We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Castello
Ranked #1 of 9 San Leo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk Island, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited this small village in the hills expecting to find little.However we were greeted by a charming town with a large impressive castle and fascinating local history.Great shopping antiques,ceramics,without the tourist prices.Our accommodation was excellent,warm ,clean, great food,and our hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome, added to the chalk of this hotel was the sense of family,warmth and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    66
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
72
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our room was wonderful. It overlooked the central square (which is very quiet at night) and had a wonderful, comfortable, home-like feel. I generally like hard beds, but these were hard in not such a good way. I slept well, but had a slightly sore back after our second night there. The pasta in the restaurant is wonderful, and so are the views. The staff was very nice. It is a good choice if you're staying in San Leo, which is really worth the time to get to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Albergo Castello San Leo is the perfect place for an overnight stop on the single winding road across the mountain tops of Emilia Romagna to the coast of Rimini and beyond. While not actually in the amazing castle of San Leo, it is on the main piazza of this medieval gem, near some very nice restaurants and shops selling local artisanal products. The cheeses and salumi are particularly worth trying...
The Albergo is a simple family run place, casual, clean and friendly. Rooms have nice modern bathrooms, decent simple furnishings and some have astonishing views...breakfast is included but is pretty limited to the proverbial coffee or tea and pastry, still for the price this is very good value....

Room Tip: get the view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lavitaedolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Found the Albergo Castello via a Michelin restaurant listing, so this review is initiating coverage on Trip Advisor. San Leo is an idyllic, unspoilt place - although I would guess it gets busy in the peak holiday season - and the Albergo Castello sits on the main square. To the is a panoramic view for 20 miles over the hills to south and west. At the side is the ancient Pieve (XI cent.), and next to that is the Romanesque cathedral (1173). If you have a room at the front you'll look out over the square and up to the huge medieval castle.

The AC is family run and the welcome could not be more friendly. Breakfast is very much the Continental style - limited to fruit juice, cake or croissant and coffee in the bar or outside on the square - but all components are excellent quality. Main meals are of course much more substantial, but quality remains at same high standard. The menu quotes only house wine, but persevere and ask what wines are available in bottle, and you'll be offered a selection (and that recommended was excellent!)

All round great value, and a good base for walkers - the Emilia Romagna/Marche boundary and Montefeltro and the Parco Naturale del Sasso Simone e Simoncello are less than 10km south.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leo
7.1 mi away
Oste del Castello Wellness & Bike
17.4 mi away
Relais Palazzo Viviani
Relais Palazzo Viviani
#1 of 1 in Montegridolfo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel La Rocca
Hotel La Rocca
#5 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
Hotel Ristorante Cesare
#1 of 10 in City of San Marino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Serre B&B
Palazzo Serre B&B
#2 of 9 in San Leo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Locanda San Leone
Locanda San Leone
#4 of 9 in San Leo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Castello

Property: Albergo Castello
Address: Piazza Dante 11 / 12, 61018 San Leo, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > San Leo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Leo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Castello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing