We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
St Margaret's Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our third time at this hotel. Staff are attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxing. The hotel has been nicely decorated for Christmas. We ate dinner in the restaurant enjoying a drink in the bar sitting in front of a cosy roaring fire before hand and afterwards with a coffee and liqueur . Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice then eggs, bacon etc. cooked to order. It is ideally placed for a drive into Rye to browse round the antique shops. All in all a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We had room 62 which had a small patio with a table and chairs outside good for when the weather get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732kent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    227
    141
    81
    50
See reviews for
128
378
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We wanted a cheap get away for a few days ,and saw this hotel on Groupon ,which we had never used before .
After reviewing the website with the additional benefit of a Spa ,we were looking forward to our break .Due to the cost of the trip ,we did not have high expectations .Thank goodness we didn't !

The staff members we met were all lovely ,as we were checked in our room 65 ,we were met by a very basic ,tired décor .The bathroom had damp over the ceiling ,which my partner ended up wiping down to get rid of some of it .The bed was awful and lumpy -which we ended up laughing about in the end.

I had a foot treatment .Please do not be misled that this is a Spa .The part of the hotel where this was placed is almost like a side shed .Again ,the team there were lovely .It is such a shame who ever owns the hotel does not put any investment into support their talent .

Breakfast was good .The only point I would make is they had one of those catering toasters ,that rolls the bread round over a grill .This kept burning the bread and took about fifteen minutes to get a piece of toast that looks slightly ok .

We had a lovely time in Rye and Ashford .If we ever go again we would stay in The George - if you want a hotel set in the 1950s 1960s this one would be idea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyTwsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My Wife and I have been staying at Flackley Ash for a number of years now and this is the first review we have ever written, long overdue!

The reason why we prefer to continue to stay at Flackley is simple; Consistency! It always feels like home, the staff and the management always look after us, its excellent value for money, the food is first class (especially the breakfasts) and the rooms and amenities such the pool and spa are perfect, considering the English weather sometimes. We appreciate that this doesn't just happen but represents a lot of hard work on the part of management and staff, so praise is deserved as well a earned, people are all too eager to criticise these but rarely willing to compliment.

So for us, its a case of Flackley Ash "does it again" and we're sure it will continue to do so.

Thanks again to all at the Hotel, keep up the good work and making the difference.

Alan & Maria.

Room Tip: If its not during a busy period ask the reception/management to recommend the best room to suit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanrcable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Walking in through the front entrance of hotel, first impression, was how dismal it all looked. The low energy lighting didn't help either. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful, room & bed comfortable, would have benefited from a thicker mattress topper and the general decor dull. The pool was the best part, clean and well supervised, breakfast buffet was very good, as was the cooked breakfast, although fried bread or hash brownies missing from the menu...evening meal quality was okay, no menue specials on offer during stay and felt tastebuds were not significantly tingled.. in general felt hotel lacked sparkle......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had the most wonderful weekend here thanks to all the amazing staff, the service was fabulous along with the hotels A le cart menu, I felt like royalty being pampered in the hotels beauty rooms and the gym, sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool were all well kept. The room was beautiful with a stunning view of the garden. I was so impressed, I came home wanting to go back as soon as I could......By far one of the best hotels I've had the privilege of staying in, Well done Flackley Ash!

Room Tip: Room 64 had the lovely garden view with French doors opening out to a bistro style dining set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I am very impressed with all aspects of my stay at Flackley Ash, the whole experience has left me revitalised and have booked my next stay before leaving, all the staff where more than happy to help, no matter the queries. The food was fabulous and enough to feed the whole of the hotel on our table alone. Can't wait for next time.

Room Tip: Suite was great but I am sure any room would be to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved this hotel! Great staff and nice location, bar and restaurant was nice...Swimming pool and jacuzzi were nice though not too keen on the Sauna being in the changing rooms as it made it very hot to get changed but just my personal opinion...
Food was nice and room was really sweet; had everything I needed for a business trip away.

Chloe on front of house was a tremendous asset and she couldn't do enough to help!

Def stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pittman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasmarsh
3.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The George in Rye
3.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Peasmarsh, Rye TN31 6YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Peasmarsh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian Country House Hotel set in beautiful woodland. With 45 en-suite bedrooms, large candlelit restaurant renowned for its great food. Leisure club with pool and therapists on hand for beauty and massage treatments. Perfect location for visiting Rye, Camber Sands, Bodiam Castle and many other places of interest. We are proud of our friendly yet professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Flackley Ash Hotel And Restaurant Peasmarsh, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing