We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff Farm
Nearby Hotels
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brickwall Hotel(Sedlescombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
42
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilitary canalsitting roomb bplace to staynice roomjeffpatsheepaccommodationryelounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A wonderful breakfast (no, it is not microwaved but cooked on a traditional Rayburn), cosy rooms with sunrises over the marshes every morning (the rooms do not have aircon but are pleasant and absolutely clean), long conversations with the hosts Pat and Jeff, High tea in Rye, sumptuous evening meals at the Horse and Cart in Peasmarsh or the Black Lion in Appledore, pure seafood delights at the Fish Cafe in Rye, and long walks in a fantastic countryside,... that's a holiday for us.
The place to be for all that is Cliff Farm. We came here for the first time last year and had such a good time we decided to spend another four days in the Kent-Sussex region for the first (warm) days of May with Cliff Farm as our base.
If you are looking for a hotel with all modcons and uniform furniture, then this is not the place to come to, although the new showers are a real treat after a day of walking. Expect a real house with a personal touch to it...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very quiet and peaceful, home from home. Pat and Jeff strive to make it a great stay with ease. The breakfast as promised did set us up for the day making lunch seem an over indulgance. Great area for sight seeing and Pat can supply the lowdown if asked. A great base for exploring the south east and a warm welcome on return. We will go again.

Room Tip: We had the double room with a private modern bathroom opposite, excellent views, including sunrise
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Cliff farm is a charming little house, just outside the village of Iden and about a 3min drive from Rye. First impressions are very welcoming, homely, quaint and peaceful. I think homely is the best description as we were warmly greeted with a steaming pot of tea. We stayed in the double en-suit room. The bathroom has just been put in and the shower is amazing! I would suggest a blind being put up over the window though, having sheep bleeding at you as you emerge from the shower can be a bit odd! The room itself was nicely proportioned and comfortably accomoadates the bed, two arm chairs, a table and a wardrobe. The wardrobe was the only place to put clothing, and as I take everything bar the kitchen sink, I found some of my clothes had to live for the most part in my suitcase. The style is English country house and is very charming. The bed very comfy and overall a very nice room. However, the room did get rather hot and by keeping the window open at night, we did attract a few flies which were rather annoying. A nice desk or standing fan would have made it perfect, as we could have shut the window at night. This is the only very small downside and it is highly outweighed by the positives of Cliff Farm. Breakfast was very scrummy and there was lots of it, cereal, then toast, the a full English breakfast complete with local eggs, bacon and sausage! Yum yum! Pat's homemade hash browns were to die for! So, in conclusion, a hidden gem, surrounded by fields and sheep. For a quite, relaxing and homely place to stay in this wonderful part of the world I would look no further. And the room rate of £65 per nigh for the two of us was the icing on a very pleasant cake! Thank you, Cliff Farm, for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been going to Cliff Farm since 1986 and love the hospitality, the views, the hearty breakfast and the friendship. Now with an ensuite the B&B has become even more like home away from home. Thank you, Pat and Jeff, for always making us feel so welcome and congrats on the great job you guys do on a daily basis !

Room Tip: Go for room 4 with the ensuite !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

On arrival pat made us very welcome serving cups of tea and biscuits! Pat was very chatty and immediately we felt welcome. She showed us to our room- number 4, beautifully original in a lovely sage green color with an amazing view from sash window over Romney marsh.

We settled quickly and went to town for dinner and returned to the lovely Lounge which was again very traditional and homely. Fire was burning too and the aroma of a log fire completed the atmosphere.

Next morning we awoke to the glorious sound of sheep 'baa-ing' and a real sense of tranquility -we came down stairs for breakfast. The table was set with lovely country style crockery etc. pat greeted us and within a small while a lovely cooked breakfast was brought to us. Cereals are also offered and toast is aplenty which was just right for us to start the day on!

Room was lovely and clean and couldn't really fault anything- other guests we met were also seemingly happy with their accommodation and were great to chat to!

All in all pat is a wonderful host, she and Jeff have a real dream of a home and we are very much hoping to make a short stop off for a few nights in August to break up the trip when we travel across to France.

Kate and Duncan

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timetravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews