We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be mislead!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
Bishops Itchington UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't be mislead!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having read a couple of very poor reviews (in amongst the majority of very good ones) we arrived at Flackley Ash with some trepidation.
Whoever used the descriptor of 'crap' should be publicly pilloried (and should learn to spell!!!)
Without exception the reception on arrival, our room, dinner and breakfast were very good indeed (we didn't try the pool etc. but all seemed very good there, too!)
Staff were absolutely marvellous and couldn't do more for us, dinner was inventive, often locally sourced and very well and promptly presented. Breakfast was excellent with only, understandingly, one supplement for smoked salmon.
Anyone who is not used to 'translating' very poor, sad, abusive Tripadvisor reviews, take notice from a well practiced traveller - ignore the offensive ones in amongst the good! The sad writers have obviously an 'axe to grind' and little intellect or taste.
We will go back to Flackley Ash and look forward to it!

Room Tip: Didn't try a room in older part but new extension is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    232
    145
    81
    50
See reviews for
128
387
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The main old part of the hotel is still attractive, but its really let down by mostly cheap uninspiring furniture which is poorly layed out. The dining area and lounges are spacious but they have little in them and there are great expanses of nothing, which doesn't lend much to the atmosphere. The conservatory is nice but again not enough is made of it, and the view of the ugly modern extension is not great. Most of the bedrooms are along a very narrow corridor with a lumpy uneven carpet which I tripped over.The kitchen is across this corridor so we kept on having near misses with the waiting staff carrying plates. Really bad design. There was a really grubby old rug at the entrance to the dining room.

We went on a '3 nights for the price of 2' offer, which gives you a 'gallery or house room'. Our room was of reasonable size, but it was quite dark as we only had a small window with a torn net curtain! Someone had made a bad attempt at sewing it! Really not acceptable.
The room was incredibly hot. We turned the radiator down to zero but it was still on! It was February but we had to have the window open all the time. When we complained about the heat the staff just smiled and said its an old building (the bedrooms are in a modern extension!) and if they don't have the heating on its too cold. This is ludicrous - guests should be able to choose the temperature of their bedroom. We didn't sleep well as it was just to hot.
The decor was a bit dated but not too bad. The furniture looked cheap and there was a very large brass plaque with the hotel name attached to each of the wooden bedsteads! Is this in case you forget where you are?! The beds were quite comfortable but the bed linen should be better quality. The walls were thin and we could clearly hear our neighbours.
The bathroom was of a good size but it looked very tired and the plastic bath looked quite dirty. It was probably clean but it was so old that the dirt was ingrained.

The main reason for us choosing this hotel was because it has a spa. The spa area again looks very dated with 1970's dark wooden panelling and no natural light. The only natural light came from the broken dirty air vent on the wall above the pool! The pool is a good size and looked clean. The hot tub was good. The steam room was a bit small and not very clean. The cold shower next to it was nothing more than an outside garden tap with a pipe and shower head! The sauna was very shoddy, with a broken handle that had been fixed with parcel tape! The thing that really lets down the spa is that its so badly laid out. The sauna, toilets, and showers are all in one small room off the pool area. But the lockers and changing rooms are in the corridor adjacent to the pool area!!!

We had dinner on the first night in the dining room without any atmosphere. Some classical music would have helped ease the deathly silence. The a la carte menu was quite pretentious so we opted for the bar menu. I had streak in pepper sauce with 'hand cut' chips. The steak was good but the chips were odd, soggy but undercooked! The breakfast buffet was a bit bland. The fresh fruit salad had tinned fruit mixed in. The orange and apple juices were not even concentrate but tasted like UHT! The cooked breakfast was good however. Nice sausages and delicious bacon. Mass produced pastries were bland.

The grounds of the hotel amounted to a small area of grass and a pot holed drive way and small car park. The garden bedrooms that appear in other peoples photos on Tripadvisor appear to have access to a completely different garden area to the rest of the hotel.

This hotel really seems as if its on its last legs. Its a shame as it could be so much better. The staff were generally friendly and polite but you get the feeling that their smiles are trying to hide the all too visible cracks in the hotel. Some of the young staff are more professional than the older staff. Not jaded yet?!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend it but if you do go, I'd suggest a room in the main old building or a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peasmarsh hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Really lovely staff and made our weekend fantastic. My main observations were that staff do not wear a uniform, they appear to just wear black and it's their own choice as to what they wear so there are varying levels if appearance. This also makes it hard to work out who are guests and who are staff. What really lets the hotel down is the food. It's presentation is great but it just doesn't taste how it looks. The food was simply flavourless. Ie as really looking forward to the menu as there is a great choice but ended up leaving half of it on the plate Big disappointment.

Overall I would go back but if hope the food would've been sorted by then. Great facilities

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazeyduke76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The food it's more like hospital kind of food, no music and zero atmosphere.
Apparently the room it's sopossd to be superior but it just so ordinary.
The pool and the facilities they was all right, the staff is okay

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolae Stefan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Reception staff were pleasant, rooms and hotel in General is tired and dated. Room was comfy enough but bathroom tiles on floor were grubby and the bath was too.
When I sat down in the bar to review menus it took 20 minutes to be served a drink and have my order taken. When the food came it was ok. Breakfast was sloppy. Scrambled egg was the worst I've had!
It is a real shame as it could be a beautiful hotel with a few tweaks and a bit of a re vamp.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a really great time !! The spa is fantastic and is spotless. The staff are all great and the food excellent. The breakfast is WONDERFUL!!! We were a party of 12 and the ages ranged from 80 to 8 and we all had a super time. The 'Birthday Girl' had a wonderful time. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just got back from a great relaxing break at Flackley Ash. Trying to sum it up in one word it would have to be 'MELLOW' ! .
When booking a GEORGIAN HOUSE break, i love to find just that, GEORGIAN personality and ambience with space and tranquility, and yes the odd thing a little dated, that is the beauty of it, maybe a jamming door or older bath suite or a leak here and there, I would be disappointed to find the whole place too modernised and jazzed up. We love the character of a property that has stood for hundreds of years with dignity and grace. We got this hotel by pure chance on Groupon so it was an adventure for us
We arrived at lunchtime to a warm, cosy and welcoming entrance, with a lively and bright receptionist to welcome us in and give us the information we needed.. The hotel is massive, long wide corridors and high ceilings, we remarked on how clean and tidy it all was and how the staff must work hard to hoover the miles of carpet, and clean all the paintwork, not an easy task i am sure, but it was all very clean. We had room 66 which was delightful, a large room with ensuite, nicely decorated in simple magnolia, good quality curtains , pine furniture and a nice comfy bed with bright . white soft bedding and eygyptian cotton towels. and comfy cotton bathrobes. A table and 2 chairs in front of the double opening doors looking out over the garden was nice and i expect would be lovely in the summer to have your coffee or even breakfast there.Of course, a hospitality tray was waiting for us. Dumping our cases we headed off downstairs to find some food !! Starving after a long drive we had the most amazing warm panini with side salad and crisps which was a meal in itself. A stroll around outside and we were ready to head for the pool. The spa area is lovely, spotless pool, sauna . steam room and whirlpool bath ,towels and loungers, with the beauty rooms just off it, though this time i didnt indulge I was interested to see an excellent range of massage/tratments etc, and will definately partake next time. I came here to relax and recover after much surgery and stress and this is exactly what i did, we spent leisurely hours in here and it was wonderful, the staff make sure you are offered every comfort, Thankyou Simon for looking after us and doing such a good job there. After a lazy early evening sleep in our quiet,comfortable room, we then headed off down to the restaurant for dinner. We had intended to go into Rye but it was a filthy stormy, cold, rainy evening and we didnt want to leave the calm, laid back atmosphere of the hotel. Dinner was very nice, well presented, and quick to arrive.
The following morning after an early morning swim we went for breakfast. WOW !! we weren't prepared for such a banquet !!. several cereals, pastries, croissants, fruits, yoghurts ,juices, it just went on and on !!! And that was before the main course breakfast !! Sitting by the window in the delightful dining room , we had a menu of 6 main breakfasts to choose from ! The menu was equivilant to a 5 * establishment. The full english was amazing, i dont think we have ever had better, and all served by cheery, friendly ladies, it was a real treat. A few more hours again in the spa and regret it was time to pack. We were sorry to to leave this ' home from home' and wished we had booked in for longer, and will definately be back as soon as we can, there are not many places we visit twice but this is definately going to be a regular for us. We left feeling totally de-stressed and relaxed.Thankyou to all, to the sweet Maisie, and all the girls and guys who made our stay such a pleasure, we look forward to coming back soon, keep up the good work, Sally and Damone.

Room Tip: next time we will ask for room 60-64 they have their own little patio's
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_cat_ladySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasmarsh
3.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The George in Rye
3.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Peasmarsh, Rye TN31 6YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Peasmarsh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian Country House Hotel set in beautiful woodland. With 45 en-suite bedrooms, large candlelit restaurant renowned for its great food. Leisure club with pool and therapists on hand for beauty and massage treatments. Perfect location for visiting Rye, Camber Sands, Bodiam Castle and many other places of interest. We are proud of our friendly yet professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Flackley Ash Hotel And Restaurant Peasmarsh, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing