We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruby Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clayridge House and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Ruby Bay B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our first stay at Clayridge, and it was absolutely amazing. Surrounded by gorgeous views, Clayridge is a cozy and luxurious place to stay. Its beautiful gardens add to the scenery, and the animals give it lots of character. The hosts Peter and Marion were very helpful with suggestions of nearby activities, all of which our family enjoyed. The house and cottages seem secluded from any other people, which is lovely, giving it plenty of privacy, yet there are many great things right near by! We stayed a total of three nights, and were very sad to be leaving this paradise.

Room Tip: We recommend if you choose to stay at Clayridge Cottages, to stay for longer than a night. Our cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Host's Peter & Marion made us feel so welcome with a informative suggestion's on what there is to do & see in the area.

My family agree with other review's. We also stayed in the apple cottage & found it to be exremly tidy & relaxing. With lovely view's of the farm & surrounding hills.

My family can't speak highly enough

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second visit to this amazing place and were lucky enough to spend our Christmas in New Zealand - we have been fortunate enough to have been granted residency to live in this wonderful country. Clayridge is the ultimate in our eyes - it has wonderful views, tranquility, elegance and marvellous hosts in Peter and Marion. You have everything you need including fresh apple juice from their orchard - delicious. To be guests at Clayridge is an experience which will live long in the memory - thank you Peter and Marion - we will be back and soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammyhoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have stayed at Clayridge (Apple Cottage) three times over the last 5 years, each for a number of days. We love it so much we have already booked our return trip for next year! Our first two trips were made pre-kids. On our latest trip in November, our little boy (17 months), also joined us. We were thrilled that the place that we had enjoyed so much in the past as a couple was also a great place to bring our little one.

Apple Cottage is an immacculately kept, comfortable, spacious and extremely functional cottage, with views towards snowcapped mountains (at least in November, the time of our most recent visit) and towards the ocean.

The location of Clayridge is wonderful. The views are incredible and we will never tire of them. The fact that you have the best of both worlds - country + sea - is also fantastic. Clayridge has a real country feel - with farmyard animals within close proximity. And of course being so close to the village of Mapua, which since our first trip in 2007, has only become more enticing. The whalf area now plays host to a range of dining options and there are a number of art galleries and interesting shops to immerse yourself in. Clayridge is only a short drive (30 mins) to Nelson which provides some dining, pampering and shopping alternatives and the drive is interesting (through market gardens, vineyards etc).

Marion and Peter are an absolute delight - extremely generous and great company - so much so that our return visits to Clayridge have also been for a catch up with them and their dog, Rocco! Marion and Peter are a wealth of local knowledge - we have followed so many of their recommendations and never been disappointed!

Marion's breakfasts are wonderful and BIG. In fact they are so BIG that they have always taken us two days to get through! On our most recent trip we really appreciated all the thought that both Marion and Peter went to with them to cater for our little boy too - freshly stewed fruit was offered and Marion made some muffins with nuts and some without.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed in some great places in New Zealand, but Apple Cottage was my favourite. Fabulous views to the front and rear of the property, spotless accommodation with lots of extra touches, delicious apple juice, I could go on. But one of the big highlights were the lovely hosts, Peter and Marion. They were so thoughtful - from cleaning the barbeque to inviting us in for a glass of wine. Peter is an accomplished artist and we were very happy to buy some of his artwork (although with no pressure from him). They were truly genuine people, and a pleasure to meet. They really do have a little bit of heaven, and I could not recommend Clayridge more highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our family had the joy of staying 4 nights in the doubleview cottage. The cottage was spacious, clean, well appointed with excellent ammenities. Peter and Marion added many private touches during our stay, reccomending us local NZ DVDs we could borrow from the library, refilling our apple cider which was so delicious we drank it all on our first night. Marion even provided us with a box of toys we could use for our toddler during the stay. With an excellent knowledge of the local area they were also able to reccomend many attractions. The views from the cottage were gorgeous and from the gazebo in the garden even better. When we return to the nelson area we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Doubleview cottage best for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Of all the places that we stayed, this one had to be the best. Wonderful facilities and private. We stayed in the apple cottage and it was very spacious, clean, and had a great view. The family who runs the Bed and Breakfast is very nice and helpful. There is laundry access in the cottage as well as internet.

Room Tip: There was not a swimming pool but didn't know how to uncheck it above. The apple cottage was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruby Bay
11.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ruby Bay Vineyard Lodge & Cottage
Show Prices

Been to Clayridge House and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayridge House and Cottages

Property: Clayridge House and Cottages
Address: 77 Pine Hill Road, Ruby Bay, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Ruby Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruby Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting - Choose from our Mt Arthur Suite in the homestead or one of our two self contained two bedroom private cottages. With 360 degree views, we are on one of the highest points close to the coast halfway between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing