We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$414
US$372
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brickwall Hotel(Sedlescombe)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claverton Country House Hotel(Battle)(Great Value!)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
238
263
169
96
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
263
169
96
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomspa facilitiesleisure centretired and in needbit datedsunday lunchan upgraderelaxing staybirthday treatlovely weekendbreakfast was excellentnight breakfull englishshort breakfour poster bedcamber sandsrye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Flackley Ash hotel was recommended to us, and we had a perfect stay. The staff are fantastic, the pool is amazing and the food is tremendous. We will be back for sure and will also tell our friends to visit too. Penny and her team looked after us so well, it couldn't have been a better mini break from our busy London life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerofFlackleyAsh, General Manager at The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Hayley R, Thank you for you kind words and I am very pleased that you were reccommended and maybe you could come back with your friends. See you again soon. Kind regards Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If, like us, you were expecting the rooms etc to look like the photos on their website, you will be very disappointed. The decor is both old and dirty. Most of the carpets are filthy and need to be thoroughly cleaned or replaced. The breakfast buffet was poor & poorly supervised- juices, fruit etc weren't replenished promptly, some were left out without covers, so had wasps sitting on them.juices weren't cold. The hot breakfast cooked to order, is a good idea, but poorly executed e.g smoked salmon & scrambled eggs came with the hot eggs piled on top of the cold salmon. The restaurant was nearly empty on both nights, so we decided not to risk it & ate out. The room to room phone connection wasn't working, there is no mobile phone signal in the hotel & the doors have yale locks (not card operated) - so, you feel very isolated in your room (specially if you have children in another room). There is no fridge in the rooms. On the plus side, most of the staff were helpful & tried their best to help out once something was pointed out to them. The gardens are quiet & relaxing-we had afternoon tea on the lawn as it was a nice day. The free wi-fi works in the rooms as well as the public areas.

Room Tip: We were offered a choice of rooms, but both had tired decor,dirty carpets etc.so not sure if there are any nice rooms- we were told we were in the 'recently refurbished' section of the hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerofFlackleyAsh, General Manager at The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Aliceinwonderland, I am sorry that you felt dissappointed with the hotel. I will arrange to speak to the restaurant manager with regards to the breakfast service, We are very proud with our breakfast here at the hotel and have retained our Tourist Board Breakfast award for the past three years. I wish I could change the mobile phone signal problem we have here in Peasmarsh, unfortunatley it is out of my control. Thank you for your kind words with regards to the staff and our gardens. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Mu husband and I stayed for one night on a dinner/bed/breakfast in a garden room. The grounds are lovely and the room looked out onto the beautiful gardens. However, the hotel could be perfect with a little attention. Bathrooms need updating, the Reception area need a little paint work. Staff were great and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Room 61 is a lovely room which is very close to the Spa.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerofFlackleyAsh, General Manager at The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear VandaEastSussex, Thank you for your kind words and I have noted your points about updating bathrooms. We do have a redecoration schedule in place and can be a little tricky sometimes of the year finding a quiet time to start the schedule. I do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here overnight on a couple of pampering breaks, we were told upon arrival that we had been upgraded to a superior room. Unfortunately upon entering it had six visible spiders, cobwebs, dirty window ledge, and it was clear that the area behind the pelmet, tv and radiators hadn't been cleaned for a while. I rang reception which just rang and rang, so I walked to reception to inform them that it wasnt clean and wasnt acceptable. They immediately sent someone and I have to say they pulled everything out and cleaned thoroughly, but it should have been done before we arrived! The knob on the shower fell off once you turned it, plus the carpet was quite stained which didn't really add to the 'superior' label. The treatments were fabulous, the pool /spa was nice but the locker room was tired / needing a revamp and both hair dryers didn't work. We had a snack in the bar in the evening, the waiters were pleasant and very polite. One forgot our drinks, but was so apologetic and genuinely upset that he had forgot, that we really didnt mind. Unfortunately the panini was overcooked so the lid of it was inedible and the tomato was forgotten in our other sandwich. Breakfast was good, selecting what you want off the menu to be freshly cooked, a smile would have gone down well too. The fruit bowl on the buffet looked a bit sad / empty and the bananas overripe, there wasnt a massive amount of choice but I guess it was midweek - some croissants, pain au chocolate would have been nice. A plus was that there was free wifi and it was a good location.i think it would be ok for a spa day but I wouldn't want to stay overnight again - I am not fussy but cleanliness is vital to me.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerofFlackleyAsh, General Manager at The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear slappy, Thank you for your comments. I do apologise for the dissappointing stay, I will be speaking to all the departments concerned and I will ensure they adhere to the normally high standards I expect at the hotel. Kind regards Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

6 of us stayed here for th weekend. For the last 8 years we have an annual wekend at The Tudor Marriot in Maidstone, but no more! We shsall definatley change to the Flackley Ash.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel has plenty of character. We were all upgraded to Garden rooms which had their own patio area overlooking a lovely lawn. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms spacious and clean, my only criticism would be that a fridge could have been provided!
We dined in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food and service was excellent.
The breakfast the folowing morning was superb. All freshly made to order and plenty of it.
The leisure facilities were good although the shower room is separate from the changing room!
All in all a very relaxing stay in wonderful surroundings.

Room Tip: GArden rooms are spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinsidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews