We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a bit of effort, it could be fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“With a bit of effort, it could be fantastic”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Firstly, I am so grateful that Flackley Ash was able to accommodate us after being let down by another local hotel at the last minute. The receptionist was an angel. The room was nice, the beds comfy and the breakfast fantastic. However, once my euphoria that we had a bed for the night subsided, I couldn't help thinking how the place might be improved. The decor was OK but felt, well, a bit tired. A bit of advice from an interior designer could do wonders for the place. Other hotels have book shelves, games, magazines and other stuff on display to add character. The only real gripe was dinner. I echo a previous reviewer: £8.50 for 5 small prawns on an oil soaked muffin? £22.50 for a slap of fish with some potato on top? This is proper rip-off territory. If you are going to charge these prices, hire a chef who can cook. The Bell at Iden isn't far away, it's child-friendly and the food is excellent. All in all, though, still really glad we went there, but regretting the money we sepnt on dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    230
    145
    81
    50
See reviews for
128
386
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ashford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It looks very nice when you pull up in the car park. Upon entry you can see it well past it's sell by date. The rooms are tired, the furniture near knackered.
No hot water for showers, not once but twice. And when I asked the reception why, she replied "It is because everyone must be showering at the same time". At 10.30 in the morning. I don't think so!
We decided to go for a walk in the glorious grounds, only to be greeted by a mountain of rotting mattresses and scattered broken tables and chairs.
The food was ok and most of the staff were competent with the exception of the reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tel123brig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peasmarsh hotels

peterborough, uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights a fortnight ago. The room allocated was spacious and most of staff pleasant enough. The receptionist dueing the day was really nice but the one in the evenings/early morning was not at all friendly, indeed you had to say good morning to her to get her to even acknowledge you!

Our room whilst spacious had an old tv in although it did work, although there were no instructions on how to get the channels you wanted etc. One of the windows you couldn't open at all and the other only opened slightly (certainly not enough if you needed to jump in case of a fire). The net curtains in the room had 3 large dead insects attached to them so cleaning is not high on their list either. The room contained an wardrobe whilst there were enough hangers the door made an horrendous racket when trying to open it. The decore left a lot to be desired and is tired and really does need a lick of paint.

My husband suffers from psoriasis and we always take extra covers for the pillows and am pleased we did as one of the pillow cases had a blood stain on it! One of the bedside tables was also broken.

We had Sunday Carvery upon arrival and whilst it wasn't bad I have had a lot better; the roast beef was either rare or rare, the young woman was very reluctant to cut the other end of the joint which seemed better cooked, so went without. Whilst this was a 3 star hotel the hotel wine list belonged to a hotel that was a 4*, we have several extremely good restaurants around here and none of them charge inflated prices like they do at this hotel.

The breakfasts were varied but again we have had better, far better in the Lake District with more choices. also the cooked breakfast was brought out before you had even finished your cereals so you had to either leave your cereals and eat your cooked breakfast or leave it to go cold. This does need to be addressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal. Sunny afternoon, hotel looked stylish. Friendly welcome at reception. Walking to our room you were able to see why the hotel was offering special deals. Unfortunately it is need of a spruce up. Paintwork and carpets. Our bedroom was adequate, looking over the back garden. From the window it was refreshing to see a natural garden, clumps of primroses on banks. Furniture in room dated (expensive to buy 30 years ago).Used the spa facilities. Robe in wardrobe to use, towels in spa. Swimming pool, steam room, jacuzzi and sauna (separate men and women). Helpful staff. Breakfast was ok. Selection of fruit, cereals, pastries, juices Can order cooked breakfast. Have to toast your own bread. Hotel situated close to Rye. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A girl friend and I went on a Groupon deal for 2 days. I am glad I didn't pay the full whack. Somebody said that the place was a little 'tired' and I would concur with that. It is also a bit unimaginative and if I was paying the full price, I would want something a bit smarter and thought through. The exception is the conservatory which is a beautiful addition, but comes off a random restaurant. We decided to give the restaurant a try on our first night and it was very disappointing. My friend had tiger prawns which cost £8.50 as a starter - when they came there were 5 little brown shrimps on a bit of muffin. We asked about them to be told that Tiger Prawns come in different sizes and these were with the shell off as most people prefer that! Seriously, these were no tiger prawns! My squash filled pasta parcels were just squashed! I could not see any squash in there at all! We wondered if it was because they knew we were Groupon customers! We chose not to eat there the following night because I want to have something gorgeous when I go to a hotel restaurant, not a 'rip -off' - sorry to say.
Our room was fine - the beds were comfy and we had tea/coffee facilities and water provided which was what I would expect. The walls are a little thin- my friend was disturbed by somebody's rhythmic snoring in the night! We had a little patio outside although it was too cold to use it, but that would be lovely in the warmer weather - it overlooked the garden. I put some wine out there on night one; on night two I went to get the next bottle and the door wouldn't open because the catch had now got stuck and the handle had disappeared? The cleaners must have done something! Had to get reception to come and help us!
The staff were very helpful and friendly when we had to get the towels changed, because they had been put on the side of the bath (not by us) and were soaking wet due to the shower which leaked continuously when I picked them up! Nothing was too much trouble for them which may be just as well!
The car park is not good - we got blocked in due to a conference having arrived on our second morning and it took ages to sort out so we could actually go out!
All in all, I would find somewhere else to stay in the Rye area next time.
I sat in the dining room and thought about what I would do to immediately improve it - lighting was one answer. The lighting needs to be up-lighters and wall fittings and softer lighting in there. Put fairy lights around the conservatory - I have done that with mine and it transforms it - if you can't have normal candles - get better battery candles and LOTS of them as they don't give out much light! Ambience is needed in the restaurant and while there are lovely arty pictures along the corridors, they are not lit, so impossible to see unless you really look.
The building is lovely from the outside and the reception area is well thought out and arranged with a lovely lounge. I just think it needs a spruce up with somebody who knows about styling and designer things.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeneyedmezzosop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a brilliant Art Tuition Weekend. Facilities provided for us were excellent. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent food -real home cooking. Room a bit dated but overall very happy.
Good location near Rye in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123DINA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel , good location , staff are extremely helpful & friendly , about 8 minutes to Rye
The Breakfast was especially nice , plenty of choice & waitress service , very good !
Hotel is a bit tired , and Spa could do with a re vamp . But apart from that , lovely & we would stay again well done !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasmarsh
3.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The George in Rye
3.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Peasmarsh, Rye TN31 6YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Peasmarsh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peasmarsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian Country House Hotel set in beautiful woodland. With 45 en-suite bedrooms, large candlelit restaurant renowned for its great food. Leisure club with pool and therapists on hand for beauty and massage treatments. Perfect location for visiting Rye, Camber Sands, Bodiam Castle and many other places of interest. We are proud of our friendly yet professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Flackley Ash Hotel And Restaurant Peasmarsh, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing