We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning spot, fantastic accomodation...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruby Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clayridge House and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Ruby Bay B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning spot, fantastic accomodation...”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Peter and Marion are lovely hosts, and Apple Cottage proved a perfect place to start our little holiday. Clayridge is set above Ruby Bay with sweeping 360 degree views of Nelson, the Bay and the Ranges - a truly stunning spot. Apple Cottage is beautifully thought-out and appointed. It really does feel like a little home away from home. Marion carefully services the rooms during stays which is a lovely touch. The whole cottage is beautifully turned out - well built and well insulated so it never feels cold and it catches all day sun. The lounge offers great views of the Ranges, the kitchen has everything one could need to cook happily, the bathroom stocks locally made toiletries, the bed is very comfy and there is a euro laundry with supplies in the bathroom so you can keep on top of the inevitable pile of dirty holiday laundry! Everything has been thought of. Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely stay here as top priority next time we're in the region.
Thanks again Marion and Peter! Awesome ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Clayridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Peter and Marion are wonderful warm and friendly hosts. Apple Cottage is a comfortable, private two-bedroom cottage which we had ourselves with a superb view of surrounding bucolic countryside. Terrific breakfast, particularly the lovely little home made cakes.  Great access point to Abel Tasman Sea Shuttle at Kaiteriteri. Two nights was not long enough, would have loved to stay longer, maybe on our next trip to NZ. (Very grateful for the use of the washing machine).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

4 of us stayed during the 1st week of Nov 2012 for 3 nights in the 2-bedroom cottages. Surrounded by exceptional views all round. One of the best accomodations we stayed in during our 14 day trip in South Island. For the price quoted, this was the best in terms of value for your buck. Marion and Peter were very warm and accomodating. They took time out to show us the lovely family of animals on the grounds and were always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat which were spot on. The proximity was perfect as it was just a short drive to the parks as well as to Nelson. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. We willl definitely return in the future and would stay longer for sure. The photos on this website does not do Clayridge any justice. They say "a picture paints a thousand words", but the beauty of the place will leave you speechless for words. Thanks Marion and Peter for a lovely time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and photos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our first stay at Clayridge, and it was absolutely amazing. Surrounded by gorgeous views, Clayridge is a cozy and luxurious place to stay. Its beautiful gardens add to the scenery, and the animals give it lots of character. The hosts Peter and Marion were very helpful with suggestions of nearby activities, all of which our family enjoyed. The house and cottages seem secluded from any other people, which is lovely, giving it plenty of privacy, yet there are many great things right near by! We stayed a total of three nights, and were very sad to be leaving this paradise.

Room Tip: We recommend if you choose to stay at Clayridge Cottages, to stay for longer than a night. Our cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Host's Peter & Marion made us feel so welcome with a informative suggestion's on what there is to do & see in the area.

My family agree with other review's. We also stayed in the apple cottage & found it to be exremly tidy & relaxing. With lovely view's of the farm & surrounding hills.

My family can't speak highly enough

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second visit to this amazing place and were lucky enough to spend our Christmas in New Zealand - we have been fortunate enough to have been granted residency to live in this wonderful country. Clayridge is the ultimate in our eyes - it has wonderful views, tranquility, elegance and marvellous hosts in Peter and Marion. You have everything you need including fresh apple juice from their orchard - delicious. To be guests at Clayridge is an experience which will live long in the memory - thank you Peter and Marion - we will be back and soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammyhoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have stayed at Clayridge (Apple Cottage) three times over the last 5 years, each for a number of days. We love it so much we have already booked our return trip for next year! Our first two trips were made pre-kids. On our latest trip in November, our little boy (17 months), also joined us. We were thrilled that the place that we had enjoyed so much in the past as a couple was also a great place to bring our little one.

Apple Cottage is an immacculately kept, comfortable, spacious and extremely functional cottage, with views towards snowcapped mountains (at least in November, the time of our most recent visit) and towards the ocean.

The location of Clayridge is wonderful. The views are incredible and we will never tire of them. The fact that you have the best of both worlds - country + sea - is also fantastic. Clayridge has a real country feel - with farmyard animals within close proximity. And of course being so close to the village of Mapua, which since our first trip in 2007, has only become more enticing. The whalf area now plays host to a range of dining options and there are a number of art galleries and interesting shops to immerse yourself in. Clayridge is only a short drive (30 mins) to Nelson which provides some dining, pampering and shopping alternatives and the drive is interesting (through market gardens, vineyards etc).

Marion and Peter are an absolute delight - extremely generous and great company - so much so that our return visits to Clayridge have also been for a catch up with them and their dog, Rocco! Marion and Peter are a wealth of local knowledge - we have followed so many of their recommendations and never been disappointed!

Marion's breakfasts are wonderful and BIG. In fact they are so BIG that they have always taken us two days to get through! On our most recent trip we really appreciated all the thought that both Marion and Peter went to with them to cater for our little boy too - freshly stewed fruit was offered and Marion made some muffins with nuts and some without.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clayridge House and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayridge House and Cottages

Property: Clayridge House and Cottages
Address: 77 Pine Hill Road, Ruby Bay, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Ruby Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruby Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting - Choose from our Mt Arthur Suite in the homestead or one of our two self contained two bedroom private cottages. With 360 degree views, we are on one of the highest points close to the coast halfway between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing