We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Cliff Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff Farm
Ranked #3 of 4 Iden B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Cliff farm is a charming little house, just outside the village of Iden and about a 3min drive from Rye. First impressions are very welcoming, homely, quaint and peaceful. I think homely is the best description as we were warmly greeted with a steaming pot of tea. We stayed in the double en-suit room. The bathroom has just been put in and the shower is amazing! I would suggest a blind being put up over the window though, having sheep bleeding at you as you emerge from the shower can be a bit odd! The room itself was nicely proportioned and comfortably accomoadates the bed, two arm chairs, a table and a wardrobe. The wardrobe was the only place to put clothing, and as I take everything bar the kitchen sink, I found some of my clothes had to live for the most part in my suitcase. The style is English country house and is very charming. The bed very comfy and overall a very nice room. However, the room did get rather hot and by keeping the window open at night, we did attract a few flies which were rather annoying. A nice desk or standing fan would have made it perfect, as we could have shut the window at night. This is the only very small downside and it is highly outweighed by the positives of Cliff Farm. Breakfast was very scrummy and there was lots of it, cereal, then toast, the a full English breakfast complete with local eggs, bacon and sausage! Yum yum! Pat's homemade hash browns were to die for! So, in conclusion, a hidden gem, surrounded by fields and sheep. For a quite, relaxing and homely place to stay in this wonderful part of the world I would look no further. And the room rate of £65 per nigh for the two of us was the icing on a very pleasant cake! Thank you, Cliff Farm, for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been going to Cliff Farm since 1986 and love the hospitality, the views, the hearty breakfast and the friendship. Now with an ensuite the B&B has become even more like home away from home. Thank you, Pat and Jeff, for always making us feel so welcome and congrats on the great job you guys do on a daily basis !

Room Tip: Go for room 4 with the ensuite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

On arrival pat made us very welcome serving cups of tea and biscuits! Pat was very chatty and immediately we felt welcome. She showed us to our room- number 4, beautifully original in a lovely sage green color with an amazing view from sash window over Romney marsh.

We settled quickly and went to town for dinner and returned to the lovely Lounge which was again very traditional and homely. Fire was burning too and the aroma of a log fire completed the atmosphere.

Next morning we awoke to the glorious sound of sheep 'baa-ing' and a real sense of tranquility -we came down stairs for breakfast. The table was set with lovely country style crockery etc. pat greeted us and within a small while a lovely cooked breakfast was brought to us. Cereals are also offered and toast is aplenty which was just right for us to start the day on!

Room was lovely and clean and couldn't really fault anything- other guests we met were also seemingly happy with their accommodation and were great to chat to!

All in all pat is a wonderful host, she and Jeff have a real dream of a home and we are very much hoping to make a short stop off for a few nights in August to break up the trip when we travel across to France.

Kate and Duncan

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timetravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a night during our cycling holiday, we arrived wet and cold. The owner went out of her way to make us welcome, she put the fire and kettle on, and put an airer over the fire to dry our wet clothes. Tea was made and we all thawed out!! (note this was in June!!) She sorted out a taxi for us and recommended the local italian, which was great. Beautiful house complete with creaky floorboards! Clean, comfy rooms and great breakfast, with home made hash browns - really yummy. Sheep right outside the window!Rye is a beautiful place and I would like to return,both to Rye and Cliff Farm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have been going to Cliff Farm for 30 years, and love the location, very peaceful, over looking fields and farm land. Pat and Jeff the owners are lovely couple, Always make you feel welcome.
Full english breakfast is excellent and sets you up for the day. We usually go for a long walk, over the feilds and across the river , you can walk for miles. Or if you are energetic walk into Rye, along the river bank. To drive into is only about a mile. Were you will find a lovely old town
built along the river. There are some lovely pubs not far, that do very good food. All in all a very place to visit. Also very peaceful no London traffic to put up with, only sheep baa-ing, and birds singing. The owners are putting in on suites as we speak so will be even more popular.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at Cliff Farm B&B for three nights and felt at home immediately, being welcomed by Pat with tea and biscuits and advice on where to have Sunday lunch.
Pat and Jeff are wonderful hosts and the B&B is a gem. Yes, the B&B is rather inexpensive but absolutely no concessions are made on cleanliness, spaciousness or the super farmhouse breakfast. The rooms are made and towels etc. supplied every day. We woke up every morning to the soft sound of sheep and with a stunning view over the marshes. And then of course there was the breakfast, every day a bit different but always just great.
Since we like walking, we tend to choose B&Bs in the hills. Cliff Farm is, as the website says, on the edge of the marshes about 200 yards from the military canal, but what it doesn't say is that the footpath that climbs up the cliff behind the B&B leads into a landscape of unending rolling hills, mainly sheep pastures, with an abundant choice of routes. Rye is only an hour's walk away and a bit further afield the 1066 long distance path provides a fantastic experience of rural Sussex (better, I think, than footpaths in the Weald or the North Downs). We were there during the lambing period and that made it even more special.
Cliff Farm B&B will from now on be our base camp for exploring the Sussex hills and we are already looking forward to continuing our chats with Pat and Jeff.

Room Tip: Front rooms have views over the marshes, rear rooms look onto the cliff's sheep pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

After the hustle & bustle of London we were lucky to find this place. As it was late in the day day most of the B&B's in Rye were full. We were welcomed here with a nice cuppa and biscuits by the very friendly owners who also recommended a nice local pub for our evening meal. It was so peaceful here, we should have stayed longer. Enjoyed watching the fox and cubs outside our bedroom window, also the abundance of birdlife

R&S
New Zealand

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iden
0.0 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hayden's
Hayden's
#5 of 39 in Rye
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
0.0 mi away
Point Farm B&B
Point Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Camber
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Farm

Property: Cliff Farm
Address: Iden, Rye TN31 7QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Iden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Iden
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cliff Farm Iden, Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing