in the main house before being escorted to your individual detached lodge set into the steep hillside (there are 4 or 5 of them on the property of which I think all have views bar one). Sue the owner as well as the managers Avril and Derek were all really nice as were the waiting staff, chef and maids. The rooms were everything you might expect clean well appointed with hot powerful water, sat tv and air con. Note there was no fridge which meant if you wanted a cold beer you had to buy them from the restaurant at $2 a can (30c in the local supermarkets).

This was our first stop of our 2 week tour around Panama so were initially impressed. However after our travels around Panama in retrospect we found this place a little pricey in comparison to the rest of panama. We paid $165 a night for bed and breakfast but expect to pay extra for everything including taking out their otherwise unused canoes or paddle boards ($8 per hour each)!

On the upside the breakfast was very good but we did prefer to eat dinner out at the only other restaurant around (hotel boca brava on a neighboring island - a $3 per person boat ride away) as we felt the selection which included fresh fish was much better there. Despite being located at a fishing village the lack of fresh fish offered by seagull cove was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings on hudson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Loved this place. I was travelling alone for first time in Panama. I cannot wait to bring my husband! The owner, Sue, is delightful and anxious to please. It cannot be missed. Easy to find but far away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a beautiful spot! Wonderful people. Great food. Amazing rooms. Fabulous view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea Gull Cove Lodge in February, 2012 and were delighted with the location (beautiful), the accomodations, the food ( breakfast is made just for you and delicious), and the staff (most important). The Lodge was designed and built by an Italian architect but is now owned by an American couple from Portland, Oregon and managed by Avril and Derrick who were originally from South Africa.

All were so gracious. If you have read the other reviews then you know this is a wonderful spot. We came here from Panama City where we had stayed for a few days and this was the perfecr spot to begin the "wind down." Derrick was kind enough to take us out in one of the boats to explore the area, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Go and enjoy..oh, and a favor..if you go, can you bring a reamer for the limes. Marcello works very hard to make wonderful mojitos and a reamer would make his life so much easier!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you like fantastic accommodation - your own bungalow looking out to the ocean, spotlessly clean - wonderful hosts Derick and Avril and really good food - this is the only place to stay in Boca Chica.
Yes - there are 130 stairs to the Tiki Hut on the pier - a very good way to wear off the great food and drinks - and it is a really nice walk.

Room Tip: All bungalows have the same great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Seagullcove Lodge is not to be missed if you are visiting Panama. There you will experience, as I did, friendly hosts, Avril and Derrick, amazing food, breathtaking views, impeccable grounds and gardens, fresh ocean breezes, swimming beach, delightful cabins....and the best night sleep ever!
And to top it off, they are sailors (sailors are good folk by nature!) and will take you on a private excursion in some of the most beautiful waters of the world.
Make a Decision and go!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailingsouthbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Cove Resort

Property: Seagull Cove Resort
Address: | Boca Chica,San Lorenzo, Boca Chica 507, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seagull Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagull Cove is a small and intimate boutique hotel with five oceanfront bungalows nestled among swaying palms and tropical gardens of Boca Chica, in Chiriquí Province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seagull Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagullcove Hotel Boca Chica
Seagullcove Hotel Chiriqui
Seagullcove Resort Chiriqui
Seagull Cove Resort Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing