We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place that we stayed--amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruby Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clayridge House and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Ruby Bay B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place that we stayed--amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Of all the places that we stayed, this one had to be the best. Wonderful facilities and private. We stayed in the apple cottage and it was very spacious, clean, and had a great view. The family who runs the Bed and Breakfast is very nice and helpful. There is laundry access in the cottage as well as internet.

Room Tip: There was not a swimming pool but didn't know how to uncheck it above. The apple cottage was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Offenburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Thank you very much for a perfect stay in our own cottage, beautiful surroundings, great hosts, wonderful breakfast...what else do you need for a perfect holiday? We had great views to the lake and in the beautiful setting. We enjoyed our own place with everything thought of, even our own washing machine, iron etc. You thought of everything what a traveller might need, we have never had such a well-equipped cottage again. We had so much fun walking in the Abel-Tasman park, taking the water-taxis, hiking through the Tasman sea at low tide. Thank you very much for your useful information and bookings during our stay. We'd love to come back. Give Rocco a hug from us, we love him too!

We send you our best wishes from Germany!

Kirsten & Mike

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed with another couple for 3 nights at the Clayridge. The view was fantastic and the breakfast was the best we had during the two weeks we were on the south island. Peter and marion were lovely hosts, and we liked that we had the cottage all to ourselves. The rooms were clean and serviced nicely. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efc607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you. The secret ingredient is buttermilk for the pancakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Welcomed by friendly, helpful hosts into a cottage with a tremendous view. Cottage had all one could want with two lovely bedrooms, sitting room with kitchennette and dining area plus those views. Also had great private outside area with table to eat and sit at whilst those views changed and the sunset. Breakfast provided each day was home made, very tasty as well as being healthy and huge!
A lovley place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Perfect place, perfect location and perfect hosts! We stayed there for 3 nights (17-20/12/2010) at the apple cottage. Loved every expect of it! This place has all the creature comfort you could asked for. They have very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms...even have their very own shampoo/conditional/body wash catered to Clayridge - loved the smell of it. Their kitchen/utensils are all very well maintained. Peter and Marion made every effort to make sure that we all had enough cushions, bath towels...etc as we have our 3 teenage chidlren with us. They took time to show us their fruit/vegetable gardens. Thank you for a wonderful and unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

The most expensive place we stayed at but worth every cent. Well positioned for easy drive to Abel Tasman, wineries, Nelson, etc. Every detail thought of in the cottage, super-friendly dog and very helpful hosts. Felt like coming home each night.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We arrived at Clayridge and were warmly welcomed by our hosts Peter and Marion who directed us to our accommodation "Apple Cottage". Once settled in we sat back with a glass of wine and were captivated by the extraordinary view: snow capped mountains to the south and glorious views over the apple orchard out to the coast. The petanque strip has the best views of any we've played on - most distracting! Scrumptious homemade muffins were delivered each morning with our breakfast order. After sightseeing each day we would wander through different parts of Marion's beautiful garden with Pete's wonderful sculptures and artwork featuring at every turn. Clayridge is a 'must stay'.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank you for the review we appreciate feed back.We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruby Bay
11.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ruby Bay Vineyard Lodge & Cottage
Show Prices

Been to Clayridge House and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayridge House and Cottages

Property: Clayridge House and Cottages
Address: 77 Pine Hill Road, Ruby Bay, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Ruby Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruby Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting - Choose from our Mt Arthur Suite in the homestead or one of our two self contained two bedroom private cottages. With 360 degree views, we are on one of the highest points close to the coast halfway between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing