We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful vacation!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Layout Catamaran Cush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Layout
Catamaran Cush
Saloon
Chicken
Saloon
beach
Ancorated
Bedroom
sunset
Cush
Guna with fish
molas
blu water
Bonito
Lobster
relax
pizza
salad
Under spi
guests
gnocchi
made pasta
guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ninahoehn
Germany
1 review
“Wonderful vacation!!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was an amazing trip to the San Blas Islands. Such a beautiful Caribbean view.We went out for snorkeling and swimming. The boat was nice and the food delicious. Fish , right out of the water and handmade Italien Pasta. It was so
beautiful and Claudio is a good Captain and Host .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This sailing misadventure was anything but CUSH!!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The captain was not accomodating or cordial. The food was just above cafeteria food and barely edible. We never sailed for the duration of the trip......winds were constant and perfect for sailing. Crew and Captain were NOT cordial to our needs and wishes. The five star ratings must have been from his relatives or friends.....two stars at best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
I am happy when the poor spirit speak. but this is poetry and not will understand. I hope that no them guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkreader
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cush Catamaran was disappointing”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were so excited to explore San Blas with our friends who live in Panama. After reading the reviews of the "CUSH" , we were convinced this was the perfect Catamaran for the 4 of us, as we wanted a private sailboat. The sad part is we never actually sailed, even though the winds were great. The entire time we putted along with the engine. We only visited two islands and there are hundreds. The spots we were taken to were not good for fishing or snorkeling. Our host,Claudio, was not very welcoming, he made us feel like an inconvenience. The four of us all lost 3 pounds in the 2 1/2 days we were on the boat, as we were only offered food at meal times. Bread was at every meal, which we had to eat so we wouldn't be hungry. There was no salad, no vegetables, no fruit, until we asked for some. For breakfast we got eggs, only because we asked, Claudio just wanted us to have bread again, lunch and dinner consisted of lobster or octopus, that's it, until we asked for some pasta just so we would not be hungry. We even asked if we could prepare the food ourselves. There was never any dessert or an offer of a snack between meals. Claudio and his helper ate meals with us, leaving us no private time with our friends. Claudio then complained we used too much water to shower. We entertained ourselves and at times were bored. Finally, we were allowed to use the kayak. The back staterooms were boiling hot, with little air ventilation, so we tried to sleep on the deck, but got rained on. I would never go on this "sailboat" again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
I am happy when the poor spirit speak. but this is poetry and not will understand. I hope that no them guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayman57
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do NOT believe the five star reviews”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The four of us spent two nights on the Cush, and I don't believe for one minute that this operation got 25 five star reviews. The trip was so disappointing on so many different levels, I'm not even sure where to start:

1) Claudio was not a warm gracious host; in fact, he was quite the opposite. Not friendly or accommodating in any way, he actually acted like our presence was an imposition for the entire trip. In all fairness, we think he is maybe going through a divorce - his wife was in Italy and he was on the phone constantly, speaking Italian.

2) The food was average at best. Nothing inspirational, just something cooked up in one pot with a loaf of bread to soak it up. Again, maybe the wife is the gourmet cook, and she wasn't there. He also never asked us if we wanted a snack, drinks, etc - we were on our own the whole trip to go to the fridge and try to find something to drink. We had to beg him to cut up some fresh fruit for us one day, it was pretty pathetic.

3) He never once did any sailing, we were under power the whole trip. Maybe I'm weird, but when I rent a sailboat I would like to do some sailing. There was plenty of breeze - when we mentioned it to him he just shrugged and acted like he didn't quite get the whole English thing....

4) I love spearfishing, and he told me beforehand to bring my gear because he knew "where the big fish were." I spent four hours in the water and never saw a fish over 10 inches long. The Cuna Indian mate told my Colombian girlfriend that the entire area has been fished out for years, and "everybody knows it." To get any decent fish you have to outside of San Blas and get into deeper water. Claudio should have known this.

5) Every night he would anchor next to several other boats, and we never had that "remote getaway" feeling that we were hoping for on a trip like this.

6) Maybe nothing could be done about this, but the rooms were hot and impossible to sleep in. I laid there literally sweating for two nights, while the girlfriend tried to sleep on the hammock outside (of course it rained on her both nights). The other couple had the exact same experience; we were all extremely sleep-deprived after two nights. Again, maybe not much could have been done - the rooms did have fans, but they had no effect at all.

Overall, this was a pretty miserable experience. Let's just say that we started counting down the minutes until the trip was over about 30 hours before it actually was. Last but not least, Claudio had several sarcastic remarks about Americans that were annoying. I have a feeling that his attitude towards us won't improve after reading this, but I swear to you that every word is true.

You've been warned..........

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
I am happy when the poor spirit speak. but this is poetry and not will understand. I hope that no them guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
France
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent 3 nights in the cush catamaran with Claudio, the captain, and his wife Laura. It was a great stay. First of all, both are lovely people, friendly and interesting hosts. Claudio knows perfectly well San Blas and knows how to find the best places to stay. He is also an expert sailing which is crucial in San Blas. Laura cooks very well, preparing homemade bread, fresh pasta, excellent grilled fish, crabs, lobster, octopus, etc....
The boat is spacious, wide, comfortable, very stable as most of the catamrans,
We also used the kayak which is very convenient going from one island to another.
All in all, we had a great time and we are very happy to recommend cush catamaran and his team to everyone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfidoe
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic New Year in San Blas on Cush”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

4 of us stayed for 3 nights over new year and into January 2016 and had an amazing time. Claudio and Laura were fantastic hosts, making us feel welcome from the start. They took us to some beautiful places in San Blas, islands fireworks at New Year to more remote beaches with no-one else about. The real highlight of staying on Cush is the Italian hospitality - the food was fantastic - it's incredible what they can create in such a small space, from freshly baked bread to fresh pasta and grilled lobster - amazing! It was also great to hear about Claudio and Laura's travels and highlights from sailing round the world over meal times. They also made it very easy to find them by arranging a lancha in each direction from Carti (even if we did find the wrong Roberto on the way out!).

We would highly recommend spending some time on Cush in beautiful San Blas

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing Italian food!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful vacation in paradise!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two amazing days and nights on board Cush with Captain Claudio and the lovely Marina! I can't say enough great things about our stay! Claudio organised our pick up to and from Panama City so that it was stress and hassle free. The catamaran is in perfect condition with airy, clean cabins, comfortable beds and plenty of space. Snorkelling equipment and a kayak were provided as well as a tender to take us ashore to explore the various islands. Days were spent chartering around the stunning San Blas Islands where we could swim, snorkel and sunbake on the beach. The advantage of staying on a boat was that we could visit smaller, less touristy islands. We also spent a lot of time sunbaking on the nets on the catamaran (wonderful for an afternoon nap!!) Fresh lobster, octopus and fish were purchased from the local Kuna people each day and we were served big tasty meals three times a day as well as snacks and drinks upon request. The food was DELICIOUS!!! Claudio and Marina are sensational Italian cooks and even bake their own bread fresh everyday! Claudio and Marina are both lovely, friendly and chatty people who we really enjoyed spending time with. Claudio is a very experienced skipper who has sailed around the world, so you are in good hands! This was my favourite experience travelling through Central America. My only complaint would be that we didn't stay longer! THANK YOU Claudio and Marina - we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing