We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seagull Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Lenhart
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed at Seagullcove Lodge for 5 nights. Beautiful place. Rooms were clean. Food very good. Avril, Derek and Marcello made us feel right at home and bent over backwards to accomodate our needs. There was enough to keep us busy for 4 days. Big highlight was a visit to Alouetta Lodge, a local howler monkeyu rescue operation. Boca Chica area is off the beaten track. Non-touristy. Not to be missed if you like quiet, low-key, low impact travel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto armuelles
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The staff couldn´t have been more helpful and the photos/views speak for themselves. Also it seems that management is looking to beef up the activitities and various options offered so I wouldn´t doubt an improvement by the next time I hope to make it back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Derrick and Avril are the best host and hostess we've had. They greeted us at the gate and made us feel so welcome. OUr room was wonderful, modern, clean, great view from the top of a VERY steep hill. As Avril said, its 130 steps down to the water and 600 steps back up! But sooooo worth the climb. We used the two-man kayak and went across to another beach to look for shells. Derrick packed us an ice chest with water and told us where to go. Being not very athletic, Jim and I took many rests, but when we returned, we were glad to learn that they had kept an eye out for us while on the water. We never left to explore outside the Lodge as the road is incredibly bad - the ONLY downside to our experience. We have recommended this place already to anyone who will listen to us. We will definitely be back! Thanks so much to Derrick, Avril, Marcello and the rest of the staff for helping us - even turning on the t.v. for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowtownNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at the SEAGULLCOVE LODGE for a 2 day getaway. It could not have been better.
Service is outstanding and the food is simply great, allthougth the menu is quite small.
Our hosts, Derrick & Avril great you like friends and treat you even better. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRW4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

From the moment the gate was opened for us, to being met and addressed by first name in the entrance by Avril and Derek (the Managers / Care takers), to witnessing the beautiful scenery upon entering the lobby, words can not describe this location. Try as we might have, pictures can't either.
Food in the restaurant, breakfast, lunch, or dinner was always, fresh, plated/presented beautifully, and most importantly , tasted GREAT! Some "must tries" are the Ceveche (the best in Panama that I have tried, all seafood with no garden green "fillers"), any of the fresh fish entrees, like the Tuna or the Grouper. Also the Steaks are like we are used to in the States, as they are imported from California. If you have tried steaks in Panama, or beef in general there, you might have noticed that it is usually tough, chewy, and grizzly at most places, but not here. The fruit was amazly fresh and tasty, and included every morning with the room as was the delicious french press coffee. I have never felt compelled to compliment the Chef anywhere as here. We have eaten at many great restaurants, and I have never done that. But my wife and I both complimented Mercedes, the Chef at SCL. All of her food was amazing, fresh, and served as you requested. With a full service bar, you can enjoy most any drink of your liking. Also has a fairly wide selection of wines for a smaller place. Marcello, the Bartender and Waiter is a great employee. Always happy to help you with anything you might need. Drinks poolside, appetizers inbetween meals, icewater in the thermos in your room upon arrival, etc. Some people are intimidated by the Spanish language in Panama. We as visitors to Panama, respect that their primary language is Spanish, and try to speak it to the best of our ability whenever we can, however, if you don't, Avril and Derek are from South Africa, so they speak fluent English. Marcello speaks fluent Spanish and English, so if you speak no Spanish, there is no need to worry about a language barrier. Noticed many people complaining in other reviews for Panama about the primary language being Spanish. If you don't know it, expand your horizons, step outside the box and learn it.
Avril and Derek, set up a box lunchanda Kyaking trip for us. We kyaked to one of the many surrounding Islands in the Bay of Chirique with another couple we met here, Nick and Andrea (Hi guys, if you are reading this..hahaha). Spent the afternoon on the Island, exploring, having lunch, swimming, taking pictures, and exploring the bay on kyaks.
They have a new bar built on a pier that we experienced a beautiful sun set with drinks and some of the other guests.
Bungelows are well built, air conditioned, and newer, with roomy bathrooms and a walk in closet. On demand water heater assures you never run out of hot water. Lots of stairs here so if you have physical limitations, you might want to ask Avril to give you a bungelow near the top, so you can avoid the stairs. We stayed in the "King Fisher" room at the top, and it has a priceless view, along with hearing the waves crash on the beach below echoing up the hillsides. I personally LOVED the stairs and worked out running them in the mornings a few days while we were there. The beach on the property is sandy with a few stones or rocks mixed in. If you like the "white sand" beaches, you will need to take a water taxi to some of the outer islands on the "ocean side" of the islands. Hated to leave this place. Avril, Derek, and Marcello could not possibly have made our stay any better. Avril even helped out with reminding us to call our banks ahead of time and let them know we were coming to Panama, and that there might be charges or debit card process coming through from Panama. We did just that,and had no problems using our debit card while there. Just to beprepared, the short entrance road from the Boca Chaca road to the lodge is gravel and has rather large rocks on it. Be prepared to navigate your way down it. If you drive slow, and pick a good pathway, you will be fine in a regular car, but would advise it not be a low profile sports car type. We had a four wheel drive suzuki Jimny that we rented (kind of like a jeep wrangler). Had no problems, while a little bumpy, we just idled our way up the hill on up to the entrance gate.
It only has five or six bungelows, so it is a very quaint, quiet, and peaceful. With free internet access in the lobby, we Skyped our friends, and checked e-mails to stay in touch while there. Flowers and landscaping are meticulously maintained and is breathtaking. The most breathtaking is the view when you first walk in. Not just an adjective, it will truly take your breathe away. Someone had an amazing vision and plan when they built this place. We will be back. What a find.!! Felt like it was one of those places where a movie star goes to to get away from everything. Great stay here and aven greater find.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brett64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in December 2010. It's a beautiful place in a gorgeous location! Our room (Honeycreeper) was charming, clean, and private. We loved the restaurant area--it was a nice place to relax and have a drink and eat. The food was great, especially the fresh pineapple juice and freshly caught seafood. Derek and Avril helped us plan and coordinate the activities we were interested in (kayaking, exploring the nearby islands) and made our visit a pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COS_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I got back last week from a week-long trip to Panama. We stayed 3 nights at Seagull Cove. It was the highlight of the trip. The new owners of the place made us feel right at home. The hotel managers were top-notch, and made sure we had the time of our lives. They got us on a snorkeling trip that ended up also being a whale watching trip. They suggested a short car ride to a howler monkey rehab facility. All amazing stuff. They have kayaks for rental. The food is good. The breakfast is free, and you eat it while watching the sun come up over the bay. They have a nice small bar, and locals seem to float in to grab a drink, and they all have great stories. The whole staff was great. The only way I wouldn't go back to this place is if I save up enough money to open a place of my own down the road! Highly recommend this hotel and the overall area of Panama.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeoconnell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
482 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 4 in Boca Chica
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
20.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Cove Resort

Property: Seagull Cove Resort
Address: | Boca Chica,San Lorenzo, Boca Chica 507, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seagull Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagull Cove is a small and intimate boutique hotel with five oceanfront bungalows nestled among swaying palms and tropical gardens of Boca Chica, in Chiriquí Province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seagull Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagullcove Hotel Boca Chica
Seagullcove Hotel Chiriqui
Seagullcove Resort Chiriqui
Seagull Cove Resort Panama/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing