We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly, calm, nice surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of FROSTBOURNE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
kitchenette
local beach Pett Level
shower
Country Park (1 mile away)
local lake
our garden
Garden/Frostbourne
local pub (20 min walk)
cattle by lake near beach
View of Frostbourne from top of our lane
Military Canal
garden
local beach
country park (1 Mile away)
Spring garden
garden sculpture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fairlight, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Navigator...
1 review
“Friendly, calm, nice surroundings”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Friendly hosts, well equipped room with good bed and kitchen corner (pots and pans could be better but were usable) and a well heated bath and well-functioning shower. Place for car in the yard. Ten minutes to Hastings and to the beaches.
All in all, can absolutely recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Dear Veronica
Thank you for your good review.
We am not sure what your criticism of the pots and pans is? The is a new non-stick frying pan and stainless steel saucepan etc..(Had you asked we could have given you more pans) Perhaps the word kitchenette lost something in translation to German?
We realise you you cooked in a lot and we do not pretend to offer full kitchen facilities.( most people seem to eat out quite a lot).
Thank you again for your recommendation. We are both glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie J
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Me and my partner came here for a Easter break, to get away from the business of life for two days. If you're like us and find hotels too crowded this is perfect for you. We were warmly welcomed and left with some much appreciated bread, eggs, wine etc. Everyone is so friendly, the local pub suggested in the welcome pub was lovely. Hastings is a truly beautiful place! We had such a peaceful stay and couldn't have been happier with our time away, in fact we did not want to leave. I'd highly recommend staying here to anyone and will no doubt be coming back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you so much Jessie. We are glad you and Alex had a great peaceful time at Frostbourne. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk P
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal appartment for a short break”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners, Paul and Jane are very friendly hosts. We found some much appreciated attentions in the appartment when we arrived: fresh flowers, pint of milk etc.
The appartment is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
You stay in a quiet, green lane, close to the sea and some fine walking area.
The view from the balcony is iconic British: a period cottage, an oast house, a garden and the rolling hills of East Sussex.
You have ample tourist information and there is a good little library available in the living area.
A little gem with kind and warm-hearted people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the East Sussex countryside near the sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dealhunte...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent 2 nights here and thought it was an excellent place to stay. It was beautifully equipped, everything had been thought of. The bottle of wine, bread, butter and eggs were really appreciated.
The view of the wonderful countryside was fantastic. Paul and Jane were lovely hosts and were very welcoming. On their recommendations we went for two local walks. The first one Fire Hills was very nearby and took us up over the cliffs, we walked across gently sloping heath land towards the sea. Second walk was a Pett Levels. Very quiet and unspoilt.
We would definitely recommend Frostbourne.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The perfect peace, and the well equipped property
Liked least: It was all good !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review.It was a pleasure having you both to stay.
Kind regards Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
451Dan
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“**WONDERFUL STAY!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED **”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Me and my girlfriend cant speak highly enough of our stay at Frostbourne. We were pleasantly greeted by Paul and Jane who were very lovely and left us wine and eggs from the local farm and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. Its such a relaxing and beautiful location and perfect those who want a break from a busy day to day life. The converted barn is immaculate, tastefully decorated and has practically every mod con that you would wish for.

Amazing stay, thank you Paul and Jane, we will be returning again for sure... if you will have us that is!

Dan & Amrita

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Dear Dan & Amrita
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Frostbourne.you were excellent guests and we would love you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful and tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Jane and Paul made are stay exceptional, knowing it was our anniversary they left garden flowers and a bottle of fizzy in our room! (Along with fresh eggs and bread)
The room is even nicer than the pictures and has everything you need in it and is finished to a high level, clean and airy.
The balcony is an added touch and was a pleasure to sit out and have our breakfast and look over the hills.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Many thanks Darren, we are glad you both enjoyed your stay at Frostbourne. May you have many more happy anniversaries together.
Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy O
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment is first class, idealy suited for couples of any age, and situated in a delightful setting within an area that is well worth exploring.
The owners are so friendly without being in any way intrusive - we did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks Eddy,
Glad you both enjoyed yourselves.
Kind regards
Paul & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing