We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a drink”
Review of Hambleton Hall

Hambleton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hambleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$97
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hambleton Hall is one of Britain's finest country house hotels. The lakeside setting is spectacular and only some two and a half hours north of central London (England). The Michelin starred restaurant is a haven for gourmets, Aaron Patterson, head chef, specialises in top seasonal ingredients to create modern British cuisine, with an award winning wine list full of delicious bottles. Each bedroom has been individually designed and decorated to combine comfort and style.
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location and building but sadly let down with staff who couldn’t speak English and not letting us have a drink on the terrace because we weren’t guests yet it’s also a restaurant!

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We visited here for our anniversary and had the lunch time tasting menu.

Set in a Wonderful location with a very relaxing atmosphere.

The service was very good (although not as friendly as other top end restaurants we've been to) and actually during the meal it could have been considered a little overbearing ie) have a sip of water and they fill your glass instantly. Felt I was being a little too watched over.

The food was truly excellent. I have no idea how they get so much flavour in to each mouthful!

It's obviously very pricey but I would definitely recommend for a special occasion and would love to return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank weedy3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Our second visit for lunch this month. The perfect setting for lunch in this wonderful weather we’ve been experiencing. Drinks on the terrace overlooking the reservoir followed by amazing food in the dining room with exceptional service is something very special. The atmosphere is great with a friendly but focused team of staff, always a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Can’t wait for an excuse to visit again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tirom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I rarely use superlatives but in this case it's justified. 5 star service and a superb menu. The standard of cooking is exceptional. My rhubarb soufflé dessert was brilliant. Wines are a little off the beaten track (their stated intention) but with sommelier Dominique you're in good hands. It's in a beautiful location too. Well worth a trip to visit here.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NorthEastMe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We had lunch here at the weekend and were impressed with the location, decor and service. The starters were excellent and delicious but we were both a little disappointed with the main courses which whilst visually appealing, to us had odd pairings of ingredients. We both felt our (different) main courses tasted bland however everyone has different tastes.
Unfortunately we had to abandon sitting on the terrace due to large numbers of wasps and like 3 other couples in the restaurant were plagued inside by the little blighters which again spoilt our enjoyment of the meal. It isn't something that is easy to control but at the very least they could have had some sticky paper attached to a chandelier as it is a known problem. It seemed every time the Maitre d' looked in, everything was fine then a minute later at least 3 tables were swatting with newspapers or waving arms in the air!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hambleton Hall also viewed

 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Hambleton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing