We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruby Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clayridge House and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Ruby Bay B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and location”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had the suite in the house itself. It was completely private and very spacious - kitchenette, bathroom, dressing area, lounge and huge bedroom. We even had our own patio area to sit out. Everything was spotless and top quality.

Peter and Marion were such kind and gentle hosts. Their expert knowledge of the area and helping us to plan trips was invaluable. Breakfast was just perfect, sat by the open french windows overlooking the lovely gardens with just the birds tweeting to break the silence. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
HI,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

What a marvelous place! The stunning 360 degree views from our lovely cottage were only rivaled by the warm welcome and generous hospitality of Marion and Peter.

During our month long stay, their lifelong knowledge of the area, their gentle humour and dedication to their guests made us even more thankful for having made this the most memorable vacation in over 70 years.

The 2 bedroom cottage was well equipped with all modern conveniences, including oven, cooktop, dishwasher and laundry washing machine.

When friends visited for 9 days they were made equally welcome by Marion and Peter, and the cottage easily accommodated the 4 of us.

The spacious, well maintained and landscaped grounds studded with statuary and native plants were a pleasure to roam. We were even invited to explore the lovely grounds and gardens attached to the house even those attached to the house.

Clayridge is well located within 45 minutes of the Nelson airport (even for those of us driving on the "wrong" side of the road). The nearby communities of Mapua, with its lovely wharf with marvelous restaurants and shops and its 5 minute ferry ride to the beaches of Rabbit island and the larger town of Motueka with its larger selection of stores are within 20 minutes or less.

A truly marvelous space,to which we hope to return, to revisit Marion and Peter, now considered friends.
Rose and Kent Murray
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We rented Double View cottage as it was accessible from ground level. Apple Cottage, next door had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKMCambridge_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Peter and Marion are lovely hosts, and Apple Cottage proved a perfect place to start our little holiday. Clayridge is set above Ruby Bay with sweeping 360 degree views of Nelson, the Bay and the Ranges - a truly stunning spot. Apple Cottage is beautifully thought-out and appointed. It really does feel like a little home away from home. Marion carefully services the rooms during stays which is a lovely touch. The whole cottage is beautifully turned out - well built and well insulated so it never feels cold and it catches all day sun. The lounge offers great views of the Ranges, the kitchen has everything one could need to cook happily, the bathroom stocks locally made toiletries, the bed is very comfy and there is a euro laundry with supplies in the bathroom so you can keep on top of the inevitable pile of dirty holiday laundry! Everything has been thought of. Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely stay here as top priority next time we're in the region.
Thanks again Marion and Peter! Awesome ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Clayridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Peter and Marion are wonderful warm and friendly hosts. Apple Cottage is a comfortable, private two-bedroom cottage which we had ourselves with a superb view of surrounding bucolic countryside. Terrific breakfast, particularly the lovely little home made cakes.  Great access point to Abel Tasman Sea Shuttle at Kaiteriteri. Two nights was not long enough, would have loved to stay longer, maybe on our next trip to NZ. (Very grateful for the use of the washing machine).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

4 of us stayed during the 1st week of Nov 2012 for 3 nights in the 2-bedroom cottages. Surrounded by exceptional views all round. One of the best accomodations we stayed in during our 14 day trip in South Island. For the price quoted, this was the best in terms of value for your buck. Marion and Peter were very warm and accomodating. They took time out to show us the lovely family of animals on the grounds and were always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat which were spot on. The proximity was perfect as it was just a short drive to the parks as well as to Nelson. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. We willl definitely return in the future and would stay longer for sure. The photos on this website does not do Clayridge any justice. They say "a picture paints a thousand words", but the beauty of the place will leave you speechless for words. Thanks Marion and Peter for a lovely time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyM390, Owner at Clayridge House and Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and photos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our first stay at Clayridge, and it was absolutely amazing. Surrounded by gorgeous views, Clayridge is a cozy and luxurious place to stay. Its beautiful gardens add to the scenery, and the animals give it lots of character. The hosts Peter and Marion were very helpful with suggestions of nearby activities, all of which our family enjoyed. The house and cottages seem secluded from any other people, which is lovely, giving it plenty of privacy, yet there are many great things right near by! We stayed a total of three nights, and were very sad to be leaving this paradise.

Room Tip: We recommend if you choose to stay at Clayridge Cottages, to stay for longer than a night. Our cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Host's Peter & Marion made us feel so welcome with a informative suggestion's on what there is to do & see in the area.

My family agree with other review's. We also stayed in the apple cottage & found it to be exremly tidy & relaxing. With lovely view's of the farm & surrounding hills.

My family can't speak highly enough

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clayridge House and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayridge House and Cottages

Property: Clayridge House and Cottages
Address: 77 Pine Hill Road, Ruby Bay, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Ruby Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruby Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning setting - Choose from our Mt Arthur Suite in the homestead or one of our two self contained two bedroom private cottages. With 360 degree views, we are on one of the highest points close to the coast halfway between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing