We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatto Creek Tavern
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A friend and I stayed at Lesley's place as our last night walking the Rail Trail. We had the bunkhouse to ourselves, which was clean, warm and comfortable. The outdoor tables were lovely to sit at in the afternoon sun. We ate at the tavern in the evening and had an excellent, good value meal. Breakfast was substantial. As we had only walked 19 km that day, we arrived around 1pm. Lesley offered us her car at no cost to drive to St Bathans and the Blue Lake. We took up this kind offer and enjoyed the serenity of the lake. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We chose the bunk room as we were two friends travelling together. The double rooms also looked clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jly21388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thank you Lesley for a wonderful night of good honest southern humor and outstanding meals (tho I sacked as tea boy)! It was Otago anniversary but this didn't faze Lesley with our very relaxed stay and would also recommend to all to at least call in, from a cold beer to a hot meal and like some of us who were planning to leave late the next day just so we could enjoy more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lesley is a marvellous lady with a great community spirit who deserves her recent award for top country hotel. The meals are the best around and it is great now to be able to enjoy these meals in the new dining room. Second time here and once again we were treated well. Great stop off while cycling the Otago Rail Trail

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Chatto Creek Tavern, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Look forward to your next visit , thank you for your kind review - Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Quick stop over
Wish we had planned to have lunch here but had eaten prior.

Interesting historic building with friendly staff. Disappointed we didn't try the white bait fritters.

Loved the furnishings, stories and cute donkeys outside.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M, Owner at Chatto Creek Tavern, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We will have the whitebait ready and waiting for your next visit - Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped on our bikes on the Otago Rail Trail between Alexandra and Omakau at this lovely little tavern in Chatto Creek. It's right on the trail and has plenty of space to park your bike. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, and the food was fantastic. Would recommend without any hesitation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our group of four, arriving by bicycle from Clyde loved staying at Chatto Creek. Lesley was hospitable and warm with a witty and dry sense of humour! Her country pub staff were lovely to us tired cyclists, fast, friendly and efficient! The ambience was great and the dinner meal was spectacular. A lovely, quaint and rustic country hotel - complete with a singing fish! We want to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spend a relaxing hour having lunch at the tavern before starting the climb up the hill on the rail trail. The surroundings are a tranquil setting and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The food is great value, very tasty and they serve very generous portions.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatto Creek
10.0 mi away
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatto Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatto Creek Tavern

Property: Chatto Creek Tavern
Address: SH85, Chatto Creek, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Chatto Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chatto Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chatto Creek Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing