We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”
Review of Theoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theoxenia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mesolongion
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Staff were excellent in every regard, extremely helpful and accommodating, nothing was an issue
The room was very spacious and comfortable, all that a traveller needs
Situated on a lagoon with a good cycle/walk path, ideal for that evening stroll

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandspitretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

It is an old hotel but with great helpful staff big rooms and well maintained. The location can't get better specially if your room looks at the lagoon. Stayed there last week and had a great time. Combining the weather location and accomodation it was a great stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at high level with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thalia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for work. I like the spot, in this season no mosquitos, but even thought the price was really low I couldn't imagine what I was about to experience. Time seems to have stopped in the 60's! What a pity for the city and the spot that such a hotel is left to this state. A decent and average breakfast buffet is not enough to appreciate your stay in this hotel. Really a pity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Theoxenia is part of a whole network of hotels built across Greece in the 60s by the Greek Tourist Organisation to accommodate the influx of visitors that marked the beginning of an era which put the country on the map as a major tourist destination.

It definitely has a history to tell, the location is great and the entrance and ground floor retain some of the aura and character of what the place used to be. But there's nothing more apart from that.

The hotel rooms are just aweful. The bathroom is beyond description. You flush by pulling a cord and I was left with the impression that one of the historical figures from the town's majestic past during the revolution against the Ottomans in 1821 had actually used the toilet!

The carpet is smelly, some rooms reeks of cigarette smoke, the beds are horrendous and the mattress would be thrown out of the window even by the most well-trained and disciplined Spartan. As for the breakfast,... OMG... The breakfast. The hotel staff is lovely but it can hardly compensate for the shortcomings of this hotel on all levels.

In short, apart from the staff and the great view from the rooms facing the sea/lagoon, this hotel ticks none of the boxes of a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

the greatest location for Messolonghi! good sized rooms, excellent view, very comfortable beds, average breakfast, but poor room insulation.... everybody can hear everything!!! some renovation could be helpful and nets in every window.... mosquitoes are terrible in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasiliki458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

..but not for the nature around.

The Hotel is dirty, far overpaied and the 3 star Rating is only possible with massive bribery. The breakfast is ugly with old Sandwich, the floors are Dirty and all is down. The best you can do is not to go there.
In the early 1990's I have ebenso St Petersbourgh / Russia, and stayed in the Hotel "Moskwa", which was a postcumministic monument. The Theoxenia in 2012 is even worse than that... Stay away.

Room Tip: the best advise is to choose no room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

just came back from mesologi where I've been for a ceremony. i feel so embarrassed as a Greek for Theixenia hotel as well as for the image owners promote nationally and internationally.
I regret every euro I spent to this hotel. i still can't believe the level of decadence I experienced in there.

just to mention this:
they asked from me 20€ extra fee (40 € was the tarif) for late check out on Sunday !!!

this place needs to burned down in order to reborn. though, I am afraid the mentality of the locals will always stay the same.

if you are planning to visit the area just be prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinosSkaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesolongion
18.8 mi away
Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel
21.8 mi away
Nafs Hotel
Nafs Hotel
#2 of 9 in Naupactus
220 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#1 of 9 in Naupactus
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Socrates Organic Village
Socrates Organic Village
#1 of 1 in Mesolongion
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Theoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theoxenia Hotel

Address: 2 Tourlidos, Mesolongion 302 00, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Aetolia-Acarnania Region > Mesolongion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mesolongion
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Theoxenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Theoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theoxenia Hotel Greece/Mesolongion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing